Forgive me, Daniel begs Obasanjo, accepts Olurin

Date: 12-03-2011 2:08 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 12-03-2011 02:08 PM (14 years ago)

Governor Gbenga Daniel of Ogun State on Friday begged former President Olusegun Obasanjo over the lingering rift between the two.

The rift between Obasanjo and Daniel had polarised the Peoples Democratic Party in Ogun with a group loyal to Obasanjo and the other loyal to Daniel.

The situation degenerated into two primaries that were conducted by the party in the state.

While a former military governor of Oyo State, Chief Adetunji Olurin, emerged as the governorship candidate in Obasanjo’s faction, Mr. Gboyega Isiaka emerged in Daniel’s faction.

The apology by Daniel followed the intervention by a legal luminary, Chief Afe Babalola, who led others at a meeting, held at the Abeokuta residence of the former president.

The meeting, which started at about 2 pm, lasted till 5.45 pm. Daniel, while responding to journalists’ questions on whether he apologised to Obasanjo, said, “I apologised to Baba Obasanjo and I will continue to apologise.

“Let me say this to you, I am a true Yorubaman and in Yorubaland, it doesn’t matter who is right or wrong, it is the younger person that will beg the older person. I have begged Baba and I will continue to beg Baba.

“In all things, we must give thanks to God. I think what has happened here today is the manifestation of the work of God. I want to seize this opportunity to thank all the elders and also thank Baba (Obasanjo) for the opportunity of this meeting.”

The governor, while responding to some of his members, who defected from the PDP to the Peoples Party of Nigeria, said the process of reconciliation had just begun with the settlement.

He described the people who left the PDP as those who were aggrieved, adding that they would soon be reconciled with the party.

He said, “I have no doubt in my mind that we can work things out and I think what we have started today is a manifestation of better things to come.

“As you have always been aware, a large number of our supporters fell disenchanted, but I think if you go to war, we have to sit down and find a peaceful solution and that is what we have started today.

“I have no doubt in my mind that we will talk to ourselves to ensure that the PDP remains strong and united. And you know there was never a time that I left the party. The people who left felt aggrieved and we have started the process of reconciliation.”

When asked who the governorship candidate of the party in the state is, Daniel said, “Of course, Olurin is the governorship candidate of the PDP in the state.”

Obasanjo told journalists that he had forgiven Daniel, saying, “You know one thing, if you are a true Christian, your prayer will be, ‘Our father, who hath in heaven, hallowed be thy name, forgive us our sins as we forgive those who offend us…’”

As Obasanjo tried to end the recitation of the prayer, Daniel jokingly interjected, saying, “You should add: Deliver us from evil.” Obasanjo added, “As I pray God to forgive me my sins, and I forgive people who sin against me, and particularly those who ask for forgiveness, and then I ask God that he should deliver me from evil, and deliver those who sinned against me.”

Babalola said, “The various frictions within the PDP today have been finally solved. Daniel will be at the airport tomorrow to receive the President. I am happy that all the problems have been amicably resolved.”

Others who attended the meeting were the Olubara of Ibara, Oba Omolade Jacob; a business mogul, Chief Adebutu Kessington; and former chairman of Police Trust Fund, Chief Kenny Martins.

Posted: at 12-03-2011 02:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truthisbitter at 13-03-2011 06:38 AM (14 years ago)
NA THEM THEM
Posted: at 13-03-2011 06:38 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 29-03-2011 09:38 PM (14 years ago)
 Na dem sabi o

Posted: at 29-03-2011 09:38 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 29-03-2011 10:28 PM (14 years ago)
two big fools
Posted: at 29-03-2011 10:28 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 2-04-2011 05:07 PM (14 years ago)
wetin do youn ooo?
Posted: at 2-04-2011 05:07 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- Larrykingomoj at 2-04-2011 07:54 PM (14 years ago)
As they started na so they wan end, good luck to them, na them sabi
Posted: at 2-04-2011 07:54 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 24-04-2012 05:28 PM (13 years ago)
Na them sabi

Posted: at 24-04-2012 05:28 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 24-04-2012 10:41 PM (13 years ago)
medicine after the death
Posted: at 24-04-2012 10:41 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master

1. I Had to Sell My House - Nollywood Actor, Tito Harrison Opens up His Health Struggles (VID)

2. What You Should Know About The New Pope Leo XIV, Born Robert Francis Prevost

3. President Tinubu Approves The Appointment of Ms. Usoro Akpabio as MD of SSDC

4. Moment A Man Stole iPhone 14 Pro Max & Samsung Phone While Salesgirls Were in Deep Sleep

5. JAMB Set to Release 2025 UTME Results Today

6. IPOB Leader, Nnamdi Kanu Clears The Air On His Role in 2020 #EndSARS Protest

7. Man Madu Simon Arrested As NAFDAC Bust Lagos Outlet Where Expired Drinks Are Sold (VID)

8. Passengers Killed, Vehicles Set Ablaze As Gunmen Attack Commercial Bus in Imo

9. VIDEO: President Tinubu Shows Off His Dancing Skills During His Visit in Anambra

10. Resolve The Crisis in Your Party First Before Talking About Nigeria - Akpabio Tackles Peter Obi

11. PHOTOS: Actress Chizzy Alichi Makes First Public Appearance Days After Child Birth

12. We’ve 28 More Witnesses Against Yahaya Bello – EFCC Tells Court

13. Actress, Uche Montana Celebrates Birthday With New Stunning Photos

14. Actress, Sarah Martins Replies Critics Over Her Declaration Of Love For VeryDarkMan

15. Lovely Video Of Singer Davido And His Wife, Chioma Vibing To His Song

16. "Why I Will Not Step Down Over Natasha Akpoti’s Sexual Allegations" – Akpabio

17. “Mohbad’s Autopsy Cost Me N16 Million” – Late Singer’s Father, Aloba Claims

18. Actress, Laide Bakare Crowned UN Ambassador Of Peace

19. Nah Our Papa Be This, We No Get Another One -Anambra Citizens Sing For Tinubu During His Speech

20. VIDEO: President Tinubu Conferred With a Chieftaincy Title in Anambra State

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. Prophecy Resurfaces As Pastor’s Warning To VeryDarkMan Goes Viral After Arrest (Photos)

4. Woman Sparks Outrage Over Post Urging Abroad-Based Men to Avoid Igbo Wives Without Prenup

5. "Green For A New Beginning": Annie Macaulay Embraces Fresh Chapter After Split from 2Baba

6. #FreeVDM: GTBank Faces Mass Withdrawals As Fans Rally Behind VeryDarkMan Over Alleged Arrest

7. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

8. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

9. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

10. Tension At Tinubu’s Empowerment Event As Women Walk Out During Rivers First Lady’s Speech