We Will Work With MC Oluomo-led Parks Committee – INEC

Date: 08-02-2023 3:57 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-02-2023 03:57 PM (1 year ago)

Ahead of the 2023 polls, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has confirmed that it will work with the Lagos state parks management committee for the distribution of election materials and personnel in the state. Olusegun Agbaje, INEC resident electoral commissioner in Lagos, spoke on Tuesday, Feb. 7, during the inter-agency consultative committee on election security (ICCES) meeting at the commission’s office in Lagos.

Agbaje said: "There is a ban on the NURTW and RTEAN, we are only left with the Park Management system and NARTO (National Association of Road Transport Owners) and we are already working with NARTO.

"NARTO is not even able to meet up with 40 percent of our vehicle requirements for this election. The commission in Lagos State does not have any option than to use park management system. "We are not dealing with Oluomo, we are dealing with the park managers. Individual people that have vehicles are those we are going to use. “So, it will be working against the law if INEC has to continue to work with NURTW or any other group that is proscribed in the state.

"At the Central Bank of Nigeria where they are going to move our materials, there will be security agencies and party agents including the military to monitor and escort these vehicles from CBN to Local Government Areas (LGAs). "So, I don’t see how this can compromise the election in any way. Our politicians should see the peculiarity in Lagos State; we cannot work with banned NURTW or RTEAN.

"We need over 5,000 vehicles for this election, including trucks, buses and so on to carry our people and materials for the elections. There is no other way we can go. "We cannot go to other states and bring vehicles here, it is not allowed by law. The only way we can operate is through the park management system. "These are the only people that can give us any type of vehicles. In fact, most of the NURTW drivers are working with the park management system."

Posted: at 8-02-2023 03:57 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 8-02-2023 05:44 PM (1 year ago)
There is no crime in working with him if he gets the resource!! dealing with bus drivers individually is stupidity....MC is in the bus business and he is a citizen... if una no trust am go to ghana let a Ghanaian supply us buses  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-02-2023 05:44 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Allsense at 8-02-2023 08:18 PM (1 year ago)
We know the motives and how even the military personnels can be bought especially in Lag so telling us there won't be any fraudulent act and so on is ab illusion
Posted: at 8-02-2023 08:18 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac