Asari Explodes over New University: I Don't Owe the Niger Delta

Date: 14-10-2013 11:45 am (10 years ago) | Author: Lola vita
- at 14-10-2013 11:45 AM (10 years ago)

Ex-militant leader, Alhaji Asari Dokubo, who got to National prominence by claiming that he was fighting for the people of the Niger Delta is now singing a new song. As part of the fall out of the Amnesty programme he got a fat contract from President Goodluck Jonathan's government worth billions.

He has now established his own University in Benin Republic and many are complaining that the Niger Delta people are still poor but Asari and other militants leaders are living large.  gathered that the ex-militant is not ready to listen to such complains.

Asari said he doesn't owe the Niger Delta people accountability. In his words:
“I don’t owe anybody. I have nothing to put back anywhere. I worked hard and made my fortune mainly from outside the Niger Delta and Nigeria."
In a post he made on CKN Nigeria blog on Saturday night, while reacting to criticisms that greeted news of his new university, Asari said he is helping people, hence no one should accuse him.

"I do what I am doing - impacting on the lives of people around me because I owe that to myself,” he wrote.

He said: “I have never stolen in my entire 50 years. I have never been elected into any government office to appropriate resources on behalf of the people. Even when I was appointed as a member of the Rivers state Muslim pilgrim welfare board....I left the board without a stain.”

However, some Niger Deltans are saying since Asari got his contract he is getting richer at their expense

Click HERE for more hot stories

check out more entertainment gists HERE   

Posted: at 14-10-2013 11:45 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- softkid at 14-10-2013 02:13 PM (10 years ago)
Everyone fighting for themselves.
Posted: at 14-10-2013 02:13 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 18-10-2013 04:34 PM (10 years ago)
He is a sellout abeg. We all knew those leader were just fighting for themselves. Up till today ijaw land are still the same way they were.

Posted: at 18-10-2013 04:34 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- NEVERBROKE at 19-10-2013 02:57 AM (10 years ago)
Tthis asari sef, nawa for you oo, Guys like you are one of the main reason naija deltans can not be trusted, you're never cosistent,
 your focus should have been elevating the lives of your people not on your personal aggrandisement or glory, shame on you and your likes who are satisfied with only the crumbs that fell off the tables of your slave masters , you are living fat from the thirty pieces of silver you got from your enemies while the majority of your folks are dieing in pernury .
Posted: at 19-10-2013 02:57 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- jossy4reall at 19-10-2013 07:04 AM (10 years ago)
Am not surprise

Posted: at 19-10-2013 07:04 AM (10 years ago) | Hero