Sokoto – Sokoto State Police Command has arrested the Chief Imam of the Farfaru Juma’at Mosque, Sokoto, Sheikh Abubakar Jibrin, for allegedly defacing the posters of the PDP presidential candidate, Dr Goodluck Jonathan.
Spokesperson of the Police Command, ASP Al-Mustapha Sani, disclosed this to newsmen in Sokoto Tuesday. According to him, the Chief Imam was arrested at a roundabout while he was using black paint to deface President Jonathan’s posters by policemen on patrol. “The renowned Islamic cleric was arrested by our men on patrol using black paint to deface the posters of President Goodluck Jonathan and Alhaji Namadi Sambo at some roundabouts in Sokoto metropolis at around 5 pm on February, 28.
“He was arrested along with his two sons, his driver and a domestic aide. They have all been transferred to the Force CID, Abuja, today (Tuesday),” Sani said.
He advised the people of the state to continue to be law abiding, adding that “only the use of ballot papers to either vote in or vote out candidates were lawful.”
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 1-03-2011 09:38 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Am sure he has gotten what he wanted and shud remain behind bars, why should he even go and deface the poster? If he does not like Jonathan, then it is as simple as not voting for him when its time for election instead of doing what he did.
AM PROUD TO BE AN ADVENTIST!!!
Posted: at 1-03-2011 11:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Diamond4u at 2-03-2011 02:04 AM (14 years ago) (m)
y d arrest? jonathan is a bastard sooo ?
BIG FOOL LIKE U WHAT ARE YOU DOING IN THIS SITE, IF U DONT KNOW WHAT TO WRITE Y CANT U RESPECT URSELF FOOL. ABOKI LISTEN DONT CHALANGE ME OO B4 I SEND VIRUSE TO UR SYSTEM IDIOT.
Posted: at 2-03-2011 02:04 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
dumosky2010 at 2-03-2011 02:25 AM (14 years ago) (m)
So what is he implying ? some people just act without thinking.....what does the posters got to do with his religious life, or he is trying to use his position to set controversies.....Nigerians we r getting there sha
Posted: at 2-03-2011 02:25 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
ONYECHICHI at 2-03-2011 03:23 AM (14 years ago) (m)
Low mentality syndrom ! Tomorrow he will come for presidency too , You will imagin the kind of leadership he will exibit ABOKI! na wa o !may God help nigeria
Posted: at 2-03-2011 03:23 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
religion is the problem in the north of nigeria, but tell you guys here imagine an imam' doing such thing then what will he preach in the mosque? this preacher is a deceiver am christ believer. muslems are good religion but the hatred in nigerians tribes we;even me some times think the're bad people but if meet with SUNNI muslems they are like your brother in progress, but SHIANS are like enermy of all religions even their muslem brothers.
the imam need some lecture about his religion. i am in doha i met with all religion in the world like; christians, muslems, buhdist, hindus, jews, bahazis, but all are living in peace. the problem in nigerian is tribal hetred not religion islam is for peace christians are for peace why all this hetred?
Posted: at 2-03-2011 04:07 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
That is the foolish mentality where by every muslims communities or country life only their side of only family to be ruling other as if they are only people on earth, asking them to have their own independent country they will not, so this crimes, terrorist will be reduce. What that Imam did let a Christain do similar things to Northern's candidate from northerners then you see them killing innocent Christains, for example is common Usaman Bin Ladin's poster Notherners killed many Christains.
Posted: at 2-03-2011 05:18 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
That is the foolish mentality where by every muslims communities or country life only their side of only family to be ruling other as if they are only people on earth, asking them to have their own independent country they will not, so this crimes, terrorist will be reduce. What that Imam did let a Christain do similar things to Northern's candidate from northerners then you see them killing innocent Christains, for example is common Usaman Bin Ladin's poster Notherners killed many Christains.
Posted: at 2-03-2011 05:20 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming