Attack in Jos kills at least four

Date: 28-02-2011 12:52 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Pholake
[1] 2 3 4
- at 28-02-2011 12:52 PM (13 years ago)
Attackers armed with guns and machetes killed at least four people in a village in central Nigeria on Monday, the latest in a series of religious and sectarian clashes in the region.

The attack took place in the early hours outside a science college in a village near Jos, the capital of Plateau state. Violence between Christian and Muslim gangs have killed more than 200 people in the region since December.

A lecturer at the college, attended mostly by Christian students, said six people were killed and several more wounded when armed Muslim youths stormed the village.

The military confirmed the clash but said fewer had died.

"Four people were killed in the attack. My men are right now combing the area," Special Task Force Commander General Hussan Umaru told Reuters.

Sectarian clashes in the "Middle Belt", the central region around Jos, have killed thousands over the past decade.

The cycle of violence consists largely of acts of retribution against both Muslims and Christians, who are targeted simply because of their religious or ethnic identity.

Hundreds died in clashes early last year and the violence flared up again in late December after a series of bombs during Christmas Eve celebrations.

The tensions are rooted in resentment between mainly Christian ethnic groups, who consider themselves indigenous to the region, and settlers, largely from the Muslim north, who came in search of jobs and fertile farmland.

http://af.reuters.com/article/topNews/idAFJOE71R09U20110228

Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 28-02-2011 12:53 PM (13 years ago)
Na like dis e go dey go? Sad
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:53 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ganster-kid at 28-02-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago)
sorry sis. it may never end as far as, we live under a crooked creation called Nigeria with the same Muslim terrorists as the head of security institutions. just imagine what would have happened if most of the victims ha been muslims. i just pity ppl of plateau stste
Posted: at 28-02-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pholake at 28-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago)
Can't there just be a once-and-for-all solution to all these crises in Jos? Why are killings and burnings and maiming so pronounced in Jos? Why Jos in particular....ome people are just hell-bent on ruining that place. Human lives no more have meanings? My heart's bleeding........ :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 28-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 28-02-2011 11:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 28-02-2011 04:09 PM
Can't there just be a once-and-for-all solution to all these crises in Jos? Why are killings and burnings and maiming so pronounced in Jos? Why Jos in particular....ome people are just hell-bent on ruining that place. Human lives no more have meanings? My heart's bleeding........ :'( :'( :'(
My sister I share your feelings
More people are been killed than what they usually
say on the media....Innocent Lives
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 28-02-2011 11:09 PM (13 years ago)
These heartless Bastards in so-called Jos
what do they really want? If muslims are claiming that
their religion is against killings, what have they done about this?
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fashalyn at 1-03-2011 01:36 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 28-02-2011 11:09 PM
These heartless Bastards in so-called Jos
what do they really want? If muslims are claiming that
their religion is against killings, what have they done about this?

Gud question!!!

Posted: at 1-03-2011 01:36 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fashalyn at 1-03-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago)
Jos Jos Jos!!! una no dey tire!! Haba!!!

Posted: at 1-03-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chyke123 at 1-03-2011 01:44 AM (13 years ago)
d reason dat we humans should not call a spade just a spade worries me,
islamistisms is really d cause of every problems in nigeria .
underlined.
Posted: at 1-03-2011 01:44 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dedon4nig at 1-03-2011 01:49 AM (13 years ago)
Muslim, huunnn...Does their religion or quo-ram ask them to share blood?
Posted: at 1-03-2011 01:49 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- truthisbitter at 1-03-2011 03:28 AM (13 years ago)
NA BABANGIDA HAND WORK PERIOD............HE CANNOT TELL ME HE IS INCAPABLE OF STOPPING THAT SHIT IN HIS HOME LAND......EX PRESIDENT............EX GENERAL MY FOOT
Posted: at 1-03-2011 03:28 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Henchmann at 1-03-2011 08:21 AM (13 years ago)
Abeg make una no dey post Jos issue for this place again.
Tha place is behaving like a spoilt child which is difficult to change.
Posted: at 1-03-2011 08:21 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- stico at 1-03-2011 08:31 AM (13 years ago)
just tell oga joe 2 allow me and my home boys enta jos.allah by d time we are tru wit dem! even an imam will b baptizd.
Posted: at 1-03-2011 08:31 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 1-03-2011 08:53 AM (13 years ago)
look at it
Posted: at 1-03-2011 08:53 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- pholake at 1-03-2011 09:02 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: truthisbitter on  1-03-2011 03:28 AM
NA BABANGIDA HAND WORK PERIOD............HE CANNOT TELL ME HE IS INCAPABLE OF STOPPING THAT SHIT IN HIS HOME LAND......EX PRESIDENT............EX GENERAL MY FOOT

Babangida is not from Jos......
Posted: at 1-03-2011 09:02 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 1-03-2011 09:03 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: stico on  1-03-2011 08:31 AM
just tell oga joe 2 allow me and my home boys enta jos.allah by d time we are tru wit dem! even an imam will b baptizd.

Really? That'll be the 9th wonder of the world........
Posted: at 1-03-2011 09:03 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ugochuks at 1-03-2011 10:09 AM (13 years ago)
its just impossible to have a lion and a goat in the same cage! a fulani man and igbo yoruba or idoma were nd re never brothers and will never be,hiding under a roof called one nigeria is just a lazy way of not doing what is right,we  no dey even marry eachother, christians go for christians and muslims go for muslims,theres nothing we have in common! look at the way way these fools invade churches,kill women and babies,cos of tribe and religion,lets be real for once nd stand up,    SPLIT THIS LAND AND SAVE LIVES

Posted: at 1-03-2011 10:09 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pholake at 1-03-2011 10:12 AM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 1-03-2011 10:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maffrodisiac at 1-03-2011 10:19 AM (13 years ago)
Something has to be done about this Jos issue. Too many lives are being lost.
Posted: at 1-03-2011 10:19 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 1-03-2011 02:58 PM (13 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 1-03-2011 02:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4