FG protests BBC documentary on Lagos (Page 4)

Date: 22-04-2010 7:03 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 2 3 [4] 5 6
- mazi at 26-04-2010 09:20 AM (14 years ago)
the abject poverty in Nigeria in d midst of plenty is sobering nd unforgivable.
they should stop  chasing shadows in the name of protesting...look all the funds they hv been stealing 4rm the ordinary man out of their greed nd  insatiable appetite to acquire more.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:20 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- SOLO_C at 26-04-2010 09:34 AM (14 years ago)
their is poor people all over the world.their is slums and begers in every country of the world.but is have been a tradition for the so call developed countries to present african nation as people who live like animals.they will never show the poor side of their country and the will never show thr rich side of an african nation.bbc have been doing it and this will not be the last.if you attack them they will say they have freedom of speach.they will even tell you they can present you the way they want and you should just shut up because it is their right.very funny.ask your self why journalist are being kill all over the world ?most of them have systematically kill the person who put them to death.bbc we know our government is very bad but we have parts of lagos that is beautiful than parts of london.bbc stop or we will one day stop you.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:34 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- osemare at 26-04-2010 09:39 AM (14 years ago)
How will foreign countries talk good of Nigeria, when the poeple looting the nation is banking the money in there land. They will never see the good aspect of this country Angry
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:39 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- omilaje at 26-04-2010 01:39 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: uzooma on 25-04-2010 04:42 PM
the NTA can equally go to London to show slums and ghettos, if any - as it would balance some arguments from some funny quarters.

How many of them would return to Nigeria if given Visas? Or to ask another way round: How many non NTA Staffs would be included on the entourage who would eventually be missing on arrival?

@Dokita Samu: Are you saying all the Nollywood films shot on location and showing dirty Peckham or whatever you call this your dirty London got their go-ahead from the UK home office?
Posted: at 26-04-2010 01:39 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omilaje at 26-04-2010 01:54 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: SOLO_C on 26-04-2010 09:34 AM
their is poor people all over the world.their is slums and begers in every country of the world.but is have been a tradition for the so call developed countries to present african nation as people who live like animals.they will never show the poor side of their country and the will never show thr rich side of an african nation.bbc have been doing it and this will not be the last.if you attack them they will say they have freedom of speach.they will even tell you they can present you the way they want and you should just shut up because it is their right.very funny.ask your self why journalist are being kill all over the world ?most of them have systematically kill the person who put them to death.bbc we know our government is very bad but we have parts of lagos that is beautiful than parts of london.bbc stop or we will one day stop you.

They do show it. You do not see them because you are not an audience or maybe you are an audience, but have closed your eyes when they do show such on TV. Or even you might not have understood because they speak "less intelligible english" that average "Nigerians" like you do not comprehend.

Jokes apart, who are the ones guilty of neglecting the poor? The BBC or the Nigerian journalists including NTA and the Nigerian Government? If you are gonna blame anybody, blame your people. You all should be ashamed to be damning BBC. Nobody ever showed interest in the commoners plight in Nigeria if BBC had not shown this docus. 

Besides, even the poorest of the poor in the UK are better than most of your socalled rich Nigerians people. In the UK, they have something like social securities and anybody that is going about picking things from the dustbin as claimed by your High commissioner have in most cases done so on their free will. Some are just too proud to collect social money. In the case of the Nigerians shown, they do it because they had no other choice.

Hence, what we and the BBC are saying is thus: We are in the 21st century and the Nigerian GOVT federal or state should provide their people with choice of good life.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 01:54 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omilaje at 26-04-2010 01:57 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: osemare on 26-04-2010 09:39 AM
How will foreign countries talk good of Nigeria, when the poeple looting the nation is banking the money in there land. They will never see the good aspect of this country Angry

Help me ask them. Oyinbo no yab us o, we they bring flenty flenty owo to your country. If we country dirty its our business.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 01:57 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 26-04-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago)
Once again i will tell you i did view the whole documentary and once again i saw it all with different eyes.
Yes they showed the dirty places and the blood and guts. And poor people what country doesnt have them?
What they do about many places. India is one of them as well, im sure they could show the same in places as the USA

The BIG difference to me was this wasnt a negative documentary at all.
This documentary was about people who make out of nothing something.
The man who saw the blood run away as waste and by collecting and processing it making a living. Whats wrong with that?
You call this negative well i dont. I was amazed about this whole program.

To me it showed what Nigerian people are made of and no matter how low a job they do they still can have a good time.
The west should take a example of this, thats what the documentary did teach me.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omilaje at 26-04-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: omatu on 26-04-2010 12:04 AM
Quote from: eksj on 25-04-2010 10:41 PM
Quote from: eksj on 25-04-2010 10:38 PM
Quote from: sanki on 25-04-2010 12:05 PM
yes am a Nigerian i have seen some people doing that many people still live in slums, yes BBC is right, though i don't really like the British government , all the countries that follows there instruction ends up in poverty , they were the one that kept Nigeria that way , they inject selfishness, crime and greediness into our leaders .

What about African countries that were not British colonies -- how are they doing?

And yet I have had many mature Nigerian people tell me things were better when Nigeria was a British Colony. The US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and India were all British colonies at one time and they seem to have faired well. Look to yourselves for the answers, stop blaming the rest of the world.
Canada did not have people taken out of their country as slaves, Nigeria did.  The USA took people as slaves from Nigeria.  Australia did not have their citizens as slaves, New Zealand did not have their people as slaves.  Until such time you can compare these colonies fairly and equally, then we can understand.  Nigeria has been raped, pillaged, the best of our best taken from us and used as slaves.
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Who told you that? Who took who? Was it not your people that sold arguably the "best of their people"  to the whities? And you said Nigeria was pillaged; if Nigeria was so pillaged, what should the "crown-jewel" of the former british empire, the INDIANS say? Somebody mentioned that India is fairing well but you chose to ignore it. In the history of the british empire, no one colony or dependency to put it correctly was more pillaged than Indian. And India has learnt her lesson. Even Pakistan that jagajaga of a country is better in technology than Nigeria. They can produce weapons even atomic weapons. What has Nigeria got to show? The british by the way helped to abolish the SLAVE TRADE. And a lot of your ancestors were actually not very happy that that trade was banned. Please try to be fair if you are trading blames.

PS: America was never in Nigeria to take slaves. The first slaves in the US of America were taken there by the Brits. Later after the rebellion, they bought their slaves from the European merchants. They had no possession in Africa apart from Liberia. And Liberia became Liberia because liberated slaves were taken down there.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- plainheart at 26-04-2010 02:37 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: political on 26-04-2010 08:30 AM
BBC was correct,u cannot compare the most beautiful places i lagos to beautiful places in a country like Saudi or any arebian countries,not to talk of America,U.K,France and some other countries,look at our rivers how dirty they are,BBC did not even do enough,they should run documentry on our politicians and their activities,this guys are criminals,they should cover their faces in shame.Useless ppl.

ummmmmh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 26-04-2010 02:37 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stansheba at 26-04-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago)
why must they(bbc) show the slums; what about other areas of Lagos state that have been given a face-lift.
but i am not really trying to support the govt, but it is true that, one should look at the two sides of the coin.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sweetfolio at 26-04-2010 05:45 PM (14 years ago)
Ummmh!  in the mist of plenty the fools suffer - Robert Nesta Marley with all the 3D Text in CNN there is still a slum or ghetto.....
Posted: at 26-04-2010 05:45 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 26-04-2010 06:15 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: uzooma on 25-04-2010 04:42 PM
the NTA can equally go to London to show slums and ghettos, if any - as it would balance some arguments from some funny quarters.

They cannot do it becos NTA, AIT and her directors lack creativity. I watch AIT everyday to get to know what goin on in naija, all I see is music, not even our juju musicians or other local musians but.... wannabes'
Posted: at 26-04-2010 06:15 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bajans_finest at 26-04-2010 07:32 PM (14 years ago)
We mustn't lose sight that the programme was about Welcome to Lagos
Episode 1 and 2
A look at life in the Olusosun rubbish dump, where about 1000 people live in scrap houses.

Some people may feel the bbc was wrong, but the rubbish dump is a reality, and common sense must prevail on an intellectual mind, and should know that not all Nigeria is like what they showed. I am not Nigerian and even I know that...what should be happening is instead of downtalking the BBC or the Government, instead should be petitioning and sending letters in if you feel your country was not portrayed in a positive light or way.

And the truth is always a very bitter pill to swallow.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 07:32 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- saren at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (14 years ago)
Naija people, watch what you are saying, the argument by FG is not that the slums shown in the documentary isn't part of Lagos. Is slum all one can see when he gets to Lagos. There should be balance presentation of Lagos in that Documentary. I KNOW VERY WELL THAT LAGOS HAS MORE THAN THE SLUMS SHOWN TO THE WORLD. The documentary was surely ill motivated
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- badesina at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (14 years ago)
Personally, I think the programme should be viewed from both intellectual and emotional perspective. The intellectual aspect of the programme shows the resilience and the indomitable character of Nigerians, their determination and passion to survive and succeed at all without depending on any government something which their white counterparts on benefit in UK need to learn. This charcteristic is the driving force in many successful Nigerian at home and especially in the diaspora. I have seen Nigerian climbing from cleaner in central London to becoming a director in the same organisation and excelling in their chosen profession. This is what Nigerian are capable of. Can you believe this guy working in the slum yet having a clear vision of becoming a musician, the slum was not strong enough to stop him from fulfilling his dream, so are many Nigerians at home and abroad.
The emotional aspect of the programme has to do with seeing our comrades working at the slum in 2010, and their naked being shown to the world.
Conclusion, I was quite taken back because for the first time I can watch a documentary by BBC about Nigeria and hours after watching it I cannot stop thinking about it. I finally decided to round my thought with the fact that the most pressing need in the world now is recycling and it is great to see poor Nigerians teaching the world that it can be done commercially. Well done my people. Hopefully these guys will be able to become more industrious and even make more money. For you abroad the guys at home are showing us the business potential at home. Good luck
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- omatu at 26-04-2010 10:58 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: omilaje on 26-04-2010 02:18 PM
Quote from: omatu on 26-04-2010 12:04 AM
Quote from: eksj on 25-04-2010 10:41 PM
Quote from: eksj on 25-04-2010 10:38 PM
Quote from: sanki on 25-04-2010 12:05 PM
yes am a Nigerian i have seen some people doing that many people still live in slums, yes BBC is right, though i don't really like the British government , all the countries that follows there instruction ends up in poverty , they were the one that kept Nigeria that way , they inject selfishness, crime and greediness into our leaders .

What about African countries that were not British colonies -- how are they doing?

And yet I have had many mature Nigerian people tell me things were better when Nigeria was a British Colony. The US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and India were all British colonies at one time and they seem to have faired well. Look to yourselves for the answers, stop blaming the rest of the world.
Canada did not have people taken out of their country as slaves, Nigeria did.  The USA took people as slaves from Nigeria.  Australia did not have their citizens as slaves, New Zealand did not have their people as slaves.  Until such time you can compare these colonies fairly and equally, then we can understand.  Nigeria has been raped, pillaged, the best of our best taken from us and used as slaves.
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Who told you that? Who took who? Was it not your people that sold arguably the "best of their people"  to the whities? And you said Nigeria was pillaged; if Nigeria was so pillaged, what should the "crown-jewel" of the former british empire, the INDIANS say? Somebody mentioned that India is fairing well but you chose to ignore it. In the history of the british empire, no one colony or dependency to put it correctly was more pillaged than Indian. And India has learnt her lesson. Even Pakistan that jagajaga of a country is better in technology than Nigeria. They can produce weapons even atomic weapons. What has Nigeria got to show? The british by the way helped to abolish the SLAVE TRADE. And a lot of your ancestors were actually not very happy that that trade was banned. Please try to be fair if you are trading blames.

