Nigerians and interracial relationships (Page 2)

Date: 07-09-2011 10:36 am (12 years ago) | Author: Omo
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 10
- giftmurphy at 7-09-2011 07:57 PM (12 years ago)
so?
Posted: at 7-09-2011 07:57 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- trolling at 7-09-2011 08:08 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: giftmurphy on  7-09-2011 07:57 PM
so?
its above yr head and glasses  Shocked , yu wont be able to unravel it  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-09-2011 08:08 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Brnsugarbabe37 at 7-09-2011 09:34 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: repnigeria on  7-09-2011 11:37 AM
There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail as if their marriages are the cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.
SWEETIE U R SO RITE, FINALLY A GOOD POST!!
Posted: at 7-09-2011 09:34 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Brnsugarbabe37 at 7-09-2011 09:38 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  7-09-2011 01:16 PM
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 11:23 AM
i will never allowed my sons to marry an akata woman or women...reasons because they lack respect and are not well trained.also,they don't know the basic knowledge of what marriage is ;Dmarriage to dem is define as divorce or child support.additionally,is just between them both no family or families .but in nigeria,as a nigera woman or man...you are will taught what marriage is,not just you and your hubby but your family and your husband family.what i  meant is that,when a naija woman get married...she know that she is not only married to her  husband but also all her hhusband families..and she will treats  dem like she will treats her own family...however,marriage in nigeria is between two families..they but come together as one and when there is problem in that marriage they both also come together to solve the problem ...and they are not in support of divorce.meanwhile,no matter how nigeria man/woman is educated he/shestill carry on the tradition...he/she still practice it...its already built in us that  cannot leave.a naija man need a woman who can prepare that delicious egusi soup with correct pounded yam....not a woman that will prepare or what for her man to come back from work and say honey let order mcdonalds...hope i answer you tho.

My dear, pls do u tink Nigerians or Africans or the only ones who get gud
home training??! Beliv wetin i tell u, i don see many Nigerians who act like bastards too, no knowledge
no hometraining, nottin!
Please we have many 'white ppl' who had a GREAT hometraining, and they know the meaning of marriage.
We also hav ppl who are in marriage for over 40 years.

FLY U R SO RITE AS WELL!!! @HOPEA23 SWEETIE GO N DO YUR RESESCH NOT IN BLACK AND WHITE BUT IN REALITY, BECAUSE THE WAY U THINK IS NOT AT ALL!!! QUESTION FOR U, R U IN THE STATES, NIGERIANS DIVORCE RATE IS JUST AS HIGH SO WAT IS THE PROBLEM THERE!!
Posted: at 7-09-2011 09:38 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wandepope at 7-09-2011 09:51 PM (12 years ago)
hmmmm....personally if i decide to marry,she has to be NIGERIAN because my definition i have seen only in NIGEERIAn women  (maybe its because  havent gone to check in the white mans land).
Posted: at 7-09-2011 09:51 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- repnigeria at 7-09-2011 10:08 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sobeit on  7-09-2011 03:32 PM
There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail marriages are cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.

you are blaming Hopea23 of being "stereotyping" while u are actually doing the same.u can see it from the highlighted words.the fact is that not everyone see it that way and besides interracial relationships/marriage faces prejudice and discrimination all over the world, no society or country is immune from it.As long as i'm concern there is absolutely no significant difference that distinguish one racial group from another.all racial group got it own uniqueness..it's all comes down to preference and what you want cuz interracial relationship isn't made for weaklings,narrow minded and shallow people, but for those that are strong enough to embrace and acknowledge the cultural differences. 

Then that was a wrong choice of words on my part.  The word that was missing from those sentences is most.  I wouldn't say some, because a majority of us have that superiority complex.  So yes, most nigerians have a false sense of racial and cultural superiority.  In fact I have yet to meet one who doesn't think the sun shines out their behind.  Just stating what I've observed.

Posted: at 7-09-2011 10:08 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- donspirado88 at 8-09-2011 02:13 AM (12 years ago)
Yes! Why people shouldn't be proud or brag about their culture.? Of course! Nigeria culture & style is da best and thats all. Go praise your own.... Let people think, say or choose whatever or whoever they like. Its a free world! Naija da best!!!! Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-09-2011 02:13 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 8-09-2011 03:09 AM (12 years ago)
i did my research already/...and not going back...is up to you if you agree with my comment or disgree...

Posted: at 8-09-2011 03:09 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PHINO at 8-09-2011 04:08 AM (12 years ago)
I WILL COME BACK TO READ IT,SO DAMN LONG AND AM FEELING SLEEPY
Posted: at 8-09-2011 04:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tayewo12 at 8-09-2011 06:33 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sobeit on  7-09-2011 03:32 PM
There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail marriages are cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.

you are blaming Hopea23 of being "stereotyping" while u are actually doing the same.u can see it from the highlighted words.the fact is that not everyone see it that way and besides interracial relationships/marriage faces prejudice and discrimination all over the world, no society or country is immune from it.As long as i'm concern there is absolutely no significant difference that distinguish one racial group from another.all racial group got it own uniqueness..it's all comes down to preference and what you want cuz interracial relationship isn't made for weaklings,narrow minded and shallow people, but for those that are strong enough to embrace and acknowledge the cultural differences. 

I agree with that. Someone's rat is someone's else pet and can be someone else's bush meat!
Posted: at 8-09-2011 06:33 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngeri1 at 8-09-2011 06:43 AM (12 years ago)
Many people halt progression and remain stagnant by abiding by some backwards traditional nonsense that isn't even productive really. I have been blessed with a family (well those that I actually care about their opinions and hold in extremely high regard at least) that holds an open mind and really only cares about my happiness. They (really my mother and sister) trust my judgment and are only after what I consider suitable for myself. I have very high standards for myself and their standards for me are even higher which I just love.

It's been my personal experience that my African American brother in law is the best father figure in my life over all Nigerian males that I interact with (father, uncles and such). Those that make those silly generalizations are very simple minded. There is a preference for the male gender regardless of what many of them actually have to offer, tangible or intangible. It's so backwards and twisted but I am just grateful that none of that applies to my lifestyle.
Posted: at 8-09-2011 06:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngeri1 at 8-09-2011 06:50 AM (12 years ago)
You've raised very important and valid points. I love your train of thought. Lots of work to be done indeed. I have family friends who are miserable, have no idea what true love is and live in toleration just because of a tradition that shuns divorce or put them together for familial satisfaction in the first place. I know Nigerian men that beat their wives senseless and they are forced to endure it because of the same culture. I also know men that cheat like there is no tomorrow and feel it's acceptable because there is a culture to support it. That generalization or use of terminology to demean others is just part of that simple minded, narrow way of thinking that I'd referenced before. But as you've referenced, there is a lottttttttt of work to be done. I mean, look at the condition of Nigeria as a whole...all systems are intertwined, the social, the political, the economical...all overlap. Lots of work, period.

There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail as if their marriages are the cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.
Posted: at 8-09-2011 06:50 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- PHINO at 8-09-2011 09:47 AM (12 years ago)
HEY REPNIGERIA I DONT KNOW IF AMERICA HAS INFECTED YOU WITH THEIR 'I DONT CARE CULTURE',YOU SAY THAT YOU DONT LIKE THE WORD 'AKATA'
MAYBE YOU WERE BORN THERE OR YOU WENT THERE A LONG TIME.ALL I WANT TO SAY IS THAT NIGERIA RESPECTS PEOPLE AND MARRIAGE.WHEN THERE IS PROBLEM IN MARRIAGE ITS A DIFFERENT ISSUE BUT WE RESPECT MARRIAGE AND NO MATTER AND NO MATTER HOW FUNNY YOU THINK I STILL RESPECT NIGERIAN MARRIAGE BECAUSE WHEN A MAN HAS PROBLEM WITH HIS WIFE BOTH FAMILIES COMES TO PUT THEM BACK IN TRACK BUT THE WESTERN PEOPLE WILL CONCLUDE IT WITH DIVORCE BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE ITS NOT WORKING ANYMORE.THEY ABUSE MARRIAGE AND THATS WHY THEY BRING IN ALL ABOMINABLE PRACTICES LIKE HOMOsegxwalITY AND Lesbianism.
IAM NOT IN NIGERIA AND I MUST GET MARRIED TO A NIGERIAN WOMAN WHEN EVER AM READY FOR MARRIAGE

Posted: at 8-09-2011 09:47 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bantino at 8-09-2011 09:55 AM (12 years ago)
Its like the poster is in love with a man of another race and his family is stopping her from the relationship/marriage.
Posted: at 8-09-2011 09:55 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- moneyinbrakemi at 8-09-2011 10:07 AM (12 years ago)
that na their own headache
Posted: at 8-09-2011 10:07 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- donrubybaby at 8-09-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 02:01 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  7-09-2011 01:46 PM
Ofcourse u get gud/bad ppl all ova d globe...
And i understand why Hope talk like dat cos many white no dey see how important marriage is, but not ALL!

thank for seeing that...and i hope you remain my in-law for life...sup?
i would really love to be your in-law too
Posted: at 8-09-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- olakelvin at 8-09-2011 10:19 AM (12 years ago)
I will never advice Nigerians to marry  non Nigerian ( white ) . Because i've done it before (married oyinbo ) but i will never do it again bcos is not worth it and is not gonna work out . About 80% of our Nigerians people  here (Australia)that married white never last and they end up divorce and paying child support  and white woman end up take everything that belong to them . Because only favour women. So i've learn my lesson now and i'm now appreciate  our Nigerian girls  and we Nigerians know how to resolve problems  between ouselves. So i will advice everyone not to try it bcos is not gonna work out.
Posted: at 8-09-2011 10:19 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- DHash at 8-09-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago)
Passing
Posted: at 8-09-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- queenrukky at 8-09-2011 10:55 AM (12 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 8-09-2011 10:55 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- malvin2525 at 8-09-2011 11:05 AM (12 years ago)

_____________$$$$$$$$$
____________$$$$$$$$$$$
_____________$$$$$$$$$
_____$$$$$$_____$$$$$$$$$$
____$$$$$$$$__$$$$$$_____$$$
___$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$_________$
___$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$______$__$
___$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$_____$$$_$
___$$$$$$$$$$$__________$$$_$_____$$
____$$$$$$$$$____________$$_$$$$_$$$$
______$$$__$$__$$$______________$$$$
___________$$____$_______________$
____________$$____$______________$
_____________$$___$$$__________$$
_______________$$$_$$$$$$_$$$$$
________________$$____$$_$$$$$
_______________$$$$$___$$$$$$$$$$
_______________$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
_______________$$_$$$$$$$$$$$$$$__$$
_______________$$__$$$$$$$$$$$___$_$
______________$$$__$___$$$______$$$$
______________$$$_$__________$$_$$$$
______________$$$$$_________$$$$_$_$
_______________$$$$__________$$$__$$
_____$$$$_________$________________$
___$$$___$$______$$$_____________$$
__$___$$__$$_____$__$$$_____$$__$$
_$$____$___$_______$$$$$$$$$$$$$
_$$_____$___$_____$$$$$_$$___$$$
_$$_____$___$___$$$$____$____$$
__$_____$$__$$$$$$$____$$_$$$$$
__$$_____$___$_$$_____$__$__$$$$$$$$$$$$
___$_____$$__$_$_____$_$$$__$$__$______$$$
____$$_________$___$$_$___$$__$$_________$
_____$$_$$$$___$__$$__$__________________$
______$$____$__$$$____$__________________$
_______$____$__$_______$$______________$$
_______$$$$_$$$_________$$$$$$$__$$$$$$
__________$$$_________________$$$$$
Posted: at 8-09-2011 11:05 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 10

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

3. Anyim Vera Offered All-Expense-Paid Vacation At 5-star Hotel In PH Following Public Humilation

4. Blessing CEO Reveals Reasons Why Women Cheat In Marriage

5. Police Launch Manhunt For Abiola's Widow For Allegedly Sponsoring Yoruba Nation Agitator Attack

6. Nigerian Soldier, Sani Yahaya Goes Wild In Enugu, Stabs Colleague In The Head With Dagger

7. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

8. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

9. Video Of A Student And His Teacher Engaging In Heated Argument Sparks Outrage

10. VIDEO: Adorable Moment Man Proposes Marriage To Lover On A Plane

11. Pete Edochie Reveals How Nnamdi Azikiwe Taught Him How to Handle Female Fans

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

13. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

14. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

15. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

16. A'Ibom Court Orders Arrest Of Man Who Abandons Wife, 2Yr Old Daughter In The Village To Live

17. VID: BBN Sheggz Reveals The ‘Crazy’ Thing He Can Do For His Woman If He Offends Her

18. Panic As Fire Razes University Of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Destroys Drugs, Equipment

19. BREAKING: Suspected Terrorists Kill Ruling PDP Secretary, Musa Ille In Zamfara

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video