where is the best place to raise kids? (Page 3)

Date: 10-07-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: AJ
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7
- Evalastin at 27-09-2008 12:56 AM (15 years ago)
hmn.....It depends..My brother returned his kid to Nigeria when d baby was 2yrs. All because hes curious about the kid's discipline. Back  home, there is discipline. My Aunt also send his son (15) home though d guy was born n bred in US but used 2yrs in Nigeria so that he can know a little on Nigerian language and somehow discipline. You can also use d method u like...God knows d best on kids. Thanks
Posted: at 27-09-2008 12:56 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- LKG at 27-09-2008 01:09 AM (15 years ago)
From my own opinion naija will be the best place to raise kids, as kids you get some type of training in nigeria that you can not get in other country and as parents you will have the opportunity to train your children as you will want them to be in the future.
It is not actually by biting them cos they cant call police but by giving them outstanding training that money cant buy.

I am in that boat too, and i appreciate every little training i got from naija
Posted: at 27-09-2008 01:09 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- onyin at 27-09-2008 01:24 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 26-09-2008 10:16 AM
Quote from: hayjay75 on 11-07-2008 12:59 AM
Quote from: onyin on 10-07-2008 07:09 PM
i think naija.
why do you think naija is the best place?any point to judge this?

I think you can discipline your children anywhere in the world if you teach them boundaries (in love). Location doesn't have anything to do with it. There are children here who are more disciplined than some of the brats I knew back home and vice versa. The thing that was great about growing up in Naija is that you learn to appreciate everything here. I knew what it was like to grow up in Naija, go to school there, and struggle there. So when I came to the States, I didn't waste my college education partying. I worked my butt off to get my degree. But I had focus because I was disciplined by my parents... not the country.
u r right.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 01:24 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- DarkCoco at 27-09-2008 03:08 AM (15 years ago)
i think Nigeria, because my parents shipped my brothers lol by forced to Nigeria after they were messin up,really bad it got to a point that the cops were getting involved, they didnot like it at first but now they love it because they are with family and they can do whatever they want, and they have more freedom there, not like here that when you do something wrong the cops will get involve no matter how little the thing is, but i went to Nigeria for the first time since i was 8 been in USA for 10years, and i saw them they looked so happy, they called me sister Mary, i told them not 2 because i was not used to in but they wanted, lol, i had tears in my eyes to see them so happy, they are very respectful and smarter and everythin else, and they have the best of both world, so maybe if they stay in Nigeria for some years and then bring them bk to USA , if they wanna come back they will see a change. But i hope u make the best choice- Temiloluwa

Posted: at 27-09-2008 03:08 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hiddenpearl at 27-09-2008 11:08 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: GokeAbiodun on 26-09-2008 07:07 PM
Raise your kids in the west. 9nija raised kids are the worst in terms of discipline. At home, they're pretenders and at school and amongst mates, something else. Many of the yahoo yahoos, cultists, street sex hawkers et al in Niger are from very respectable backgrounds but because of influence of bad friends and the fact that 9ja is the freeest place in the world(like my white pal who used to live there would say), they lose focus. Or have you heard of cults in any college in US or UK? Certainly not, but in niger, once you are from a rich home, you can bring down someone's head and hang it on the gate everyone to see and in broad day light! My bro, dont do what you wll live to regret, never raise up your kid in 9nija!!! A word they say is enuff for the wise.

YOURS IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE MOST IGNORANT POINT OF VIEW I HAVE READ IN THIS DISCUSSION SO FAR!
Where do you get off saying Naija raised children are the worst as far as discipline. I was raised in Nigeria and discipline is one thing I don't lack.
You are not paying any attention to Western culture either if you don't realize that a lot of drug addicts, sex addicts and cheats also come from rich families here in America. The only difference is their parents pay and make it go away.
No cults in American Universities? What do you call fraternities? And I don't mean the fraternities in you common state college, pay attention to what goes on in Frat houses in Ivy League colleges... those are cults.
How many heads have you seen hanging on pikes in Nigeria?
PLEASE DO US ALL A FAVOR AND STOP SPREADING YOUR IGNORANT BILE. IF YOU HAVE NOTHING INTELLIGENT TO SAY, SHUT THE HELL UP!
Posted: at 27-09-2008 11:08 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- GokeAbiodun at 27-09-2008 11:38 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 27-09-2008 11:08 AM
Raise your kids in the west. 9nija raised kids are the worst in terms of discipline. At home, they're pretenders and at school and amongst mates, something else. Many of the yahoo yahoos, cultists, street sex hawkers et al in Niger are from very respectable backgrounds but because of influence of bad friends and the fact that 9ja is the freeest place in the world(like my white pal who used to live there would say), they lose focus. Or have you heard of cults in any college in US or UK? Certainly not, but in niger, once you are from a rich home, you can bring down someone's head and hang it on the gate everyone to see and in broad day light! My bro, dont do what you wll live to regret, never raise up your kid in 9nija!!! A word they say is enuff for the wise.

YOURS IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE MOST IGNORANT POINT OF VIEW I HAVE READ IN THIS DISCUSSION SO FAR!
Where do you get off saying Naija raised children are the worst as far as discipline. I was raised in Nigeria and discipline is one thing I don't lack.
You are not paying any attention to Western culture either if you don't realize that a lot of drug addicts, sex addicts and cheats also come from rich families here in America. The only difference is their parents pay and make it go away.
No cults in American Universities? What do you call fraternities? And I don't mean the fraternities in you common state college, pay attention to what goes on in Frat houses in Ivy League colleges... those are cults.
How many heads have you seen hanging on pikes in Nigeria?
PLEASE DO US ALL A FAVOR AND STOP SPREADING YOUR IGNORANT BILE. IF YOU HAVE NOTHING INTELLIGENT TO SAY, SHUT THE HELL UP!
Posted: at 27-09-2008 11:38 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- GokeAbiodun at 27-09-2008 11:45 AM (15 years ago)
Haba, Madam. Why are you taking it personal? I was raised in 9nija myself and i am so cultured that i cant imagine stooping low to rain abuses on the internet and so intelligent as to appreciate the fact that everyone's entitled to his/her opinions and views are always divergent. And to answer your questions, yeah rite, i have seen an human head hanged on the entrance gate of a Nigerian School campus back in the days when cultism was on the very high. Will you ever see that in the west? Na you know your fraternity wey dey ivy-leagues but in as much as they do not constitute any issues to law-abiding students, who cares? What i was saying is that here, the law keeps a check on people's behaviour cos its effective but in 9nija you could do whatever and go scot free moreso if your parents are in the political circle or just wealthy. And that in itself will be an incentive for kids to misbehave so i will even advise you yourself...steer your pretty kids (their mum isn't bad, so they should) clear from 9nija till they are in abt mid 20's.Cheers
Posted: at 27-09-2008 11:45 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hiddenpearl at 27-09-2008 02:07 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: GokeAbiodun on 27-09-2008 11:45 AM
Haba, Madam. Why are you taking it personal? I was raised in 9nija myself and i am so cultured that i cant imagine stooping low to rain abuses on the internet and so intelligent as to appreciate the fact that everyone's entitled to his/her opinions and views are always divergent. And to answer your questions, yeah rite, i have seen an human head hanged on the entrance gate of a Nigerian School campus back in the days when cultism was on the very high. Will you ever see that in the west? Na you know your fraternity wey dey ivy-leagues but in as much as they do not constitute any issues to law-abiding students, who cares? What i was saying is that here, the law keeps a check on people's behaviour cos its effective but in 9nija you could do whatever and go scot free moreso if your parents are in the political circle or just wealthy. And that in itself will be an incentive for kids to misbehave so i will even advise you yourself...steer your pretty kids (their mum isn't bad, so they should) clear from 9nija till they are in abt mid 20's.Cheers

I wasn't raining abuses on you. Simply letting you know that dismissing all Naija raised children as corrupt isn't smart. The law even in the US keeps track on the things that money can't cover. A rich teen in the US who is a druggie in the US is sent to rehab and is said to be "going through a difficult time." A poor teen from the inner city who is in the same situation is sent to jail. The law in the US may wear a suit and tie, but it can be just as corrupt underneath the facade.

You said you saw heads on pikes in Nigerian Universities? At least you said it yourself that it was "back in the day when cultism was very high." We are changing, we are growing, and it will get better. I went to a Nigerian University, so I know what I'm talking about. I'm just over people generalizing all Nigerians as corrupt because of the actions of a few and it is particularly sad when it's coming from a Nigerian. A responsible disciplined child is the result of a disciplined loving parent. Not their location.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 02:07 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- olahsupo at 27-09-2008 02:44 PM (15 years ago)
@GokeAbiodun its a pity hearing such words from ya. Thanks you said you were raised in Naija, how come you have such mentality upstairs. Guys that were even born & bred in the west never thought it was bad as you have relayed it here .You don't have to come on here politicizing the bads/odds of the nation. Accepeted it does happen but its not deadly/critical as u've said and there's no country/nation which doesn't have its odds but for you to go to the extent -- never raise up your kids' in Naija is awful.

Wherever you might be as long as it's on earth, it depends on how disciplined you are from home!
Posted: at 27-09-2008 02:44 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GokeAbiodun at 27-09-2008 03:47 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 27-09-2008 02:07 PM

I wasn't raining abuses on you. Simply letting you know that dismissing all Naija raised children as corrupt isn't smart. The law even in the US keeps track on the things that money can't cover. A rich teen in the US who is a druggie in the US is sent to rehab and is said to be "going through a difficult time." A poor teen from the inner city who is in the same situation is sent to jail. The law in the US may wear a suit and tie, but it can be just as corrupt underneath the facade.

You said you saw heads on pikes in Nigerian Universities? At least you said it yourself that it was "back in the day when cultism was very high." We are changing, we are growing, and it will get better. I went to a Nigerian University, so I know what I'm talking about. I'm just over people generalizing all Nigerians as corrupt because of the actions of a few and it is particularly sad when it's coming from a Nigerian. A responsible disciplined child is the result of a disciplined loving parent. Not their location.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 03:47 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- GokeAbiodun at 27-09-2008 03:49 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: GokeAbiodun on 27-09-2008 03:47 PM

Posted: at 27-09-2008 03:49 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- GokeAbiodun at 27-09-2008 03:58 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: olahsupo on 27-09-2008 02:44 PM
@GokeAbiodun its a pity hearing such words from ya. Thanks you said you were raised in Naija, how come you have such mentality upstairs. Guys that were even born & bred in the west never thought it was bad as you have relayed it here .You don't have to come on here politicizing the bads/odds of the nation. Accepeted it does happen but its not deadly/critical as u've said and there's no country/nation which doesn't have its odds but for you to go to the extent -- never raise up your kids' in Naija is awful.

Wherever you might be as long as it's on earth, it depends on how disciplined you are from home!

Truth is, there are issues with Nigeria and Nigerians, we dont have to sweep that under the carpet. You can be rest
assured you are not as patriotic as i am and you dont feel the pains i do as a result of some of the mess we're talking about. So i wasn't taking it too far, i for one would prefer to raise up my kids here in the west cos i prefer the attitude of the average western brought up child to that of his Nigerian mate. Fine, i realise i will need to imbibe in that child some of our own traditions and customs but that will not pose any problem. I apologize if it makes you feel bad but i honestly think that in the past 20years , there have been an unending massive decline and erosion in morality in our country. It's been flowing top-down from the leaders down to even the primary school students! I learnt they've started using 'machinery' for common entrance exams, if you know what i mean. These are issues we have to deal with and not pretend as if they aint there. I believe we can only get over it if we first acknowledge the fact that it exists and thats what am trying to do. You too, dont raise up your kids in 9nija, chikena!
Posted: at 27-09-2008 03:58 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- naijainct at 27-09-2008 04:26 PM (15 years ago)

That was a nice piece. You have my vote and I totally agree with you.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 04:26 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- rhodao at 27-09-2008 06:36 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianlove on 12-07-2008 02:31 AM
it naija b best cause u go flog ur kid and the no go fit call police.

naija is not always the best place and you dont have to flog your kids, it makes them hate you but in abroad you can't flog then you talk to them and im saying this because i'm a kid and naija is pretty tough raising kids there. and some kids who love their parents cant call police if they did something wrong.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 06:36 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- onyin at 27-09-2008 06:41 PM (15 years ago)
wow!.tht's harsh,very harsh.and wat wil u say about teenage mothers and the rate of stabbin and killing of teenagers in UK?.most naija  parents  in UK do send their kids back home to naija to live for a while cos of the western culture. ma cousins were born and bred there(in naija) and they r wel disciplined and respectful.and i was also born in naija.i'm wel disciplined ,respectful and thx to God and ma parent.and sendin ur kids back home wil mak them appreciate life by seein both sides of life.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 06:41 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- onyin at 27-09-2008 06:55 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: rhodao on 27-09-2008 06:36 PM
Quote from: nigerianlove on 12-07-2008 02:31 AM
it naija b best cause u go flog ur kid and the no go fit call police.

naija is not always the best place and you dont have to flog your kids, it makes them hate you but in abroad you can't flog then you talk to them and im saying this because i'm a kid and naija is pretty tough raising kids there. and some kids who love their parents cant call police if they did something wrong.
floggin ur kids doesn't mean killin them.i know sum parent r quite tough wit kids and it's quite bad.and in abroad?.in abroad u hv to be careful wit the way u deal wit ur kids.and i know fully wel about UK,cos ma lil cousins do call the police for their mom.for real,in UK most ppl get scared of speakin to their kids cos they don't want to loose them.and at such age, kids r vulnerable and innocent,they rlly don't know wat they r doin at tht point.so it's their parents duty to caution and control them.but hw can they tlk to them when this kids wil end up reportin them all becos they hv being "brain washed" at school.and why do u think sum white kids can address and speak to their parent in any manner?.and now they(UK) are the one payin for it,wit the rate of stabbin and teenage mothers increasin.kids droppin out of school,drinkin and so on.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 06:55 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Uwalassy at 27-09-2008 06:59 PM (15 years ago)
My brother, the best place to rise children is their country of origin. My reason are as follows: the culture of respecting elders will not be lose to them, the morally aspect of life will not be lose to them. Back in USA, your kids can call 911 on you the parents for disciplining them, and they will be taken away from you based on this allegation. Back in NAJIA, all you need to do is to keep supplying their daily needs and get them enrol in a good school which we do have in form of private school. I rest my case and good luck in your final decision. If your parents and those of your spouse are alive, that is additional bonus for you all.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 06:59 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Uwalassy at 27-09-2008 07:14 PM (15 years ago)
My brother you are out of touch with reality of life. I know alot of people from USA that will truly love to rise their kids in Nigeria. Those citizen of USA that had the opportunity of staying in this country. I happen to know some ladies that were crying because they are leaving Nigeria because of this same issue. Forget the issue of cultist etc that you stated. How many children from poor background engaged in this activities? Can you give us a statistic and how you come by it. What about the rate of missing kids etc in USA, Europe etc. You fall under the same group that the citizen of EUROPE AND USA has no regard for whatsoever because you are seen by them as spoiler. Those that falls under the group that can cause more problems if they happen to visit their countries. Brother you are a landlord in your country but will continue to be a foreigner in which ever country you visit because you can never ever fit in. Home is Home.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 07:14 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- olahsupo at 27-09-2008 08:48 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: GokeAbiodun on 27-09-2008 03:58 PM
Quote from: olahsupo on 27-09-2008 02:44 PM

Truth is, there are issues with Nigeria and Nigerians, we dont have to sweep that under the carpet. You can be rest
assured you are not as patriotic as i am and you dont feel the pains i do as a result of some of the mess we're talking about. So i wasn't taking it too far, i for one would prefer to raise up my kids here in the west cos i prefer the attitude of the average western brought up child to that of his Nigerian mate. Fine, i realise i will need to imbibe in that child some of our own traditions and customs but that will not pose any problem. I apologize if it makes you feel bad but i honestly think that in the past 20years , there have been an unending massive decline and erosion in morality in our country. It's been flowing top-down from the leaders down to even the primary school students! I learnt they've started using 'machinery' for common entrance exams, if you know what i mean. These are issues we have to deal with and not pretend as if they aint there. I believe we can only get over it if we first acknowledge the fact that it exists and thats what am trying to do. You too, dont raise up your kids in 9nija, chikena!

I gat you but no matter how bad it's Naija will always be home. Been awhile have been home tho. but that doesn't mean I don't know about what's going on, I read Nigerian online newspapers daily on line so am familiar about every goddamn thing at home. Sure Nigerian education is bad, from the elementary - tertiary but you kinda sound somehow harsh with your claims, you are taking it too far -- gat some scores to settle with the Nigerian's or its gov?  Smiley Well you can't tell me where to/not to raise my children when it's the right time,  Tongue but all I know is this, if we all keep running away from home who will put it in order? Embarrassed
Posted: at 27-09-2008 08:48 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- misbaudeen at 27-09-2008 09:49 PM (15 years ago)
There is a lot of fact to be consider before some one can decide where to race a kid.Firstly, environmental has to be consider.Apart from  all sort of  things back ground does a lot.Secondly,civilization.Thirdly , it depend on someone perspective and experiences.
Posted: at 27-09-2008 09:49 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7