Tuition Fees Reversal: LASU To Refund N840m To Students

Date: 19-08-2014 12:41 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 19-08-2014 12:41 AM (9 years ago)
Lagos State University, LASU, is to refund over N840 million fees paid by the students following the directive by Governor Babatunde Fashola to revert it to the old fees of N25, 000.

Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. John Obafunwa who disclosed this in an interview said management had compiled the list of the students who would receive the excess fund.

Obafunwa said, “We have already calculated the excess paid by the students, do not forget that even before the reversal, a lot of them have already paid for this session and we have already calculated within, what have been paid in excess. We have calculated over N840 million. It will only be for this session. The reversal does not mean LASU will go back to where it used to be and the problems of the past. You cannot go beyond the available infrastructure. You cannot take more than what you can’t admit. I don’t see any disadvantage in the reduction of the fee.”

He maintained that the fee reversal was not a decision of the university’s management, noting that “don’t forget there is the governing council and government, who are equally involved. It is a joint decision. Be that as it may, it is a welcome decision in a way depending on who is looking at it or commenting.”
The vice chancellor however, insisted that the reversal of the fees would have both good and bad sides, noting that the reversal would be a reduction in the expenditure of the school.

Assuring parents and students, Obafunwa said, “Nothing is going to happen to all the capital projects going on in the university.

”The students have a role to play, they should take advantage of the fee reduction, pay attention to their studies and be more serious. You can be sure that next year, you will have lots of people applying to come to LASU, you must have the necessary infrastructure in place to accommodate any number. If you have more people applying to LASU, it gives you the opportunity to pick from the best. We are preparing our minds for those things; we expect parents to educate their children to maintain a very high standard.”

Obafunwa said it was unfortunate that the school had to go through a phase in the history, saying now that things were in shape, the current interest of parents, university administration and students would be to make progress as regard to the academic calendar.

He added “And that is what we are focusing on now and I can tell you that we have had meeting with students union. The students have paid their fees. We reopen the portal after making adjustment to the new fees.”

Posted: at 19-08-2014 12:41 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mensch at 19-08-2014 05:38 AM (9 years ago)
good news
Posted: at 19-08-2014 05:38 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 19-08-2014 05:45 AM (9 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 19-08-2014 05:45 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicent2k3 at 19-08-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago)
What is good about this? After exploiting students and making so many people forfeit their admissions in the past due to a crazy hike in the fees. Last year, I watched this man on television and he practically defended the increase and "codedly" said education wasn't for the poor masses. I'm simply wondering what APC is up to but I know one thing " THIS REVERSAL IS POLITICAL!!!!". I swear una never see anything yet. Mark my words, "Should APC win Lagos 2015, u guys will truly know the definition of hike in fees." I rest my case. Good A.M. guys.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 19-08-2014 06:39 AM (9 years ago)
Ok. We will know if it is real. Let's wait till after the election and APC eventually win Lagos.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 06:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 19-08-2014 06:47 AM (9 years ago)
This is APC Political moves for the 2015 elections,this directive did not come from Fashola,it came from Tinibu...this is a Trojan Horse.The fees will be hiked again if the people of Lagos State are daft enough to vote for APC come 2015.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 06:47 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 19-08-2014 07:34 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-08-2014 07:34 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 19-08-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago)
Goodnews. Jt convert it to their sch fees for next semester or section.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nicksam at 19-08-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago)
OK NA
Posted: at 19-08-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ohlabelle19 at 19-08-2014 09:57 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: chicent2k3 on 19-08-2014 06:30 AM
What is good about this? After exploiting students and making so many people forfeit their admissions in the past due to a crazy hike in the fees. Last year, I watched this man on television and he practically defended the increase and "codedly" said education wasn't for the poor masses. I'm simply wondering what APC is up to but I know one thing " THIS REVERSAL IS POLITICAL!!!!". I swear una never see anything yet. Mark my words, "Should APC win Lagos 2015, u guys will truly know the definition of hike in fees." I rest my case. Good A.M. guys.

What is even this fuss about APC ... PDP, etc? Are we electing political parties or personalities?? That is exactly why the country will not encounter a positive change and move on as the poor masses anticipate. Please let's leave shadows and chase substances. APC ... PDP my foot!!! Fashola weldone joo, if only some governors like THEODORE ORJI could do just 1% of what you have done in Lagos...
Posted: at 19-08-2014 09:57 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chicent2k3 at 19-08-2014 10:12 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ohlabelle19 on 19-08-2014 09:57 AM
What is even this fuss about APC ... PDP, etc? Are we electing political parties or personalities?? That is exactly why the country will not encounter a positive change and move on as the poor masses anticipate. Please let's leave shadows and chase substances. APC ... PDP my foot!!! Fashola weldone joo, if only some governors like THEODORE ORJI could do just 1% of what you have done in Lagos...
Aunty Bella. I'm not trying to support any. Both of em are cabal of crooks. A simple question for u......on what ground did he have to increased the fees and then later decrease it? Didn't he know that lagosians were managing their earnings? Didn't his political advisers advice him before he took such a wicked decision?
Posted: at 19-08-2014 10:12 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 19-08-2014 10:19 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 19-08-2014 10:19 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 19-08-2014 11:19 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 19-08-2014 11:19 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- omapretty at 19-08-2014 11:21 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ohlabelle19 on 19-08-2014 09:57 AM
I agree with d post u treplied to. d reduction is simply political.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 11:21 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fazob at 19-08-2014 01:36 PM (9 years ago)
This gesture to me is billeted.
Posted: at 19-08-2014 01:36 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 19-08-2014 02:54 PM (9 years ago)
OK o
Posted: at 19-08-2014 02:54 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

4. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

5. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

6. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

7. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

8. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

9. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

10. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

11. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

12. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

13. Charly Boy Shares Insights On Activism, Marriage, And Gender Roles In Candid Interview

14. Nigerian Journalist Turned AI Tech Expert, Oludayo Ojerinde Creates AI Solutions For Businesses

15. Cybercrime Convict, Odinakachi Prince Onyeoziri Sentenced To 7 Years Imprisonment & Fined ₦3M

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed