Nollywood Actor Jim Iyke Begs Judge To Settle Out Of Court In N15m Share Scam

Date: 18-03-2012 7:10 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Central Investigative Agency
- at 18-03-2012 07:10 PM (12 years ago)
Popular Nollywood actor, James Ikechukwu Esomugha, a.k.a Jim Iyke, who is facing trial over his alleged involvement in a N15 million share scam, has begged a Chief Magistrate Court in Abuja to allow him to settle the case out of court.

The controversial actor, who often plays bad boy role in movies, is answering to a one count criminal charge preferred against him by the Nigerian Police Force.

He was specifically charged with criminal breach of trust, criminal force, assault, cheating and criminal misappropriation contrary to sections 312, 265, 322, 397 and 309 of the Penal Code.

Police alleged that he used fraudulent tactics and acquired 15 per cent equity shares of a music company, Untamed Records Ltd.

The prosecuting counsel, Mr Chijoke Okezie, told the court that investigation into the case revealed that the accused, a resident of Sunnyville Estate, Abuja, hoodwinked one Habiba Abubakar into granting him access to share documents of the recording company.

He said police was invited into the case after Abubakar who is the manager of the company, discovered that 15 per cent of its equity shares was transferred to Jim Iyke.

Trial Magistrate Azubike Okeagu had on November 11, 2011, granted him bail in the sum of N500, 000, after he pleaded not guilty to the charge and brought two sureties before the court.

Meanwhile, following his absence in court on Tuesday, Police applied that a bench warrant be issued against him, a move that has prompted the actor to seek an amicable resolution of the matter out of court.

In an oral application he tendered through his counsel, Mrs Esther Uzoma, Jim Iyke, who told the court that he was mobbed in Cameroun when he went for a video shoot, said his inability to appear for trial was owing to the fact that he was receiving treatment at Cidar Press Hospital in Abuja.

“Your  worship, I wish to bring to your notice that my client, James  Ikechukwu Esomugha, known as Jim Iyke, is presently in hospital, as it stands presently, he is not fit to stand his trial as the constitution requires, if this court is doubting me, I can quickly rush to the hospital to get a medical report or better still, the court can investigate the matter by itself.

“He was mobbed in Cameroun when he went for a video shoot last week, moreover, both parties are making efforts to reconcile the case out of court”, she added.

Not satisfied with the explanation, Police lawyer, Inspector Danjuma Ebune, described it as a deliberate ploy to frustrate the trial.

The prosecution said he had produced three witnesses to testify against the accused person, insisting that police was not ready to settle the case out of court.

Consequently, Magistrate Okeagu ordered the accused to ensure that he is in court on April 17 when the case was subsequently adjourned to, or risk arrest.

Meantime, Saturday Vanguard can exclusively report that in his bid to settle the case out of court, the embattled actor has tendered a written apology to the manager of the company who he was said to have beaten up.

A copy of the letter which was made available to Vanguard by his lawyer, Mrs Esther, reads: “I Jim Iyke Esomugha sincerely apologize to Hajia Habiba Abubakar, her family and my family; the Esomugha family for the pain and embarrassment the court case and ensuing publications in the press may have caused her, her family and my family.

“Hajia Habiba Abubakar is a good friend of my family and a business associate and our families have agreed to settle all lingering issues out of court.”

Posted: at 18-03-2012 07:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- summy4ever at 18-03-2012 09:16 PM (12 years ago)
if u are nt guilty, why out of the court settlement?
Posted: at 18-03-2012 09:16 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugotonder at 18-03-2012 09:24 PM (12 years ago)
BT Y MY GUY  JIM
Posted: at 18-03-2012 09:24 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ebonyz at 18-03-2012 09:42 PM (12 years ago)
Na WA oh
Posted: at 18-03-2012 09:42 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- purityjustice at 18-03-2012 09:46 PM (12 years ago)
so na true badt jim..... i pity sha
Posted: at 18-03-2012 09:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ebiskey at 18-03-2012 09:55 PM (12 years ago)
Hand falling to his fans, family n friends bt Jim why??
Posted: at 18-03-2012 09:55 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sexisgood at 18-03-2012 10:02 PM (12 years ago)
jimmy jimmy.. dem no know say u be guy man..
Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:02 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- otagermo at 18-03-2012 10:08 PM (12 years ago)
is better than for the alhaji to use the money to sponsor boko haram....jim....we need to talk....i must go and take my own shear.....
Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:08 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- open_reality at 18-03-2012 10:11 PM (12 years ago)
Apology my foot! When you choose to be violent, be strong enough to face the consequences. If this is true as reported, i'll love to see him sentenced to jail. The only person we've not heard he's beaten up is his mum. Rude boy!

Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:11 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- johehizogie at 18-03-2012 10:18 PM (12 years ago)
Oboy jim go pay for your phyukup
Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- onlyGodknows at 18-03-2012 10:36 PM (12 years ago)
I don hear
Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:36 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 18-03-2012 10:39 PM (12 years ago)
That is a guilty gesture. O boy, pay up fast......

Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:39 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Simon-Zeletus at 18-03-2012 10:42 PM (12 years ago)
Mugu full guy man shop-up
Posted: at 18-03-2012 10:42 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gastro at 18-03-2012 11:38 PM (12 years ago)
Guy pls better pay the money back with interest ,dont go into what you can not handle .bullcrap

Posted: at 18-03-2012 11:38 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bantino at 18-03-2012 11:43 PM (12 years ago)
Na wah for our celebrities ooooo
Posted: at 18-03-2012 11:43 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- wilat at 19-03-2012 12:12 AM (12 years ago)
As money no too dey acting again,most of them now result to fraud and drug peddling which in turn tarnish their image. Gof help us for naija o,to dey rich na by force?

Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:12 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wilat at 19-03-2012 12:14 AM (12 years ago)
As money no too dey acting again,most of them now result to fraud and drug peddling which in turn tarnish their image. God help us for naija o,to dey rich na by force? Roll Eyes

Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:14 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malvin2525 at 19-03-2012 12:22 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:22 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 19-03-2012 12:25 AM (12 years ago)
So it 's true Huh?
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:25 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- toibeli at 19-03-2012 12:34 AM (12 years ago)
You are a big boy ,hold your head up high, and take care of your business Cool
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:34 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac