Doing Gospel Music Was About To Make Me Broke - Popular Singer, Simi

Date: 17-07-2016 12:36 pm (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 17-07-2016 12:36 PM (7 years ago)

Musical act, Simi has been making waves in the music industry with her singles and collaborations. In this interview with Punch, she talks about life as a singer, her relationship with Falz and many more.

Have always wanted to do music?

I didn’t grow up around a lot of music because my parents aren’t music inclined. I wrote my first song when I was 10 years old. I have a very short attention span and it is one of the reasons why I experiment a lot with my music. My parents separated when I was nine years old, so I did not spend so much time with my dad; he died in 2014. My parents were quite supportive of my career at first. After I bagged a degree in Mass Communication, from Covenant University, my mother wanted me to get some job experience by working with an oil firm. I have always been of the opinion that its impossible to do music part-time, so I asked her to pray for the success of my music career.

Apart from music, what other things are you talented at?

I am also a sound engineer, so I mix and master music.This a major boost to my career because it means that there are a lot of things I can do on my own. It has also proven to a lot of critics that I am not just another artiste.

You began your career as a gospel act. Why did you go mainstream?

The first thing that comes to the mind is that I did it for monetary reasons. However music became about ‘more’; I wanted to have a broader purview. It was a tough decision for me to make at first. I wanted to explore music more. My faith in God hasn’t waivered because before I went mainstream, I prayed to God to bless my career if it was his plan for me. I also don’t see myself doing gospel music again.

Why did you decide to record an entire album with Falz?

We are very good friends and having worked on several projects together, we toyed with the idea of recording a joint album.

What has fame cost you?

I don’t go out much but I love to go to regular places. I can’t do so any longer and I miss having a regular life because I am a regular girl.

Are you currently dating anyone?

I am in a relationship with someone else who is not Falzthebahdguy; we are just friends. My man is mature and understands the fact that I may be erroneously romantically linked with an artiste simply because we work on music projects together.

Posted: at 17-07-2016 12:36 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- umokoro at 17-07-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago)
I no won talk now
Posted: at 17-07-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- module at 17-07-2016 01:17 PM (7 years ago)
Warrever
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:17 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- bennieben at 17-07-2016 01:21 PM (7 years ago)
Ewo lo komi?
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:21 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 17-07-2016 01:25 PM (7 years ago)
take off your cloth na,u go make money on pornography   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:25 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- beneno at 17-07-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago)
It better to work for God and make heaven than to work the world get rich and and go to hell  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickieponga at 17-07-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago)
Of cos money no dey gospel music..
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 17-07-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 17-07-2016 01:25 PM
take off your cloth na,u go make money on ****ography   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
I was just thinking about that maybe I should sign her for my new porn film..
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- GermoDon at 17-07-2016 01:51 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on 17-07-2016 01:33 PM
I was just thinking about that maybe I should sign her for my new **** film..Haha all dis yoruba Gospel Musicians
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 17-07-2016 01:59 PM (7 years ago)
Zzzzzz!!!!!!
Posted: at 17-07-2016 01:59 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- scottchris at 17-07-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago)
U tink ur boyfriend is understanding enough to see u nd falz run tins everywhere.....na Jesus u dey date abi.... . Sister u better use ur head....

Posted: at 17-07-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 17-07-2016 02:42 PM (7 years ago)
I SEE,,,
Posted: at 17-07-2016 02:42 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Kennycynth at 17-07-2016 03:20 PM (7 years ago)
OK nah
Posted: at 17-07-2016 03:20 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- UDADA1 at 17-07-2016 03:55 PM (7 years ago)
Gospel song will not make someone poor but if u have a good music u will see the best of gospel music.
Posted: at 17-07-2016 03:55 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 17-07-2016 04:56 PM (7 years ago)
"My faith in God hasn’t waivered because before I went mainstream, I prayed to God to bless my career if it was his plan for me. I also don’t see myself doing gospel music again"

sound like you never had any faith in God because money wont change someone rooted in Christianity

park for corner jare

Posted: at 17-07-2016 04:56 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- module at 17-07-2016 05:01 PM (7 years ago)
So money no dey gospel music? Ha God pls help me oo
Posted: at 17-07-2016 05:01 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 17-07-2016 05:24 PM (7 years ago)
wateva
Posted: at 17-07-2016 05:24 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 17-07-2016 06:08 PM (7 years ago)
JUST CONTINUE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 17-07-2016 06:08 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 17-07-2016 07:22 PM (7 years ago)
i don hear u simi
Posted: at 17-07-2016 07:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- horizontal at 17-07-2016 07:42 PM (7 years ago)
SHAMELESS GIRL GOSPEL MAKES HER BROKE LOL!YOU ARE JOKING ASK GOD  FOR APOLOGY.
Posted: at 17-07-2016 07:42 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac