7 Staff Of BankPHB Arrested For N75m Fraud

Date: 16-02-2011 10:25 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 16-02-2011 10:25 AM (13 years ago)
The suspects include Idowu Makunjuola, Akinwale Olugbemi, Ajunwa Solomion, Peter Tarie, Isaac Ukpe, Kehinde Aiyebodofor and Gabriel Onigboke.Also arrested in connection with the fraud are Abiola Ologodade, Bode Olofin, and Ajayi Abayomi; suspected to be the brain behind the fraud.The suspects were arrested by officers of the State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti, Yaba on January 28, following a complaint by the bank.Spokesperson for the Lagos Police Command, Samuel Jinadu, said the suspects were able to hack into the accounts of customers with a device called the Keylogger.

The scam

According to the police, a Keylogger, popularly known as an extractor, is used by fraudsters to access the passwords of customers and other bank transactions illegally; and at their convenience, they can withdraw huge sum from such accounts.“The kingpin of this syndicate is Ajayi Abayomi, an ex staff of the new generation bank,” said Mr Jinadu. “From our investigations, they specialise in hacking into the account of the bank with the use of a device called keglogger. Ajayi has an insider in the bank who he gives the keylogger to, and he also recruited some beneficiaries who opened accounts with the bank. When the insider studies the modus operandi of the bank and when no one is noticing, the insider will insert the keglogger into the desktops of the staff and extract information from the desktops. They successfully withdrew N75million. The management of the bank noticed that a huge sum was siphoned and they reported to the police.”

The denials

Mr Abayomi, however denied the allegation. “I don’t know anything about this crime, the police is trying to rope me in,” he said. “I got the keylogger through a parcel for some people in the bank, so I don’t know anything about the money.”

Mr Olugbemi, and Administrative Manager of the bank, also said he is innocent.“I am the admin manager at the Surulere Branch of the bank,” he said. “That day, 21st of January, one Isaac, who works with our maintenance department, came to me with a device. He asked me to charge it for him, on my desktop. I went to see our manager and before I came back, I called Isaac to come and collect the device that I was going to the local government council. Shortly after, our corporate auditor called me and asked me about the device. I told him that I was charging it so they said I should follow them to Panti, that I will explain myself there. It was when we got to Panti that I saw the other suspects. There is one man called Alake, who allegedly masterminded this fraud, he can explain better. But as for me, they just asked me to charge the device I never knew it was used for fraud.”

The confession

Mr Ukpe, a maintenance officer with the head office of the bank, said the fraud was well planned. “It was Abayomi that came to me around 15th of December and discussed the keglogger with me,” he said. “He told me to contact somebody working in the bank and I contacted Akin. It was Abayomi and I that went to Akin to give him the device at their Bode Thomas Branch at Surulere, so the fraud was well planned. Abayomi told him to insert the device and he should leave everything to him. We were to get certain percentage if the deal succeeded but now I feel bad about my role in the fraud.”

Mr Jinadu said the suspects will be charged to court soon.

Source: 234 Next

Posted: at 16-02-2011 10:25 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- princedafe at 16-02-2011 10:29 AM (13 years ago)
nawa
Posted: at 16-02-2011 10:29 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ascondy at 16-02-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago)
Too bad!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sad
Posted: at 16-02-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 16-02-2011 10:54 AM (13 years ago)
U can imagine that? new method of crime emanates each passing day... God help us.
Posted: at 16-02-2011 10:54 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- StrawberryLips at 16-02-2011 11:07 AM (13 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
What is this world turning into? look at them faimly men for that matter.may God save us all.
Posted: at 16-02-2011 11:07 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- obaje at 16-02-2011 11:11 AM (13 years ago)
thank God for that
Posted: at 16-02-2011 11:11 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- macosas at 16-02-2011 11:13 AM (13 years ago)
After 75million Naira wetin una still they find greed???
That's good for them sentences them to 25yrs in prison
Posted: at 16-02-2011 11:13 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 16-02-2011 11:49 AM (13 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves
Posted: at 16-02-2011 11:49 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kinkino at 16-02-2011 12:02 PM (13 years ago)
dats naija 4 u....dey all wanna survive in hard way...................dey wil reap whateva dey sow..........
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 16-02-2011 12:03 PM (13 years ago)
Youngsters want to become millionaires overnight, without working hard for it...if it's not outright bank fraud, it'll be yahoo yahoo or yahoo plus...if not, it'll be rituals, kidnapping....a lot of people do not think about legitimate means of making money any longer....May God heal our land!
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bassteed at 16-02-2011 12:07 PM (13 years ago)
 OOOOOOO LLLLLLL EEEEEEEEEE
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sternkings at 16-02-2011 12:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 16-02-2011 11:49 AM
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves

Barbie! Police don catch dem already.....why are you beating them online again?!lol
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyeanwunaokonk at 16-02-2011 12:22 PM (13 years ago)
i think 30 yrs will do
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:22 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- enoeno at 16-02-2011 12:26 PM (13 years ago)
wonders shall never end
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 16-02-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sternkings on 16-02-2011 12:17 PM
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves

Barbie! Police don catch dem already.....why are you beating them online again?!lol

Bcos am  Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- terdue at 16-02-2011 12:30 PM (13 years ago)
bankers are now involved in fraud...na wa o,who can we trust our money with now?
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sternkings at 16-02-2011 12:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 16-02-2011 12:28 PM
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves

Al I am going to say is thank God you are not a Police Woman! lol
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:33 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- pholake at 16-02-2011 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: terdue on 16-02-2011 12:30 PM
bankers are now involved in fraud...na wa o,who can we trust our money with now?

They've always been involved, no be today....
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 16-02-2011 12:42 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sternkings on 16-02-2011 12:33 PM
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves

Huh police whaat?
God forbid
Posted: at 16-02-2011 12:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sternkings at 16-02-2011 01:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 16-02-2011 12:42 PM
Quote from: sternkings on 16-02-2011 12:33 PM
OMG....75whaat?
@ those thieves

Huh police whaat?
God forbid

Barbice, you will find that Nigerian Police are okay apart from Bribery, extortion, colluding with criminals etc.... he he he
Posted: at 16-02-2011 01:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5