Nigerians in America... (Page 5)

Date: 17-05-2008 8:18 pm (16 years ago) | Author: Ihuoma
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9
- Vixenx at 1-07-2008 04:34 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: jazzy_j on  1-07-2008 01:43 PM
Hello
I believe AMERICA is somewhere in this world. But u guys come back and make we here feel like we've been living in ghetto. C'mon when you take your shoulder too high naijapals bring it down for you. So play equality and the game is even.
One love

huh?Huh?..what are you talking about?..this is exactly the purpose of this topic. You don't know anyone here but yet you're generalizing us. Some ppl feel that way because thats how they expected to be treated and not cuz someone is treating them like that. I don't treat ppl badly unless they come at me in the wrong way first.
Posted: at 1-07-2008 04:34 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fjoeaug at 2-07-2008 12:44 AM (16 years ago)
well, i think wat he was trying to say was dat some Nigerians Americans are not really friendly(feeling actually pumpous) cos they feel they ve got everything but am not like dat. i know ppl like dat but i don't know if they are here in naijapals. Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 2-07-2008 12:44 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ihuoma at 2-07-2008 01:57 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on  1-07-2008 04:34 PM
Quote from: jazzy_j on  1-07-2008 01:43 PM
Hello
I believe AMERICA is somewhere in this world. But u guys come back and make we here feel like we've been living in ghetto. C'mon when you take your shoulder too high naijapals bring it down for you. So play equality and the game is even.
One love

huh?Huh?..what are you talking about?..this is exactly the purpose of this topic. You don't know anyone here but yet you're generalizing us. Some ppl feel that way because thats how they expected to be treated and not cuz someone is treating them like that. I don't treat ppl badly unless they come at me in the wrong way first.

Abi, I thought I was the only one confused when I read it....

Posted: at 2-07-2008 01:57 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- bj5ive2003 at 2-07-2008 05:26 AM (16 years ago)
MAYBE YOU GET BIT IN THE WRONG MANNER
Posted: at 2-07-2008 05:26 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- fjoeaug at 8-07-2008 10:52 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: bj5ive2003 on  2-07-2008 05:26 AM
Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 8-07-2008 10:52 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blkbutterflyboo at 9-07-2008 12:15 AM (16 years ago)
THE DO NOT WANT TO CONSIDER YOU AS NIGERIAN BECAUSE YOU ARE DIFFERENT.
ANYTHING THAT IS DIFFERENT IS NOT APART OF THE STRUGGLE TO THEM.
THEY AUTOMATICALLY ASSUMED THAT YOU ARE IN A BETTER LIVING CONDITION
AND STANDARD THEN THEY ARE AND THAT SUPPOSELY MAKES YOU BETTER IN
THEIR MINDS.  I WOULDN'T TAKE TOO MUCH INTEREST IN THAT.  BECOME
YOU GIFT TO THE WORLD BY BEING THE BEST YOU CAN IN EVERYTHING
WITH YOUR GOD GIVEN GIFT TO BE AN AMERICAN.
Posted: at 9-07-2008 12:15 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 9-07-2008 01:42 AM (16 years ago)
wow thats really good.

Quote from: bj5ive2003 on  2-07-2008 05:26 AM

what are u talking about?
Posted: at 9-07-2008 01:42 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Richiemontana at 20-07-2008 04:19 AM (16 years ago)
@Ihuoma.......D truth is....u've been a foreigner 4a long time time...and dey see u dat
it's a natural tin....it'll only take time 4u to blend...if u are really interested ....u'll find ppl who will help u re-integrate...cheers!
Posted: at 20-07-2008 04:19 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 20-07-2008 10:34 AM (16 years ago)
I nominate u richie Grin
Posted: at 20-07-2008 10:34 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- philomena87 at 20-07-2008 10:42 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 17-05-2008 09:54 PM
Quote from: Ihuoma on 17-05-2008 08:18 PM
Why is that Nigerians raised in America looked down upon by Nigerians who were actually raised in Nigeria??

This question is actually about me. I was raised here in America (I have been here since I was 5yrs old) been back to Nigeria twice, understand Ibo but don't speak it well. But alot of Nigerians do not consider me Nigerian which real bothers me.

Now why would Nigerians not consider me Nigerian?

i guess i'm in the same boat as you. But mine is actually from being around akatas and white ppl..lmao..see i've never been back to naija, but it bother's me when ppl think i'm not nigerian because i don't understand or speak  pigin very well. (i was actually told this here at the confessions)..but what some ppl have to understand is, Its very hard trying to keep up with your culture and heritage, especially when you live in a place where there isn't Nigerians around and you end up hanging around americans, what do you think will happen?..I'm glad i still speak and write igbo, though it sucks sometimes..but atleast i try my best to keep up with things. I'm not snubbish at all, i treat everyone as humans..not by heritage or whatever. And the stupidest thing about it is, they tend to say that you're not nigerian when it comes to things that doesn't make sense..just because i told someone that My chicken wasn't cut on my salad..and that i didn't feel like fixing my own food at a party..they looked at me and said(you are so not nigerian)..what tha hell is that suppose to mean? Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

girl ure right.. i also experienced tat too... talk much of my appearance no one agrees tat im a nigerian they think im from asian or latin countries... and also cos i dont even speak nor write igbo ...and pikin i hardly speak or write..... well its tis world ..thank GOD i found out tis site if not im a complete stranger...
Posted: at 20-07-2008 10:42 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Buddyflex at 20-07-2008 10:54 AM (16 years ago)
Look the best thing about being a Naija ninja is that you don't give a flying 4k what the next ninja thinks of you just do your thing in your own way, like pigin now everyone has his own lingo just flow as you go sometimes it's even best when na only few pips know watin you dey talk.
No look dem face!!!!
Posted: at 20-07-2008 10:54 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 21-07-2008 01:44 AM (16 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 21-07-2008 01:44 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 21-07-2008 08:55 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: philomena87 on 20-07-2008 10:42 AM
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 17-05-2008 09:54 PM
Quote from: Ihuoma on 17-05-2008 08:18 PM
Why is that Nigerians raised in America looked down upon by Nigerians who were actually raised in Nigeria??

This question is actually about me. I was raised here in America (I have been here since I was 5yrs old) been back to Nigeria twice, understand Ibo but don't speak it well. But alot of Nigerians do not consider me Nigerian which real bothers me.

Now why would Nigerians not consider me Nigerian?

i guess i'm in the same boat as you. But mine is actually from being around akatas and white ppl..lmao..see i've never been back to naija, but it bother's me when ppl think i'm not nigerian because i don't understand or speak  pigin very well. (i was actually told this here at the confessions)..but what some ppl have to understand is, Its very hard trying to keep up with your culture and heritage, especially when you live in a place where there isn't Nigerians around and you end up hanging around americans, what do you think will happen?..I'm glad i still speak and write igbo, though it sucks sometimes..but atleast i try my best to keep up with things. I'm not snubbish at all, i treat everyone as humans..not by heritage or whatever. And the stupidest thing about it is, they tend to say that you're not nigerian when it comes to things that doesn't make sense..just because i told someone that My chicken wasn't cut on my salad..and that i didn't feel like fixing my own food at a party..they looked at me and said(you are so not nigerian)..what tha hell is that suppose to mean? Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

girl ure right.. i also experienced tat too... talk much of my appearance no one agrees tat im a nigerian they think im from asian or latin countries... and also cos i dont even speak nor write igbo ...and pikin i hardly speak or write..... well its tis world ..thank GOD i found out tis site if not im a complete stranger...

we are rocking the same boat..... Wink

Posted: at 21-07-2008 08:55 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- philomena87 at 21-07-2008 02:04 PM (16 years ago)
yea...Huh? but if we are rockin then who is paddlin lol...
Posted: at 21-07-2008 02:04 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 21-07-2008 04:29 PM (16 years ago)
vince Grin
Posted: at 21-07-2008 04:29 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- philomena87 at 21-07-2008 04:47 PM (16 years ago)
Posted: at 21-07-2008 04:47 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- typicalman84 at 21-07-2008 06:22 PM (16 years ago)
 Wetin we do you?  Grin

Posted: at 21-07-2008 06:22 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- philomena87 at 21-07-2008 07:11 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 21-07-2008 06:22 PM
Wetin we do you?  Grin

u dey ask me?Huh?
Posted: at 21-07-2008 07:11 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- typicalman84 at 21-07-2008 07:29 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: philomena87 on 21-07-2008 07:11 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 21-07-2008 06:22 PM
Wetin we do you?  Grin

u dey ask me?Huh?

no.. dey as the poster

Posted: at 21-07-2008 07:29 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- philomena87 at 21-07-2008 07:31 PM (16 years ago)
ooohhhh .....
Posted: at 21-07-2008 07:31 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9