“God Will Fight My Fight For Me’- Nigerian Player Thrown Out Of Rio Olympics Hotel

Date: 18-08-2016 6:43 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-08-2016 06:43 AM (7 years ago)

One of Nigeria’s footballers sent back to Nigeria from Rio de Janeiro after they were told by Nigerian Football officials that their feeding and living expensescan no longer be catered, has lamented how they were thrown out of the team’s hotel and had to spend their own money to pay for the two nights they spent in Brazil before coming back to Nigeria.

The Nigerian Football Federation ordered two alternate players Stanley Dimgba and Yusuf Mohammed as well as several unnecessary officials to head back to Nigeria as they could no longer be catered for, and one of the players who prefers to remain anonymous has now cried out.

“God will fight my fight for me. It was heart-breaking when we were told to quit the team’s hotel in Sao Paulo,” said the player to AfricanFootball.

“When we returned to Sao Paulo (from Salvador)  they gave rooms to only the 18 players registered for the competition and even some team officials did not get hotel rooms too. For the two extra nights we spent in Brazil, we had to pay with our own money for our hotel and feeding. That is life for you.”

A top NFF Official speaking to The cable said,

“Yes, it is true that the curator, media officer as well as the two alternative players have been asked to go back to Nigeria. The ministry can only take care of 18 players and seven officials. The ministry cannot afford to be paying for extra rooms, feeding, allowances out of the 25 people that are supposed to make up the team to the Olympics. The aforementioned people have already left the team’s hotel and are no longer with us.”

More  photos of the players who were axed from Rio below..

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 18-08-2016 06:43 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 18-08-2016 06:59 AM (7 years ago)
Why were " unecessay officials" on the RIO 2016 team anyway?

What is wrong with Nigeria?

Why are we so childish in our preparations?

Even on the WORLD STAGE we come across as toddlers not yet able to walk - but still crawling.

We are NOT the ONLY corrupt country in the world.

But we are the ONLY  country that SHOWS OFF its corruption!!!!
Posted: at 18-08-2016 06:59 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 18-08-2016 07:14 AM (7 years ago)
Una be over age players. See faces,
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:14 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tos2130 at 18-08-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago)
HMNMMMMMMMMM
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tos2130 at 18-08-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago)
HMNMMMMMMMMM
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 18-08-2016 07:43 AM (7 years ago)
"they gave rooms to only the 18 players registered for the competition " ...That answers it all.
  Though i blame the Association for including the unregistered individuals in the first place
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:43 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 18-08-2016 07:44 AM (7 years ago)
POGBA was once this.............Keep your head ON
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:44 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lilycedar2 at 18-08-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago)
HMM BACK TO NIGERIA?
Posted: at 18-08-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugurucandy at 18-08-2016 08:25 AM (7 years ago)
Now if l talk some bastards will call me names! Jst imagine this shit and embarrassment ! England spent £347m for her contestant and look well they are doing, Nigeria goby has disgraced their citizens quite enough Shame!! Jst imagine that bullshit so so so digusting..
Posted: at 18-08-2016 08:25 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 18-08-2016 08:44 AM (7 years ago)
Na wa o. Why take invite at all or take them to d team if u know dat its 25pple dat u need in Rio. Una sabi embarrass dis country. SHM
Posted: at 18-08-2016 08:44 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- CammyWhite at 18-08-2016 09:04 AM (7 years ago)
Why send a team to the Olympics if you're not prepared to make the full effort? 

By Odin's ravens - we know that Nigeria is not poor! The people who supposedly 'arranged' the team should be publicly shamed and made to explain what happened.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:04 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 18-08-2016 09:14 AM (7 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:14 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- victorstic1 at 18-08-2016 09:18 AM (7 years ago)
MIND YOU U GUYS STILL HAVE CHANCE TO GET 12000 DOLLARS IF U WIN THE THIRD PLACE , THATS IF NFA WILL NOT GIVE STORY
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:18 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akinopeyemi at 18-08-2016 09:19 AM (7 years ago)
Pure dis-orderliness, Serious lack of discipline, heavy disgrace...how did they get there in the first place if they are not registered (corruption)...I wonder how we are or was once tagged giant of Africa.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:19 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Slimchery at 18-08-2016 09:54 AM (7 years ago)
this naija self na wah
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:54 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 18-08-2016 10:05 AM (7 years ago)
how come they find themselves there....what a there for... United states of Nigeria
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:05 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 18-08-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago)
A Goal without a Plan is just a Wish. They shall arrive only to start laying down series of complains while leaving the drawing board behind. What a ‎shame‬!

Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 18-08-2016 10:40 AM (7 years ago)
NIGERIA IS OFFICIALLY A FAILED STATE, WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:40 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 18-08-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago)
U self try sabi play ball wella so that next time u go make 1st eleven.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifnotr at 18-08-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago)
That was sad for the players indeed, so frustrating.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

3. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

4. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

5. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

9. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

10. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

11. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

12. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office