A Nigerian woman had to be tied with a rope by the police in a bid to restrain her after she allegedly attacked shopkeepers and policemen in an inebriated condition at National Market on Monday, June 27. The woman, in her late 20s, was identified as Mariam. She was accompanied by a man. According to witnesses, Mariam stopped at a mobile phone store inside the busy market around 2.45 p.m. on Monday and when the shopkeeper did not attend to her, she reportedly banged the glass counter twice. "She was told not to do, as the glass might break. Hearing this, she banged the counter again. The glass broke, leaving her with wounds on her hands,"said a witness who was near the shop at the time of the incident. Almost immediately, shopkeepers gathered around the couple. A heated argument ensued. Someone alerted the Upparpet police. When they tried to pacify the lady, she allegedly attacked them. The police restrained her with a rope and bundled the couple into their van. They were taken to K.C. General Hospital in Malleswaram for a medical test. At the hospital, when asked to get down from the auto, the woman allegedly again turned violent and created a ruckus. Efforts to calm her were unsuccessful. A hospital staff member said, “She was attacking everyone who approached her. Later, when she was arguing with the police, someone came from behind and threw a bed sheet over her. Then she was sedated.” K.M. Satish Kumar, psychiatrist, K.C. General Hospital, accompanied her to NIMHANS. He told The Hindu that he had reported the case, symptoms and incident to the emergency ward at NIMHANS and got her admitted there. The woman is expected to undergo tests in the morning. The African Students’ Association has accused authorities of using excessive force K.C. General Hospital staff insisted that she was treated professionally and only necessary action was taken to subdue her. Watch the video below:
Well ! There's limit to a person tolerance .It is no secret Indians are naive racist .Africans are subjected to series of human abuses in India ,even though I haven't been there but according to news and report online from India .If the lady in question reacted to such unattended situation ,I can deeply understand she was absolutely had enough of being ignored .To be ignored could mean differently ,In some cases could indicate being ridiculously recognized or being under estimated or to be seen as not serious and not worth attention .Theres no mental disorder in this whole circumstances .Im with the lady on this .Sometime someone must stand their ground to make a point .
Spare me
Posted: at 28-06-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Quote from: chijoz continental on 28-06-2016 11:50 AM
naija people and creation of scene
Sir! If you understand or have ever experience racism then you will understand there's nothing wrong fighting for your right .As humble and modest as I'm ,I have created scene at many airports of the world ,mainly Bcus I found it intolerable to bring subjected to racism or any form of abuse caz of the color of my skin ! I'm proud of my heritage and color and I would go any distance to reject any unwarranted abuses from unprovoked person .
Spare me
Posted: at 28-06-2016 12:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
It pains me so much when i see my Africa brothers and sisters suffering she was drunk out of frustration may be she went to india in search of greener pastures and it turns out india is a dry land
Posted: at 28-06-2016 05:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
Hnmmm, My deduction, In india its very normal for shop owners to be scared when a black couple enter a shop, they often tell d black dude to stay outside... My Parents have had such experiences... Reason being Nigerians shop lift a lot there even after seeing their big statue of indian juju right in the shop.... As for the mental disorder, she either has an history of mental illness, was hypnotised , or the blazing indian heat caused hallucinations I have spoken.
Posted: at 28-06-2016 08:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero