Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab, 24, is charged with trying to detonate the device on a Northwest Airlines flight as it approached Detroit from Amsterdam, a scare that prompted U.S. authorities to quickly ramp up aviation security.
"This incident for which Mr. Abdulmutallab was charged occurred almost two years ago," U.S. District Judge Nancy Edmunds said in declining to change the October 4 start date of the trial.
Also on Thursday, Abdulmutallab reiterated his desire to represent himself, indicating he might speak for himself in the trial's opening and closing statements. Opening remarks are set for October 11.
Abdulmutallab previously told U.S. investigators he had received the bomb, which failed to detonate fully, and training from al Qaeda militants in Yemen, U.S. officials have said.
The case is USA v Abdulmutallab, 2:10-cr-20005, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan.
maryclaret at 12-07-2011 06:21 AM (13 years ago) (f)
This guy is going to do some real time. Thank God that he'll be jailed here cause if they were to deport his ass back to Naija, his rich father would have him out before a blink of an eye.
Ada Mbaise
Posted: at 12-07-2011 06:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
otagermo at 12-07-2011 09:52 AM (13 years ago) (m)
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahah....i trust ami for this kind of buz....his nest coming to this world,,,,he will never belong to any religion.let his advicer and his religion come and save him...what a religion
Posted: at 12-07-2011 09:52 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
naturalqueen at 12-07-2011 10:30 AM (13 years ago) (f)
He should be sentenced immediately. He is guilty of the crime and that's all. How can a young man with a bright future decide to detonate a bomb on US Soil, sacrificing his life together
Posted: at 12-07-2011 10:30 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac