OUCH!!! Fortune Is Constantly Angry With Me – Nollywood Actor, Kanayo O Kanayo

Date: 11-05-2013 12:54 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
- at 11-05-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago)
Kanayo O Kanayo, fondly called KOK by friends and fans speaks with Nigeria Tribune recently on his success story in the movie industry and his new love, politics.

Excerpts:

Can you tell us some of your achievements?

I have received several professional and service awards in Nigeria and abroad including Afro Hollywood Award London 2000, African Actor of the Year 2006, Ambassador Award New York 2009 and Nollywood Award of Excellence.

33 years as an actor, do you feel fulfilled and see your life as a success story worthy of emulation?

This is one area I may not have wanted to comment on. I am constrained for the reasons of evaluation of the years gone by, especially for posterity sake to say that God has been most benevolent to me in terms of my life and talent. If not for artistic and intellectual contentment, I would have left a long time ago. The actor in Nigeria is loved but not respected.

My contemporaries in other disciplines have better stories to tell than I do. My children are expected to go to the best schools, fame has smiled on me, but fortune frowns constantly and threatens my retirement.

What are some of your memorable roles that give you sense of satisfaction and those you really wouldn’t have taken if you had had a choice?

I do not romanticise over passionate roles or dispassionate ideas. Every role represents a gap between a character and its linkage to other characters. But suffice it to say that “Lost Kingdom,” produced by Infinity Merchants in 1999 presented a glimpse of how people graduate from one crime to the other. It was exhilarating to lead one of the largest casts in a Nigerian movie set to achieve that standard of movie production in 1999.

I would not have taken those that did not put Nigeria first, those that lacked social relevance to the labours of our heroes’ pasts, those that had strong dictates from executive producers who only thought about profit and not about creative enterprise.

If you were not an actor, what would you have been doing?

For me, I would have been a lawyer.

Can you tell us about your family?

I am married to Nneka Onyekwere and we have a family of four. A girl and three boys. They all live with me happily in Lagos.

What is your plan for 2015 and which political party would you be considering?

The year 2015 looks far, yet very near. My people will decide. I am in constant touch with my constituency and in regular consultation with the needs, challenges and aspirations of my zone. My membership of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is by choice, political prostitution is not an option to effective representation. The year 2015 is the bridge, when we get to the bridge, we will cross it. We crawl, walk or run, but surely we will cross it.

Posted: at 11-05-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jane4real at 11-05-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago)
ok i see
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- micc at 11-05-2013 01:11 PM (10 years ago)
Ok na until then na
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:11 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 11-05-2013 01:12 PM (10 years ago)
Ok na until then na
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:12 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- I-Don-Come at 11-05-2013 01:16 PM (10 years ago)
Good talk by KOK...not like that IDIOT called BUHARI that says BLOOD will spill come 2015.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:16 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- sokunbi at 11-05-2013 01:22 PM (10 years ago)
Dat was a good answer from a smart guy. Let's leave tomorrow to decide for itself. Wish you the best of lucks, KOK.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:22 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Ademakinwa at 11-05-2013 01:36 PM (10 years ago)
brs iI love ur speech, this is a great one among political aspirand. gud luck
Posted: at 11-05-2013 01:36 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- BlueIxora at 11-05-2013 02:01 PM (10 years ago)
I'm a fan
Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:01 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etibaba at 11-05-2013 02:15 PM (10 years ago)
His life

Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:15 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- katdeluna2 at 11-05-2013 02:17 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: I-Don-Come on 11-05-2013 01:16 PM
Good talk by KOK...not like that IDIOT called BUHARI that says BLOOD will spill come 2015.
dont u knw u ar d bigger fool nd idiot ? When did Buhari say that? Olodo lyk u blabing rubbish. Instead of  u to talk abt dat insignificant Dokubo dat said " there will be war if Goodluck does win come 2015 " u ar here misbehavn. I wonder when pple lyk u will learn to be true to urselves. Ur discriminatn is too much. Y cant u say d truth d way it is.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:17 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 11-05-2013 02:25 PM (10 years ago)
Ok well done but politics is d dirtiest game on earth.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:25 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 11-05-2013 02:39 PM (10 years ago)
i sawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:39 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Yungchill at 11-05-2013 02:53 PM (10 years ago)
All tha best...

Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:53 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- pchinedu20 at 11-05-2013 03:26 PM (10 years ago)
The Man KOK
Posted: at 11-05-2013 03:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Horpsy at 11-05-2013 03:47 PM (10 years ago)
Alright sir!
Posted: at 11-05-2013 03:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 11-05-2013 04:02 PM (10 years ago)
Vroooooooooooooooooooooooooom!!!
Posted: at 11-05-2013 04:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Biafranwar at 11-05-2013 04:09 PM (10 years ago)
Biafran Soldier
Posted: at 11-05-2013 04:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 11-05-2013 04:11 PM (10 years ago)
Good talk,,,,,K.O.K
Posted: at 11-05-2013 04:11 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Lekan22 at 11-05-2013 04:22 PM (10 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 11-05-2013 04:22 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harunakoni at 11-05-2013 04:43 PM (10 years ago)
B4 u tot is eazi abi.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 04:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming