GUY: Should You Date Your Friend? (Page 2)

Date: 23-11-2010 11:58 am (13 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
1 [2] 3 4 5 6
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 12:55 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 23-11-2010 12:25 PM
Hmmmm, na body language me i go dey speak.  I no fit carry the shame when i talk.

God bless you
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:55 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 12:56 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:21 PM
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 12:18 PM
Well...i know how to go about it If i have any feelings for my bff... I mean i wouldnt want him to start looking at me in a diff way if eventually he doesnt feel the same way.

What if He's not very good at understanding those signals of attraction?

Who does'nt?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:56 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 12:56 PM
Well...i know how to go about it If i have any feelings for my bff... I mean i wouldnt want him to start looking at me in a diff way if eventually he doesnt feel the same way.

Who does'nt?

ur bf of course

Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- samboko at 23-11-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:50 PM
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:45 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:32 PM
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:26 PM
I've been there done that. I risked it and was turned down on the fact that "i was late"! She said, what have you been waiting for all these yrs, i found me a boyfriend now, so? We are friends till tomorrow....and she's married now.....and she still mock me badly for being coward....

My advice: if you are attracted to your friend, tell him/her on time. It doesnt break friendship. It will break friendship if you know he/she has a good relationship with another person already....

What if both people are acting very much as if there is no romantic undertone whatsoever to the relationship?

You are assuming and thats where the confusion lies. If your friend see you as his/her friend, no matter what you say/do to them they tend to overlook it.....they will correct you if you are wrong. Those are the people i call friends. Do whatcha wanna do and get it done with once and for all...ive turned a gf down be4, yet we're cool all the way.....

if you cant turn shame to joke, pls dont do it!

are u trying to say in essence that;
Each time you go out on one of these "mini-dates", tell the other person freely how much you have enjoyed their company. After one or two successful mini-dates, ask the other person if they would like to do more dating, or whether they wish to remain simply friends with you.?

NO. And NO.

You dont request for friendship. Friends come somehow.
Look back, how many of your friends did you have by starting on a date?
A date already signifies your intention. You want a personal relationship, thats what it means to me. And to be a gentle man/woman, you ve got to take it easy so that your new catch dont fly away in a hurry.

What i was saying:
You have a friend (not new friend), and suddenly you realize you are falling for him/her. By the time you can truly say yes you love him/her in your heart, tell the person how you feel. You might get turned down but it wont break you apart. And if you both get it on and eventually break up (never in this situation tho) i dont think it will break ur friendship apart neither
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 01:01 PM
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 12:56 PM

Who does'nt?

ur bf of course

Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 01:05 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:50 PM
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:45 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:32 PM
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:26 PM
I've been there done that. I risked it and was turned down on the fact that "i was late"! She said, what have you been waiting for all these yrs, i found me a boyfriend now, so? We are friends till tomorrow....and she's married now.....and she still mock me badly for being coward....

My advice: if you are attracted to your friend, tell him/her on time. It doesnt break friendship. It will break friendship if you know he/she has a good relationship with another person already....

What if both people are acting very much as if there is no romantic undertone whatsoever to the relationship?

You are assuming and thats where the confusion lies. If your friend see you as his/her friend, no matter what you say/do to them they tend to overlook it.....they will correct you if you are wrong. Those are the people i call friends. Do whatcha wanna do and get it done with once and for all...ive turned a gf down be4, yet we're cool all the way.....

if you cant turn shame to joke, pls dont do it!

are u trying to say in essence that;
Each time you go out on one of these "mini-dates", tell the other person freely how much you have enjoyed their company. After one or two successful mini-dates, ask the other person if they would like to do more dating, or whether they wish to remain simply friends with you.?

NO. And NO.

You dont request for friendship. Friends come somehow.
Look back, how many of your friends did you have by starting on a date?
A date already signifies your intention. You want a personal relationship, thats what it means to me. And to be a gentle man/woman, you ve got to take it easy so that your new catch dont fly away in a hurry.

What i was saying:
You have a friend (not new friend), and suddenly you realize you are falling for him/her. By the time you can truly say yes you love him/her in your heart, tell the person how you feel. You might get turned down but it wont break you apart. And if you both get it on and eventually break up (never in this situation tho) i dont think it will break ur friendship apart neither

understood

Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 01:11 PM (13 years ago)
My bf understand body language more than anything..you dont even need to do it twice b4 he figure out what u are upto....So may be your bf does'nt
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:11 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chetznomso at 23-11-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago)
Personaly, I decided very early that I am not going to marry someone who wasn't my friend.
Because I cherish relationships with friends.
This has made me restrict my search to my circle of friends.
I have never (for emphasis, I repeat NEVER) stopped a lady by the way side and begin to toast her.

I have asked some of my lady friends out in the past and they turned down my request.
That never enstranged our relationship cos till now, we are still best of friends.

It only depends on how the people involved chose to handle the rejection. I must confess that the rejection was hurting but you see
love is a beautiful thing.
It's better for you to have loved and lost, than for you to have never loved at all.

I am married now and guess what?

I married my friend
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 01:11 PM
My bf understand body language more than anything..you dont even need to do it twice b4 he figure out what u are upto....So may be your bf does'nt

was only asking
sorry if i asked the wrong question

Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: chetznomso on 23-11-2010 01:13 PM
Personaly, I decided very early that I am not going to marry someone who wasn't my friend.
I have never (for emphasis, I repeat NEVER) stopped a lady by the way side and begin to toast her.

I have asked some of my lady friends out in the past and they turned down my request.
That never enstranged our relationship cos till now, we are still best of friends.

It only depends on how the people involved chose to handle the rejection. I must confess that the rejection was hurting but you see
It's better for you to have loved and lost, than for you to have never loved at all.

I married my friend

Wowwwwwwwwwwww am happy for you man!!
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- samboko at 23-11-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago)

I married my friend

God bless you my bro. Tell them oh
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 01:20 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 01:18 PM
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 01:11 PM

was only asking
sorry if i asked the wrong question

Sorry did i say something wrong? am sorry if my last post upset u in anyway
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:20 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 01:22 PM (13 years ago)
Because I cherish relationships with friends.This has made me restrict my search to my circle of friends.

I married my friend

i love this one....
thats lovely.. and believe me that marriage will have no misunderstanding and will forever last. cos of both understaning capacities

Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:22 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- solid_solid at 23-11-2010 01:40 PM (13 years ago)
THIS IS UNDER PROBABILITY  .... 
Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bhl72 at 23-11-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 23-11-2010 12:09 PM
Well, for me almost always started that way, but I was never the one who started to feel other things!

Lips Sealed
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mykelly at 23-11-2010 03:53 PM (13 years ago)
nice topic buh no idea
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:53 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 23-11-2010 04:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 11:58 AM
This is a problem that commonly comes up in friendships between men and women, whether they are young or old.

It can be agonizing or confusing if you have a friend that you are attracted to, but you don't know whether or not that person likes you back. You don't know if the two of you are really just good friends or if you should try to ask them out on a date.

You want to have a romantic relationship with this person, but you are worried that they will reject you if they don't feel the same way about you. What if you ask that person for a date and they turn you down? What if they say that classic dreaded line, "I just want us to be friends".

What should you do if you realize that you are romantically attracted to one of your friends? Should you risk embarassment and heartache by asking your friend on a date? What are the pitfalls of admitting to your friend that you are attracted to them?

Here is another possibility you need to think about - what if the two of you date for a while and then you break up? Then you've lost both a lover and a friend.

Lets go there

E no dey Kill Person, when una Discuss Finish and e no Lead to Dating, Friendship Continues

If e Lead to Dating and Break up Occurs, life goes on. If yu two stop Being Friends, it will Only be Temporary, yu will both find the Friendship again soon

Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:01 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abdulk at 23-11-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago)
Marry your friend they say........this is a very good phrase
nothing can be better than this in any marriage....the lust, and passion will naturally die down and only friendship sticks around for a long time after you both say i do..........
True love is worth risking it all for.....take the leap
Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 23-11-2010 04:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bhl72 on 23-11-2010 03:49 PM
Quote from: bittersweet on 23-11-2010 12:09 PM
Well, for me almost always started that way, but I was never the one who started to feel other things!

Lips Sealed

Whaaaaaat?
Come on!
Cheesy

Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:07 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- samboko at 23-11-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago)
Now you gals can relax your minds. Men are making it easy on ya....

i salute all the real men in here...they av talked d talk!
Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
1 [2] 3 4 5 6