PS: America was never in Nigeria to take slaves. The first slaves in the US of America were taken there by the Brits. Later after the rebellion, they bought their slaves from the European merchants. They had no possession in Africa apart from Liberia. And Liberia became Liberia because liberated slaves were taken down there.
Without spending too much time on this issue, Arabs were the ones that sold slaves to your so called whites.
Nigerians were taken out of their country as slaves.  After slavery, the citizens of Nigerians were colonized as well.  It has taken our citizens a lot to readjust and to become a nation.
 Smiley
Posted: at 26-04-2010 10:58 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omatu at 26-04-2010 11:01 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: badesina on 26-04-2010 09:01 PM
Personally, I think the programme should be viewed from both intellectual and emotional perspective. The intellectual aspect of the programme shows the resilience and the indomitable character of Nigerians, their determination and passion to survive and succeed at all without depending on any government something which their white counterparts on benefit in UK need to learn. This charcteristic is the driving force in many successful Nigerian at home and especially in the diaspora. I have seen Nigerian climbing from cleaner in central London to becoming a director in the same organisation and excelling in their chosen profession. This is what Nigerian are capable of. Can you believe this guy working in the slum yet having a clear vision of becoming a musician, the slum was not strong enough to stop him from fulfilling his dream, so are many Nigerians at home and abroad.
The emotional aspect of the programme has to do with seeing our comrades working at the slum in 2010, and their naked being shown to the world.
Conclusion, I was quite taken back because for the first time I can watch a documentary by BBC about Nigeria and hours after watching it I cannot stop thinking about it. I finally decided to round my thought with the fact that the most pressing need in the world now is recycling and it is great to see poor Nigerians teaching the world that it can be done commercially. Well done my people. Hopefully these guys will be able to become more industrious and even make more money. For you abroad the guys at home are showing us the business potential at home. Good luck

Well done.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 11:01 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejibond at 27-04-2010 12:04 AM (14 years ago)
Yarning!
Posted: at 27-04-2010 12:04 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omatu at 27-04-2010 08:43 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: boss2see on 27-04-2010 07:43 AM
This British people and infact these white people need to be thought a lesson so they shouldn't be taking nigerians as rogues and wretched fools. ThE FACT STILL REMAIN THAT THEY ARE LIKELY TO SPEAK THE SAME THING IN THE NEAREST FUTURE IF THEY ARE NOT STRICTLY WARNED THEM. NIGERIA IS A BLESSED NATION AND THEY ARE ONLY JEALOUS OF OUR EXISTENCE!!!!!!!
Grin Cheesy
yes ooooo
Posted: at 27-04-2010 08:43 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dunsi at 27-04-2010 11:25 AM (14 years ago)
Why are the foreign media trying always to frustrate our nation. Even though, we have leadership problem, it is normal to have challenges and to overcome them. Our leaders should strive to do better for better standard of life for Nigerians. Foreign media enjoy "cheap" popularity by painting bad images about Nigeria as if we are the worst nation in the whole planet while they hide the ills and the ugly of their own society. this goes to say that, our local media should strive to paint our country well and stop promoting the bad and ugly of our society at all time.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 11:25 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5 6

1. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

2. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

3. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

4. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

5. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

6. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

9. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

10. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

11. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

12. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

13. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

14. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

15. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

16. Ibadan Court Remands Tenant, Dickson Peter In Prison For Setting Landlord’s House On Fire

17. How Terrorists’ Explosion Devices Kill Seven Civilians In Borno

18. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

19. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

20. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

6. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

7. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

8. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)