FG protests BBC documentary on Lagos (Page 2)

Date: 22-04-2010 7:03 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 [2] 3 4 5 6
- omatu at 24-04-2010 11:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Ceenod on 23-04-2010 07:44 PM
d documentary was actually shot in lagos... abi una want make dem do d documentary 4 V.I?
Posted: at 24-04-2010 11:29 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etiese at 25-04-2010 02:41 AM (14 years ago)
The FG should be ashamed. that was Lagos oooo what if BBc went to other part of the country? 
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:41 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 25-04-2010 03:28 AM (14 years ago)
He noted that the High Commission could not comprehend the motives behind the documentary, especially at a time when Nigeria was celebrating the Golden Jubilee of its independence from the British Government.

Why do you believe they come filming this documentary. It is to fling into your face that you guys fight for independence and you have your citizens living in slum. You should have been a shamed to highlight this factor. Only having the recipient laughing at you while reading your letter of protest. You leaders in Nigeria and Jamaica make the fight for independence one of mockery and have our forefathers turning into their graves.

Our forefathers fight for independence from British bondage and they tried their best to set laws and legislation which you corrupted leaders abandoned. You turned your eyes and rape us now tell us what do you think those who used to lord over us are doing now. Laughing at us coming inside our countries and showing us that what our forefathers fought for is nothing now because of you corrupt leaders.

Go and make our shame become pride. Stop the corruption and molesting of our land. When this is done we can be proud and they will have nothing to highlight and laugh about. Letter of protest indeed.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:28 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- afridom at 25-04-2010 05:16 AM (14 years ago)
The gov of nigeria should do something in the said areas that was reported in the bbc,rather than denying it,it is for the good of nigerians that it was reported so that something should be done to it,also may i use this media to ask the naija pal communications and the entire nigerians is illitrate english or (broken )a nigerian english? why should nigerian use broken to write what the entire world should read.
please i want to ask the the state security servise and the defence ministry if they are not capable of protecting nigerians.as kidnapping, life and property is at risk in nigeria.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 05:16 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- omatu at 25-04-2010 06:13 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: afridom on 25-04-2010 05:16 AM
The gov of nigeria should do something in the said areas that was reported in the bbc,rather than denying it,it is for the good of nigerians that it was reported so that something should be done to it,also may i use this media to ask the naija pal communications and the entire nigerians is illitrate english or (broken )a nigerian english? why should nigerian use broken to write what the entire world should read.
please i want to ask the the state security servise and the defence ministry if they are not capable of protecting nigerians.as kidnapping, life and property is at risk in nigeria.
Go ahead and speak the queen english better than the queen.
 Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 25-04-2010 06:13 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- political at 25-04-2010 06:31 AM (14 years ago)
Well,what do u expect from criminals like our leaders,they know this 2ru,they just want BBC to av at least add some respect by telling us the truth,BBC was right in her documentry.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 06:31 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- gbasky044 at 25-04-2010 08:39 AM (14 years ago)
The Managing Director of Air Cargo and Travel Agency, Chicago, Dr. Wale Ajifolokun, told NAN that Nigeria had to boost its ego and write its story.

“If you wait for people to write it for you, they will do that from their own perspectives, which may be wrong,’’ he said.

they are claiming its not the real picture of life in lagos, if BBC was to show the other part, then they will be airing the widest gap ever btw the rich and the poor which is also a bad image. They need to work much harder to help themselves
Posted: at 25-04-2010 08:39 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kudeti at 25-04-2010 08:40 AM (14 years ago)
BBC has correspondents in almost every country of their coverage and these correspondents happen to be citizens of these countries,it means a Nigerian correspondent definitely fed BBC with these pictures.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 08:40 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Bahar at 25-04-2010 08:45 AM (14 years ago)
Well,is just unfortunate.

I will not blame BBC.....NIGERIANS we need to do something about our reputation!!!!!!!
And the responsibilities is not only for the FG, but for the entire people of the country.
GOD bless NIGERIA,lets all start blessing the country cos that's one of the thing that makes America successful....

Posted: at 25-04-2010 08:45 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Enockia at 25-04-2010 09:17 AM (14 years ago)
Well lagos is a nice place even though it's got it's slums bbc should be carefull

Posted: at 25-04-2010 09:17 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ANIWETALU at 25-04-2010 12:15 PM (14 years ago)
Nigerian government should do more to better the lots of the masses.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 12:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- emmanueldonp at 25-04-2010 01:49 PM (14 years ago)
I so like the disgrace met on us. Cos if we ain't correct our ills to start promoting ourselves, other will do it for us either the way they see us or to woe us...........
Posted: at 25-04-2010 01:49 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- supercyn at 25-04-2010 02:06 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Grace007 on 22-04-2010 02:28 PM
I thought it was a good & true description of parts of Lagos.I started watching it with caution but later found it interesting & uplifting.
  Quite right,dat was part of live in Lagos,why dont they present the good and better side of Lagos.There is no country in this world without slums or ghettos.Nigeria is a luvly country,so lets work together and make our country a better place to live in.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:06 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DASAMUELS at 25-04-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago)
I was not particularly pleased to see Nigeria(Lagos) portrayed in that light, however, the lessons from the Documentary is that "
in the midst of all the rubbish and how people try to live with whatever life throw at them, there could be and there was a form of organisation, Love and affection"
- What happens
in England is that we have it all but no Love, affection or self-help organisation - everyone is subject to Central Control via the authorities"
 Possibly there could have been a mixture of various aspects and lifestyles in Lagos.

One questions though, is the Government saying they are unaware that filming was going on in these areas?  Who sold the right to BBC?  How much bribe do they receive? No Police, No monitoring No sensor!!!!  Can a Nigeria TV station film Peckham, Brixton or Birmingham in such circumstances without control?  I DON'T THINK SO!!!!

Dr. David Akin-Samuels
London
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DASAMUELS at 25-04-2010 02:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Toks-E on 22-04-2010 02:43 PM
Useless Nigerian Govt. They should Shut the 4ck UP and do something profitable to the lives of Nigerians. The BBC report, is 100% true. and you guyz here want to act as if u dont knw what is happening in Nigeria.

Anyways, keep supporting useless politicians, that benefit only the rich ppl of Nigeria, nd continue to live in your poverty forever. Useless blindfolded Political Fans

I found this comment very offensive, it is better to criticise the Government rather than using a derogatory word such as this!! Can this guy do better without receiving bribe from the BBC?  He will probably allow his private life to be filmed by BBC to be shown in London at a drop of a few pound sterling!  He should be careful with his comments.

Dr. Samuels
London
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:20 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Joyfulman at 25-04-2010 02:34 PM (14 years ago)
What did you expect?  Governor Fashola is trying and has tried but did the "godfather" allowed him to perform better?  What do you think caused the impending impeachment for him?  May be enough money is not flowing in to the godfather and the House of Assembly that were only put their by their "godfather" as ordinary bulldog that cannot bite but only bark at the command of their "master" that installed them.  Thank God for Governor Fashola who is now trying his best to put Lagos to a reckonable city, unlike the wasted period of eight years of the former Governor.  The British press even though spoke the truth, they should commend the present Governor for at least trying to change the filthy face of Lagos.  May be Governor Fashola refused to give a "brown envelop" to the reporter!
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:34 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DASAMUELS at 25-04-2010 03:15 PM (14 years ago)
What on earth are you saying?  The rubbish in Lagos is not unknown to the Governor!  Would the Governor go to the rubbish dump to investigate? I believed there are chains of command within the Lagos State Government that filters down to ordinary commoners in Lagos.  Those living on the rubbish heaps are Nigerians just like the Governor.  One question to ask is this, What has the Governor done since the filming?.  Has he, for instance written a letter to the BBC?  Has he written an open letter in any of the Nigerian Newspaper? No!  Is he unaffected by the Broadcast? Probably Not!! - Hence why should he be commended or what is commendation for?.  The Broadcast is not just about the shame of Lagos but shame of Nigeria.  But, remember such shame exist in any Country in the world - Nigeria is just OTT.

Dr. Samuels
London
Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mrkyrian at 25-04-2010 03:37 PM (14 years ago)
fellow nigerians we should try to erase the bad foreign media have about us. bbc na stuppid ppl and our politian should try to make nigeria betta
Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:37 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 25-04-2010 03:53 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: chudy1800 on 22-04-2010 09:42 AM
But everything in that documentary is true,pls leave BBC alone.

Leave them, our government is shameless, and most of us nigerians still live in dreams, we dont like to face reality.

KUDOS BBC.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uzooma at 25-04-2010 04:42 PM (14 years ago)
the NTA can equally go to London to show slums and ghettos, if any - as it would balance some arguments from some funny quarters.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 04:42 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4 5 6

1. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

2. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

3. Passengers Stranded, Flights Disrupted as Fire Breaks Out at Lagos Airport

4. Actor, Zubby Michael Finally Mourns Late Colleague Junior Pope, Netizens React

5. Shops, Residential Houses Demolished by Ebonyi Govt For Construction of New Flyover

6. I Saw it Very Clearly - Nigerian Pastor Insists World Will End Today, April 25th

7. Oyo State Government Declares Friday Half Working Day For Local Govt Election

8. “Man Wearing Wig” - Blessing CEO Causes Commotion Online With Her Recent Dance Video

3. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

4. How Past Abia Govt Paid N107.2 Bn To Contractors For Non-existent Abia Airport & Other Projects

5. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

7. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper