Igbo Parents And Traditional Rites Of Their First Daughter? (Page 4)

Date: 23-04-2011 6:23 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Danjuma Daniel
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9
- Xplix101 at 25-04-2011 03:17 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: i-code on 23-04-2011 06:23 PM
Please i need help seriously, am 28 yrs old guy dating a 26 yrs old Igbo girl, we love ourselves very well & we are planning of settling down 2gada & to be frank with you guys-i have never love a girl b4 eva though i hav dated some girl in d past. The major problem now is dat am 4rm the middle belt & she is an Igbo girl & all my friends are saying dat Igbo first daughter are not allow to marry outside their tribe & that my girl parent will do anything to keep us apart & dis is seriously disturbing me causing me sleepless night. Eva when i discuss with my girl about it, she said it's not true & re-assure me of her love 4 me, dat it's me she love & dat she didn't want to marry someone else & her heart will still be with me. My relationship in d past didn't work bcos i always hide my real identity but my girl now know virtually everything about me likewise myself & she is a dedication Catholic member. Please & please pals i need help bcos dis is eating me up & am tempted to double date in d event where d worse happen (my girl parent opposing me), at dsame time am afraid my girl will be highly disappointed in me if i cheat on her & even if she didn't know, i can't stand the guilt. Your kind & mature advice will highly be appreciated. Please help!

I'm igbo,  most Igbo parents prefer their children to marry in our community. It's a traditional norm several parents will let go of if you're both in love.
Posted: at 25-04-2011 03:17 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- laydeelaracraft at 25-04-2011 04:11 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: i-code on 23-04-2011 06:23 PM
Please i need help seriously, am 28 yrs old guy dating a 26 yrs old Igbo girl, we love ourselves very well & we are planning of settling down 2gada & to be frank with you guys-i have never love a girl b4 eva though i hav dated some girl in d past. The major problem now is dat am 4rm the middle belt & she is an Igbo girl & all my friends are saying dat Igbo first daughter are not allow to marry outside their tribe & that my girl parent will do anything to keep us apart & dis is seriously disturbing me causing me sleepless night. Eva when i discuss with my girl about it, she said it's not true & re-assure me of her love 4 me, dat it's me she love & dat she didn't want to marry someone else & her heart will still be with me. My relationship in d past didn't work bcos i always hide my real identity but my girl now know virtually everything about me likewise myself & she is a dedication Catholic member. Please & please pals i need help bcos dis is eating me up & am tempted to double date in d event where d worse happen (my girl parent opposing me), at dsame time am afraid my girl will be highly disappointed in me if i cheat on her & even if she didn't know, i can't stand the guilt. Your kind & mature advice will highly be appreciated. Please help!

am still struggling to undastand what yu want from us; yur gal sed nothing do u but u r stilll worried. doesnt she know her family more than those frns of yurs that appears to b stereotyping all igbos based on their experience? instead of enjoying yur relationship, u r busying worrying about sumthing that may or may not happen........if yu r that worried, dont give yur self heart attack and ask yur gal to introduce yu to them...that ought to put yu out of yur misery.

oh and b4 u go- i still dont get the relevance of the cheating issues at all! if yu r thinking, dreaming, researching, planning or implementing a cheating scenaario, i suggest yu free her and ignore my advise her....it is bad wen guyz act up but to do it after being introduced to the parents is plain cruel
Posted: at 25-04-2011 04:11 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toyosidada at 25-04-2011 07:10 AM (12 years ago)
Where they do that at?
Posted: at 25-04-2011 07:10 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 25-04-2011 07:25 AM (12 years ago)
SO you are from the middle belt? means that you tire your belt in the middle of your waist before entering into that relationship?

Goodluck dawg.......
Posted: at 25-04-2011 07:25 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- nony227 at 25-04-2011 07:44 AM (12 years ago)
it is a lie plz can i know where the girl is from?plz dont just sit and listen to side talks.
Posted: at 25-04-2011 07:44 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- neyoharrison002 at 25-04-2011 07:52 AM (12 years ago)
life is not do or die it's about God will.what you need do is to pray if is God will for you God will settle it and if is not broder take Heart,because the years you will live in marriage is longer than the one you are living as single...so pls pray over it and let God make the final decision....
Posted: at 25-04-2011 07:52 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- manscater at 25-04-2011 08:05 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: akunneobosi on 24-04-2011 12:38 PM
pls this is not true talk that 1st igbo Daugther not allow to marry another tribes ,its happening in all tribes it depends on an individuals ,so ur telling if Dangota son come to your family to marry yoour 1st DAUGTHER you will say that your Daugther cant marry another tribe?please igbos are not like that oh,my elder sister i1st DAUGTHER married a yaruba man oh,am igbo from Anambra state ok
[Well done bros,  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy]
Posted: at 25-04-2011 08:05 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- i-code at 25-04-2011 08:09 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: nony227 on 25-04-2011 07:44 AM
it is a lie plz can i know where the girl is from?plz dont just sit and listen to side talks.
Imo state
Posted: at 25-04-2011 08:09 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 25-04-2011 08:36 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: moniconyez on 25-04-2011 07:25 AM
SO you are from the middle belt? means that you tire your belt in the middle of your waist before entering into that relationship?

Goodluck dawg.......

look at his mouth, monkey
Posted: at 25-04-2011 08:36 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- moniconyez at 25-04-2011 08:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 25-04-2011 08:36 AM
Quote from: moniconyez on 25-04-2011 07:25 AM

Goodluck dawg.......

look at his mouth, monkey

GORILLA WHO CALLED YOUR ABOKI ASS HERE NOW? IDIOT
Posted: at 25-04-2011 08:46 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ugochuks at 25-04-2011 09:41 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Tractor on 24-04-2011 03:39 PM
I have asked my many Igbo friends about this. They said it's mainly families from Anambra who hold this tradition of first daughters not marrying out. Other Igbos aren't hard and fast about it.

ANOTHER LARGE OR FAT LIE!!!! WHERE IN ANAMBRA STATE U TALKING ABT? DIDNT KNOW ABT THAT.... GO DO UR RESEARCH WELL ABEG THEN COME BACK

Posted: at 25-04-2011 09:41 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- evemay23 at 25-04-2011 09:45 AM (12 years ago)
not true,my elder sister is married to an ishan man...dats an edo precisely.
Posted: at 25-04-2011 09:45 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ugochuks at 25-04-2011 09:48 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dico1 on 24-04-2011 08:07 PM
It's mere foolishness and Igboish that such culture is still existing n this world. Besides, The Ibos are the only people I see that are still believing in the past. It's quite unfortunate. The girls themselves are suppose to oppose such archaic culture but they rather chose to live in the dark.

BONAFIDE IDIOT!!! I GUESS U MUST BE 1 OF THE 3 WISE MEN,,,EWU TANZANIA

Posted: at 25-04-2011 09:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bertona12 at 25-04-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago)
If an Igbo man decides not to give out the daughter(first)to ppl 4rm far,What is is wrong about it?Does  true muslems give thier daughters to christians 4 marriage?Learn to respect ppls culture and tradition.Enough of all this.......igbo this and that
Posted: at 25-04-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 25-04-2011 11:46 AM (12 years ago)
false.
Posted: at 25-04-2011 11:46 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- BlessedChisom at 25-04-2011 11:57 AM (12 years ago)
It is a white lie dont let your friends stop you if you feel the same way about each other i think you should go to see the girls parent instead of letting your friends spoil your mind about thegirl then you will he properly inform..............Go gay nothin they happen
Posted: at 25-04-2011 11:57 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- BlessedChisom at 25-04-2011 11:58 AM (12 years ago)
It is a white lie dont let your friends stop you if you feel the same way about each other i think you should go to see the girls parent instead of letting your friends spoil your mind about thegirl then you will he properly inform..............Go gay nothin they happen
Posted: at 25-04-2011 11:58 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- sobeit at 25-04-2011 12:45 PM (12 years ago)
u mean "GAY or GUY"
Posted: at 25-04-2011 12:45 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- guy4life1 at 25-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago)
the guy don't have money
Posted: at 25-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- guy4life1 at 25-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago)
the guy don't have money
Posted: at 25-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9