Chief Of Naval Staff Refuses To Handover, Insists On Paying Contractors Before Leaving

Date: 21-06-2023 3:29 pm (10 months ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 21-06-2023 03:29 PM (10 months ago)

Chief of naval staff Zubairu Gambo refuses to hand over to Ikechukwu Ogalla; insists on paying billions to contractors before leaving. According to people’s Gazette Naval chief Awwal Zubairu Gambo has remained in office and rejected pleas to hand over power to his successor Ikechukwu Ogalla, Peoples Gazette was told today, two days after President Bola Tinubu approved changes at the top brass of the nation’s military. Mr Gambo, 57, said he would leave office on Friday because he had to pay contractors and naval officers from an outstanding capital vote to the tune of billions of naira before leaving office, according to multiple sources at the Nigerian Navy headquarters in Abuja.

Mr Gambo, who was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on January 26, 2021, was fired on Monday by Mr Tinubu, the new Nigerian leader who assumed office on May 29. Mr Tinubu said Mr Gambo and his counterparts in the Nigerian Army and the Nigerian Air Force should immediately vacate office, with new chiefs named forthwith. While other service chiefs have since departed following the June 19 presidential directive, Mr Gambo has lingered in office, saying he has some unfinished business to wind up, according to sources familiar with the development.

“The chief of naval staff is still here,” a source told The Gazette from the Nigerian Navy headquarters in Abuja. “We have been begging him to comply with the order of the president and vacate office for the new person that was appointed.”

Mr Gambo reportedly said he was responsible for the release of the funds to the Nigerian Navy and will not be leaving office until entitled contractors and naval officers had been paid. Sources said Mr Gambo insisted that the payment to contractors may be delayed by his successor, even though he was assured that the navy would meet all valid contractual obligations. “He wants to pay contractors, himself and other naval officers some billions in capital,” a senior naval officer told The Gazette. “We have never seen anything like this before in our service.”

Posted: at 21-06-2023 03:29 PM (10 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- taypetdun at 21-06-2023 03:38 PM (10 months ago)
You are looking for your 10%. The commander in Chief has ordered you to go, and refusing to go is disobedient to particular order, oga at the top.
Posted: at 21-06-2023 03:38 PM (10 months ago) | Upcoming
- blowout at 21-06-2023 07:31 PM (10 months ago)
 Grin Grin Grin una want comot chicken for this guy mouth. He must chop that chicken.
Posted: at 21-06-2023 07:31 PM (10 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 21-06-2023 08:28 PM (10 months ago)
make jagaban catch u there

Posted: at 21-06-2023 08:28 PM (10 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- maizaxx at 21-06-2023 09:17 PM (10 months ago)
I smell a mouse and not a rat.
Just tell us you want to pay your  ompany or collect your kickback?
Posted: at 21-06-2023 09:17 PM (10 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 22-06-2023 11:49 AM (10 months ago)
Chai! I wish knew earlier he would have concluded sharply b4 May 29, now it has choked
Posted: at 22-06-2023 11:49 AM (10 months ago) | Gistmaniac