SUPER Eagles' coach, Samson Siasia, says Chelsea midfielder, Mikel Obi has been punished enough by Argentine star, Lionel Messi as Argentina beat Nigeria 3-1 in Dhaka, Bangladesh last Tuesday.
Mikel gifted Messi the ball with which the FIFA World Footballer of The Year ran rings around the Eagles' defence which resulted in Argentina's second goal.
''To do that against Messi is killing, he should have listened to his teammates who were calling for the ball, if Mikel watched the video tape of the match, he would know that he had many options upfront where he could have released the ball. It's a hard lesson for him and I believe he has learnt indeed.''
Siasia also said Mikel shouldered the responsibility of the day's captain in the game.
''He coped and I'm sure it was a big test for him,'' Siasia.
Source: Tribune
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 10-09-2011 07:01 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
godwindave at 10-09-2011 08:21 PM (13 years ago) (m)
'we don hear am' lol
The Rapture is here... Are U ready 4 His return? Make peace with Ur maker
Posted: at 10-09-2011 08:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
LeoRoberts at 11-09-2011 01:24 AM (13 years ago) (m)
bcoz mikel 4up na..em.. dey 1 blame d loss put 4 e head, when d game de go on why mikel foolish teammates nor false d ball out of d his leg, dey are all nuisance: d coach, d players, and even d backup team. They shd knw dat playing futbol is nt by kicking d ball alone, it is by having d spirit of playing a g8 game using d leg as its tools. Dis na jst warning Argentina give Super Eagles, d nxt 4up go make NFF sack evrybodi 4 d team. d nxt 4up go make NFF sack evrybodi 4 d team.
Posted: at 11-09-2011 01:24 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
owenosky at 11-09-2011 01:09 PM (13 years ago) (m)
Will mike learn from his mistake? that's the BIG question, Mikel is too sluggish for real...But then, Obi's mistake was not the only problem we had, what about the other GOALS.....mehnn!! we have to accept the truth we DO NOT HAVE A FOOTBALL TEAM YET.......Lets hope Siasia will Build a good team. like Clement (the Dutchman) did back in the daysssss!!
Posted: at 11-09-2011 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
cyril4christ at 11-09-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago) (m)
Quote from: ajanni on 10-09-2011 10:50 PM
then you stop fielding him if he is no longer a responsible player
and he should start fielding tijani babangida right? make una free the guy jor, bc i know some of u guys can not even trap a ball talk of playing 90mins in the field
Posted: at 11-09-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac