CULTURE (Page 4)

Date: 17-12-2010 9:17 am (14 years ago) | Author: Vivian Johnson
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8
- solojaro at 17-12-2010 12:06 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 17-12-2010 11:50 AM
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 09:17 AM
Culture is something that a person learns from his family and surroundings, and is not ingrained in him from birth.

Every society has a different culture, where people share a specific language, traditions, behaviors, perceptions and beliefs. Culture gives them an identity which makes them unique and different from people of other cultures.

When people of different cultures migrate and settle in another society, the culture of that society becomes the dominant culture and those of the immigrants form the subculture of the community. Usually, people who settle in other nations imbibe the new culture, while at the same time strive to preserve their own.
Why is it that many people are loosing their marriage because of CULTURE?

Well, it is easier to drop your culture for a foreign one if you are a kid/teenager............but if you are a full grown man/woman, you find yourself holding on tightly to your culture even though you are in another man's land.........I take myself for example, I grew up away from my home town, so it is easy for me to imbibe the culture of the owners of the land.......but in my own case, I was choosy, I took up some and I dropped some........that way am able to fit in in my tribe's culture and in adopted culture........

Having said the underlined, i think it is easy to see why marriages are destroyed becos of different cultures!.........
That is correct.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:06 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 12:25 PM (14 years ago)
@TRUENAIJA2, I AGREE WITH YOU BUT DO YOU THINK IS WISE FOR A MARRIAGE OF 20 YRS TO BREAK BC OF CULTURE?
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:25 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Priceless-jewel at 17-12-2010 12:27 PM (14 years ago)
marriage break bc of culture? Not a chance
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:27 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solojaro at 17-12-2010 12:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 12:25 PM
@TRUENAIJA2, I AGREE WITH YOU BUT DO YOU THINK IS WISE FOR A MARRIAGE OF 20 YRS TO BREAK BC OF CULTURE?
I don't agree. the chance is very slim.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:29 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 17-12-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 17-12-2010 11:53 AM
yeah its possible for people to loose their marriage bcos of this cos u r obliged to integrate into this strange and culture from urs its difficult to b submissive its difficult to change  and to adapt to this changes totally and when there is no sacrifice from one or both couples to integrate and accept the culture of the other person a totally different way of life its difficult to live together and to accept the things the other party does and to accept one another love is sacrifice patience trust tolerance humility and acceptance these qualities must come into play for the success of such relationship
true talk.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 12:39 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 17-12-2010 12:29 PM

@SOLO, WHEN A MAN WANT TO LET LOOSE, DO U THINK CULTURE WILL?
Posted: at 17-12-2010 12:39 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- truenaija2 at 17-12-2010 01:03 PM (14 years ago)

i dont think so but u know people have different cultures it depends on the persons culture and if dis culture was a bad one a devilish  one i mean for me i think when a marriage is not working out atall u should go to GOD in prayer but its sad dat not everybone knows GOD alternatively they should live separately and still have d relationship of husband and wife till they think they can live 2gether again but not divorce its really not good
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:03 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truenaija2 at 17-12-2010 01:04 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onyin on 17-12-2010 12:32 PM
Quote from: truenaija2 on 17-12-2010 11:53 AM
yeah its possible for people to loose their marriage bcos of this cos u r obliged to integrate into this strange and culture from urs its difficult to b submissive its difficult to change  and to adapt to this changes totally and when there is no sacrifice from one or both couples to integrate and accept the culture of the other person a totally different way of life its difficult to live together and to accept the things the other party does and to accept one another love is sacrifice patience trust tolerance humility and acceptance these qualities must come into play for the success of such relationship
true talk.
Wink
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 17-12-2010 01:07 PM (14 years ago)
too slim to b real hapen sef

Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:07 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 01:11 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 17-12-2010 01:07 PM

OBOY, THINGS DEY HAPPEN THIS DAYS OOOO. THE BOBO WAN CHANGE HAND.  SINCE I MARRIED YOU, U DON'T RESPECT MY PEOPLE, U DON'T DO THINGS MY OWN WAY. I THINK IS TIME I MARRY FROM MY PLACE, HMMMMM. THAT IS THE HEADLINE
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:11 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 17-12-2010 01:16 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 11:18 AM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 10:01 AM
Interracial marriages are more difficult, simply because u think different, reason different,

act different.... U both have to be realy comitted if u want to make it work! --> hard work and a lot of understanding!

MAMAFLY, I LOVE THIS.
Thx dearie
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:16 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 17-12-2010 01:17 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 11:23 AM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 10:08 AM
Quote from: solojaro on 17-12-2010 10:07 AM
Homes are crambling now are days because cultures are no longer respected.
Not respected while living in ur home country ?

FASHION HAS TAKEN OVER.
fashion/culture? Where is d link?
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:17 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 17-12-2010 01:19 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 11:24 AM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 10:10 AM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 17-12-2010 10:09 AM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 10:06 AM
BS, yes dear both, 50-50  Smiley

Sophie, u knw it is not easy for both sides,  d person who is abroad dating wit a local it is dificult for both of dem...

Yeah! but atleast na.. the already oriented person can teach
Teaching  a stubborn person is not easy!  Smiley Not everybody is ready to accept an other culture
and live less like ur own... which is also not what they ask for, but there must be understanding and reasoning!

THAT IS THE PROBLEM, REASONING.
Not everybody is gud in it.... and certainly not when they dont understand ur view of tings
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:19 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 17-12-2010 01:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 11:26 AM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 10:17 AM
Quote from: solojaro on 17-12-2010 10:14 AM

Yes, some family no longer has that value any longer.
I can see things changing in my own country, u have the same feeling? I thought many Nigerians
still live like their grand parents and older sef? that they still respect the same culture...

NOT EVERY WHERE MY DEAR.
Thats a pitty, cos dat is wat makes u unique
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:20 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 17-12-2010 01:22 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 01:11 PM

OBOY, THINGS DEY HAPPEN THIS DAYS OOOO. THE BOBO WAN CHANGE HAND.  SINCE I MARRIED YOU, U DON'T RESPECT MY PEOPLE, U DON'T DO THINGS MY OWN WAY. I THINK IS TIME I MARRY FROM MY PLACE, HMMMMM. THAT IS THE HEADLINE
 e don tey wey him dey endure d mariage ..... my guy don tire

Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:22 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sobeit at 17-12-2010 01:27 PM (14 years ago)
an interesting & very knowledgeable post. wink
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:27 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 01:27 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 17-12-2010 01:22 PM
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 01:11 PM

e don tey wey him dey endure d mariage ..... my guy don tire

HMMM. MALLORCA, ENDURE U SAID.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:27 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 01:28 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: sobeit on 17-12-2010 01:27 PM

TNX
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:28 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sobeit at 17-12-2010 01:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 01:28 PM
Quote from: sobeit on 17-12-2010 01:27 PM

TNX
you're welcome nwanyi oma.. so be it!
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:29 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 17-12-2010 01:30 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 17-12-2010 01:17 PM
Quote from: Treasure2 on 17-12-2010 11:23 AM

FASHION HAS TAKEN OVER.
fashion/culture? Where is d link?

WHEN YOU REMIND THEM THAT CULTURE SHOULD BE RESPECTED, U WILL BE MADE TO UNDERSTAND THAT IS OLD FASHION.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:30 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8