Should "Ability To Cook" Be A Prerequisite For Marrying A Lady? (Page 5)

Date: 05-04-2009 8:18 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Cephas Ogana
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9
- rbest at 15-04-2009 03:27 PM (15 years ago)
u be correct babe
Posted: at 15-04-2009 03:27 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nllystar4eva at 15-04-2009 03:46 PM (15 years ago)
I de think dat cooking is good for women, and they should learn cooking from a young age.
Posted: at 15-04-2009 03:46 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- QuinnMaeback at 15-04-2009 04:04 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: methodman on 15-04-2009 10:21 AM
Quote from: omatu on 15-04-2009 05:05 AM
Quote from: elusakin on 15-04-2009 03:53 AM
Who should cook if she doesn't know how to cook? Look, a man can own a kitchen in all those oyinbo country, but in Naija, in Africa....that's the only place in the house where a woman has 100% authority.

Maybe you guys think that a statement OL'OBE LOL'OKO (A GOOD COOK OWNS THE HUSBAND) is not true. I also hear that THE ONLY WAY TO A MAN'S HEART IS THROUGH THE MOUTH.

Women: If you don't know how to cook, you'd better go learn it now.

And come to think of it, if a woman knows how to cook, then she must have learnt some manners too. So it's hard to see a good cook with bad characters.
I have a male cousin that is now married.  His wife is from Nigeria and my cousin is from Nigeria.  They still live in Nigeria.  The husband is the one that does all the cooking because he cooks better than his wife.  It works very well for them.  They opened a restaurant and the husband is the cook also in their business.

Life is changing.  It has nothing to do with foreign countries and foreign behaviour.  Whatever that works best for a couple is what they should implement for themselves regardless of what other people are saying or advising them. 

Men that cook better than women should be proud of themselves and there is nothing about men knowing how to cook that makes them less of a man.

My husband was from Nigeria and he knew how to cook better than myself and he taught me.

I have countless male relatives that cook for their wives or have taught their wives how to cook.  Both partners should endeavour to learn how to cook.

We take a vow that states in sickness and in health during marriage.  The man should know how to cook should his wife get sick and the wife should learn how to cook should the husband get sick also.

Share the cooking with one another, wash dishes together, clean house together, pray together, etc.  Doing things together are all part of spending time together.  The bedroom is not the only sharing place.  If you love me, help me around the house.  You make the mess also.

Sister,

Wat if the lady is the spoilt/lazy type who feels her fingers are 2 precious 2 touch an onion...?

I knw of many ladies who'd prefer 2 invite friends 2 help them cook,with the excuse that "I jst fixed my nails" e.t.c

Also,some ladies prefer to cook once in 2 weeks & store in the fridge.....could such food (e.g soup) still be delicious...?not 2 even question the nutritive depletion.

We should encourage young ladies to learn while they're still with their parents,rather than waiting 4 the uncultural intervention of a "cook book".

Thx.

Onions makes a person cry and some are allergic to onions.  If the husband does not suffer such maladies, he should help in the cutting of the onions.

If a lady has friends willing to help her in preparing foods because she just had her nails done, good for her, just advise her to put on gloves next time and cook her food.

You can store soup in the freezer and take them out and defrost the night or the same day and warm it up and it is still fresh and all nutrients still remains in the cooked soup.

Parents should teach both boys and girls how to cook and not relegate the cooking chores only to the girls.

There is nothing wrong with cookbooks.  Nigerians should be proud of their dishes and delicacies, they should endevor to put their dishes into a cookbook.  Nigerians marry girls from abroad and girls that do not know how to prepare Nigerian dishes should have the ability to learn how to prepare many dishes from cookbooks from Nigeria if they so desire.

There are no set rules when it comes to parenting.  Nobody knows whom their children will marry.  You can teach a Nigerian girl how to cook Nigerian foods, but at the end she ends up falling in love with a white man or Chinese man, she still has to learn how to cook from the culture she married into.  The same rule will apply to the man also who marries a girl that is not Nigerian.

A Nigerian girl could fall in love with another ethnic group from Nigeria.  We all cook differently from Nigeria itself.  A Yoruba family will very likely cook different things from a Hausa family and if those children fall in love, cooking has to be re-learned.

We need to have an open mind.  We need to stop being so rigid and allow our culture and traditions to grow even within Nigeria itself.
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:04 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- bolabak at 15-04-2009 04:22 PM (15 years ago)
I think it should be part of the prerequisites.A lady who want her hubby 100% luv,shuld now how to cook perfectly.

Aside the traditional stuff,how can a lady be without cooking ability?as in good,hygenical way of preparing quality food for her beloved husband.If she lack this,am sorry she will loose her hubby to other person.
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:22 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 15-04-2009 04:27 PM (15 years ago)
nnam biko gba ha okwu n'igwe
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:27 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- QuinnMaeback at 15-04-2009 04:30 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Brasca on 15-04-2009 11:39 AM
Hey guys lets get serious here. Is it actually food a man would require in a woman in other to put her in his house? (hell no). Our mother used to tell their daughters in the good old days that, "the secret to a man's heart is in the belly but, i bring yoou good news today and counter that saying  because the word as we all know has gone global so also demands have followed suit.
Any man who would marry a woman all because she is a good cook must be a glutton. Does that mean that, men would no longer get married all because, they miss their mother's magical touch in their bellies?
Lets get personal now the secret to a man's heart nowadays is actually below the belly (if you know what i mean there).
This days men have been really useful in the kitchen and according to research, the best cooks or chefs are actually men. Should a man starve himself all because his wife is not back from work? People of God...... wots your say?

You are young but you are filled with wisdom. 
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:30 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- QuinnMaeback at 15-04-2009 04:34 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: rbest on 15-04-2009 02:41 PM
nwa nnaaa, odi gi na aru

LOL
true true
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:34 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- QuinnMaeback at 15-04-2009 04:37 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: rbest on 15-04-2009 04:27 PM
nnam biko gba ha okwu n'igwe

Why?
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:37 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- rbest at 15-04-2009 04:44 PM (15 years ago)
Nne, am hearing dat for the first time, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:44 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kellis at 15-04-2009 04:50 PM (15 years ago)
all the men that cheat outside,wat makes you think its cos their wives cannot cook,so i disagree with the point that if a woman cannot cook her husband goes outside.before you get married you must love the person and one of the qualities of love is compromising.so if you married a lady that cannot cook because she loves you she will definately learn how to cook,and you on the oder hand should be willing to teach her not condem her, afterall you knew she could not cook before you marreid her.
Posted: at 15-04-2009 04:50 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- omatu at 15-04-2009 05:01 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: kellis on 15-04-2009 04:50 PM
all the men that cheat outside,wat makes you think its cos their wives cannot cook,so i disagree with the point that if a woman cannot cook her husband goes outside.before you get married you must love the person and one of the qualities of love is compromising.so if you married a lady that cannot cook because she loves you she will definately learn how to cook,and you on the oder hand should be willing to teach her not condem her, afterall you knew she could not cook before you marreid her.

AMEN
well said.
Posted: at 15-04-2009 05:01 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olajasolawo at 15-04-2009 09:10 PM (15 years ago)
Of course you know it yourself. If your either your elder or younger brother should be married to a lady who doesn't know how to cook, and you visit them one day only to know her fligz, you aren't gonna be sweet with her, even if for anything, it wouldn't be with that. As it is then, you're going to judge your comment by this "should or must he be married to a lady who doesn't know how to cook?"
Posted: at 15-04-2009 09:10 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- methodman at 16-04-2009 06:04 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: olajasolawo on 15-04-2009 09:10 PM
Of course you know it yourself. If your either your elder or younger brother should be married to a lady who doesn't know how to cook, and you visit them one day only to know her fligz, you aren't gonna be sweet with her, even if for anything, it wouldn't be with that. As it is then, you're going to judge your comment by this "should or must he be married to a lady who doesn't know how to cook?"

Abi ooooooooooo!
Posted: at 16-04-2009 06:04 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamescomm at 16-04-2009 10:28 AM (15 years ago)
Yes, girls out there you know how to cook. Every wants to test how his woman is both on bed and food. if you are sweet on bed and your cooking runs his stomarch please go to your mother''s cooking school. For me you must know how to cook at least many niga foods I dont want pas through mama caro's place to buy food before coming home. Sis Beutydava I agree with you sha.

My name na Kalu. I do for mozambique.
Posted: at 16-04-2009 10:28 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- meczytimber at 16-04-2009 10:40 AM (15 years ago)
Yes, it should

Posted: at 16-04-2009 10:40 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rbest at 16-04-2009 12:13 PM (15 years ago)
let the truth be told at all time. that is all. my stomach matters to me soo much ok
Posted: at 16-04-2009 12:13 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackemy05 at 16-04-2009 01:35 PM (15 years ago)
if a woman don't know hw to cook, what else will she use to hold her man?
Posted: at 16-04-2009 01:35 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 16-04-2009 01:43 PM (15 years ago)
ask them for me
Posted: at 16-04-2009 01:43 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Koolangel4real at 16-04-2009 02:28 PM (15 years ago)
Whether she can cook or not should not be a problem for marrying a lady. But the lady in question should be ready to learn how to cook if she doesn't want to lose her man. Most men will not consider it necassary but if by mistake they are given a palatable food prepared by their friend's wife, they will be compelled to eat the same palatable food in their home. Some bad friends will go a long way into deceiving them to look for a girl outside who can cook very well n b4 u know it, he is already in love thinking of how to bring her in. U that doesn't know how to cook will end up been thrown out of ur matrimonial home simply because u were damn sturbborn. Ladies, u better learn how to cook b4 getting married if u must not lose ur man.

Posted: at 16-04-2009 02:28 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 16-04-2009 02:35 PM (15 years ago)
na true talk my dear
Posted: at 16-04-2009 02:35 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

1. Construction of Sokoto-Badagry Coastal Highway Will Commence Soonest - Min. Dave Umahi

2. Court Remands 8 Nigerian Men Accused of Attacking Police Officers in South Africa

3. NDLEA Nabs Man, Yahaya Danjuma While Trying to Export 4,000 Pills of Tramadol 225mg to Italy

4. Woman, Vera Embarrassed By Pastor Enenche, Apologizes For Seeking Accommodation

5. President Tinubu Meets Microsoft Founder Bill Gates In Saudi Arabia

6. Prince Harry And Meghan Markle Set To Visit Nigeria

7. Justin Bieber Sparks Concern After Seen Crying Amid Rumors Of Rift With Wife, Hailey Bieber

8. Emotional Moment Gospel Singer, Moses Bliss Gifts Team With Three New Cars

9. Police Begin Investigation As Gunmen Murder Aiyedatiwa’s Campaign Coordinator

10. 'Surrender To EFCC, Don't Disgrace Us Ex Govs,' -Samuel Ortom Tells Yahaya Bello

11. President Wife, Remi Tinubu Mourn Victims Of Rivers Tanker Fire

12. Police Rescue Two Kidnap Victims In Delta

13. 'This Is The 1st Time I Will Be Celebrating My Birthday Without My Husband'-Mohbad's Wife, Wumi

14. 'If My Name Is Removed From Your Name, You Are Nothing' - Portable Continues Dragging His Wife

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

10. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success