Ojukwu Is Not A National Hero In Nigeria - Senate

Date: 02-12-2011 10:21 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 45
- at 2-12-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
THE Senate, on Thursday, opposed a proposal for state burial for the late Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, arguing that the former  Biafran leader did not fall in the category of those who should be so honoured.

They, however, advised the South-East governors to come together and give him a befitting burial.

While paying glowing tribute to the former Biafran warlord, the Senate urged the Federal Government to immortalise him by naming a prominent establishment after him.

It also observed a minute silence in his honour and agreed to send a delegation to commiserate with his family, the people and government of Anambra State.

A motion moved by Senator Andy Uba and 50 others had noted that Ojukwu was  a source of pride for those who had the opportunity to know him, as he stood tall against elements of injustice, segregation and oppression.

He disclosed that after Biafra,“his efforts helped to lay the foundation for national integration, equality and equity, championing Nigeria as one indivisible unit true to the words in our National Anthem.”

According to him, “Ojukwu seceded South-Eastern Nigeria from the rest of the country  and proclaimed the area a sovereign state with the name Republic of Biafra, on January 9, 1970” before running away from Nigeria.

Uba informed that he was granted  a full state pardon by the Shehu Shagari civilian administration and returned to the country in 1982, noting that “as an astute politician, he joined the National Party of Nigeria (NPN) and was a member of the 1995 Constitutional Conference that midwived the fourth republic.”

Thereafter, members in turn eulogised him.  Senator Uche Chukwumerije, who worked with him closely, described his death as the end of an era and the beginning of another one, adding that Ojukwu as a soldier was courageous and fearless.

According to him, he was  a soldier who later became a democrat, fearless, a great man, patriotic, loved by his people. “Definitely, Lagos would miss him and Nigeria would equally miss him.”

Senator Abdul Ningi, in his contribution, said Ojukwu was brought up with silver spoon but decided on his own to associate with the underprivileged and  through that he had committed suicide on his own.

He said when “he came back from Cote d’ Ivoire, he informed  that he would still fight again, but for the unity of Nigeria. He died a nationalist and as an Igbo leader.”

Senator Smart Adeyemi described him as a courageous and intelligent person with strong strength of character, narrating that “when we were young in the village, anytime we heard about Ojukwu, we thought he was a spirit, because of his courage and intelligence. He was destined to sacrifice for the greatness of the country.”

The Senate president, Mr David Mark, after the debate, described him as a great Nigerian, noting that when he joined the Nigerian Army, “it was only great patriots that could join and they were very few in view of his educational attainment and very few of them are alive today.”

According to him, “when you have a nationalist with radical and revolutionary idea, then Nigerians should see his positive side rather than the other side. You cannot mention Ojukwu without mentioning  Gowon, Adebayo and Hassan Katsina.

“People who worked with him learnt  a lot from him and some of the disagreement was based on his principle. History would be kind to him,” he said.

Posted: at 2-12-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kayustic at 2-12-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago)
Let the elder decide. LMAO  Shocked Huh? Huh? Huh? Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 2-12-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 2-12-2011 10:55 AM (12 years ago)
What the hell is wrong with these INYAMIRIS that they think a pardoned war criminal like OJ deserves national burial?

There are very few important points to take not of>>>>>>>>

Quote from: nametalkam on  2-12-2011 10:21 AM

He disclosed that after Biafra,“his efforts helped to lay the foundation for national integration, equality and equity, championing Nigeria as one indivisible unit true to the words in our National Anthem.”

So funny>>>>>>>>>>How?

According to him, “Ojukwu seceded South-Eastern Nigeria from the rest of the country  and proclaimed the area a sovereign state with the name Republic of Biafra, on January 9, 1970” before running away from Nigeria.

....and he still deserve national burial! I cannot stop laughing>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Uba informed that he was granted  a full state pardon by the Shehu Shagari civilian administration and returned to the country in 1982, noting that “as an astute politician, he joined the National Party of Nigeria (NPN) and was a member of the 1995 Constitutional Conference that midwived the fourth republic.”

Aboki don try here for saving OJ's ass. Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Thereafter, members in turn eulogised him.  Senator Uche Chukwumerije, who worked with him closely, described his death as the end of an era and the beginning of another one, adding that Ojukwu as a soldier was courageous and fearless.

I believe him.

ANY WAY, RIP PAPA DIM :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Posted: at 2-12-2011 10:55 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- conakry at 2-12-2011 10:56 AM (12 years ago)
Failure is an orphan............were Ojukwu made Biafra to be a reality, will Nigerian Senate be in existence?
Posted: at 2-12-2011 10:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 2-12-2011 11:08 AM (12 years ago)
Let them carry dia power on dia heads and go away.  Corrupt things.  Ojukwu is gone for good, they dont know weda their own deads will be talked about at all in dia immediate families talkless of the public
Posted: at 2-12-2011 11:08 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Seanbarnabas at 2-12-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  2-12-2011 10:55 AM
What the hell is wrong with these INYAMIRIS that they think a pardoned war criminal like OJ deserves national burial?

So funny>>>>>>>>>>How?

....and he still deserve national burial! I cannot stop laughing>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I believe him.

Pls what the latest news about the killing of innocent people in the north. how many people where kill since monday? i'm very far i can't follow up the news how many soul did you and the Boko's don kill???
Posted: at 2-12-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- solid_solid at 2-12-2011 11:20 AM (12 years ago)
cadanre ur just intimidated by just the name
Posted: at 2-12-2011 11:20 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dogodajiabuja at 2-12-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago)
when atiku dies, he will be remembered for introducing homosegxwality in the nigerian society
and babangida and all the emirs will be remembered for boko haram
the order one will be remembered for marrying 13 year old Egyptian
cadanre and ajani will be remembered for for sleeping in the same room with rams, goats and cows
and they will all meet thier ugly bitch 77 virgins who will phyuk their brains off!
Posted: at 2-12-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dourthing at 2-12-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago)
Baba Rest in peace na MAN you be God will always be grateful for all you did for this country and the Igbos at large, i sorry for  all of you
that has put Nigeria is this position, We go give una  state burial to hell fire.
Posted: at 2-12-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 2-12-2011 12:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Seanbarnabas on  2-12-2011 11:18 AM
Pls what the latest news about the killing of innocent people in the north. how many people where kill since monday? i'm very far i can't follow up the news how many soul did you and the Boko's don kill???
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 2-12-2011 12:03 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dukkieson at 2-12-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago)

So funny>>>>>>>>>>How?

I believe him.

Lol  Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 2-12-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DHash at 2-12-2011 12:15 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on  2-12-2011 11:37 AM
when atiku dies, he will be remembered for introducing homosegxwality in the nigerian society
and babangida and all the emirs will be remembered for boko haram
the order one will be remembered for marrying 13 year old Egyptian
cadanre and ajani will be remembered for for sleeping in the same room with rams, goats and cows
and they will all meet thier ugly bitch 77 virgins who will fcuk their brains off!

THE WAY OJ S REMEMBERED AS A NATIONAL WAR CRIMINAL ( DON'T FORGET THAT WITHOUT THE HELP OF HAUSA'S HE WILL STILL BE FAR AWAY AND BE BURIED LIKE A CHICKEN) [WELL DONE SHAGARI FOR GIVING THAT CRIMINAL A CHANCE TO COME BACK AND DIE IN NAIJA]
Posted: at 2-12-2011 12:15 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ngeboju at 2-12-2011 12:30 PM (12 years ago)
I know there is consequence for betrayal! Remember when the Mid-West kill their Leutenants  General, Hausa killed their own, IGBO INFORM THEIR PEOPLE TO HIDE. ALSO OJUKWU ESCAPE THE SCENE OF WAR AND SOLACED IN COTE'D VOIRE leaving the fools to die. Now where did he become a Hero/warlord? Imo state should bury him that's all. In the issue lincking to Civil war in Nigeria Ojukwu and Ken saro Wiwa are not worth given state burial. read your history.
Posted: at 2-12-2011 12:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MacDaniel at 2-12-2011 01:11 PM (12 years ago)
HE ACHIEVED MORE THAN THE SENATE HAS ACHIEVED IN THEIR BLOODY EXISTENCE.....LET EM SCREW THEMSELVES..
Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:11 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goddilo at 2-12-2011 01:26 PM (12 years ago)
Elders would say " speak no evil of the dead " . whatever might be your stand remember that tomorrow remains unknown to us all and be mindful that justice denied in any part of the nation is injustice to all parts.
Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:26 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ugochuks at 2-12-2011 01:31 PM (12 years ago)

So funny>>>>>>>>>>How?

I believe him.

Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugochuks at 2-12-2011 01:40 PM (12 years ago)
this site is not for rag headed fools, run back to ur cave all u mountain dwelling donkies and dine with ur rams, u will continue to shiver and tremble whenever u hear inyamiri as u call it, CANDRE or whatever u re called, go ask ur useless uncircumsized father cuz im sure he still run for cover whenever that name is mentioned,DIM CHUKWU EMEKA ODUMEGWU OJUKWU.. U camel riding ram sucking mountain muther phyuking creatures!!

Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:40 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ak33m at 2-12-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago)
all the hausa's(thieves in gov.) has failed this country with less/more of riduclious effort to the development of this nation. from their so called Emir's to the almajiris on the street. seriousely. their's no news to my claim cos is the past and recent vudooe is obviouse and self explainatory. an average baushe! lives in penury an abject poverty to perouse with. if you take a trip to the north you will ill qoute me reagree with me. crime rate is on a high projected scene. I lived there all my life so don't ask me who told me. they re all DAN ISKA, DAN SHA SHA SHA. MA SUN CODIENE, DEY WIE WIE
Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ak33m at 2-12-2011 01:49 PM (12 years ago)
all my ibo friends make ina go bury in own.
celebrate him, he died as a veteran and should be honoured
as a warlord. don't mind dos hausa politicians, dem no get head
Posted: at 2-12-2011 01:49 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 2-12-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Seanbarnabas on  2-12-2011 11:18 AM

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Laugh wan Pull ma Skirt oooo
Posted: at 2-12-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 45