Professional photographer Pieter Hugo travelled around Nigeria and captured rather enigmatic photos to reflect his take on the Nollywood industry in Nigeria.
Here is an excerpt from Pieter Hugo's website about his exploration of Nollywood:
"In Africa, Nollywood movies are a rare instance of self-representation in the mass media.
The continent has a rich tradition of story-telling that has been expressed abundantly through oral and written fiction, but has never been conveyed through the mass media before.
Movies tell stories that appeal to and reflect the lives of its public: stars are local actors; plots confront the viewer with familiar situations of romance, comedy, witchcraft, bribery, prostitution. The narrative is overdramatic, deprived of happy endings, tragic. The aesthetic is loud, violent, excessive; nothing is said, everything is shouted."
Wetin?
Posted: at 11-08-2009 04:00 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
ChidiSan at 11-08-2009 04:14 PM (15 years ago) (m)
Quote from: teeco on 11-08-2009 04:02 PM
kai nawa ooo
Some striking pics right there! Watch out for the one with the naked guy with the Darth Vader mask. I was about to spray Baygon on my eyes when I saw that lol I can't remember what Naija fiiim I've watched with Naked folks wearing masks from Star Wars
Wetin?
Posted: at 11-08-2009 04:14 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
Some striking pics right there! Watch out for the one with the naked guy with the Darth Vader mask. I was about to spray Baygon on my eyes when I saw that lol I can't remember what Naija fiiim I've watched with Naked folks wearing masks from Star Wars
[quote author=ChidiSan link=topic=18924.msg704009#msg704009 date=1250003 Some striking pics right there! Watch out for the one with the naked guy with the Darth Vader mask. I was about to spray Baygon on my eyes when I saw that lol I can't remember what Naija fiiim I've watched with Naked folks wearing masks from Star Wars [/ ;quote]
Posted: at 11-08-2009 04:31 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
[quote author=ChidiSan link=topic=18924.msg704009#msg704009 date=1250003 Some striking pics right there! Watch out for the one with the naked guy with the Darth Vader mask. I was about to spray Baygon on my eyes when I saw that lol I can't remember what Naija fiiim I've watched with Naked folks wearing masks from Star Wars [/ ;quote]