GUY: Should You Date Your Friend?

Date: 23-11-2010 11:58 am (13 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 23-11-2010 11:58 AM (13 years ago)
This is a problem that commonly comes up in friendships between men and women, whether they are young or old.

It can be agonizing or confusing if you have a friend that you are attracted to, but you don't know whether or not that person likes you back. You don't know if the two of you are really just good friends or if you should try to ask them out on a date.

You want to have a romantic relationship with this person, but you are worried that they will reject you if they don't feel the same way about you. What if you ask that person for a date and they turn you down? What if they say that classic dreaded line, "I just want us to be friends".

What should you do if you realize that you are romantically attracted to one of your friends? Should you risk embarassment and heartache by asking your friend on a date? What are the pitfalls of admitting to your friend that you are attracted to them?

Here is another possibility you need to think about - what if the two of you date for a while and then you break up? Then you've lost both a lover and a friend.

Lets go there

Posted: at 23-11-2010 11:58 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sobeit at 23-11-2010 12:01 PM (13 years ago)
FRIEND AS Huh? GIRL OR BOY HUH Huh?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 23-11-2010 12:05 PM (13 years ago)
I dey come,make i go cal love doctor.

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sobeit on 23-11-2010 12:01 PM

girl na

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- desiresluv20 at 23-11-2010 12:07 PM (13 years ago)
I'm an illiterate in this.

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 23-11-2010 12:09 PM (13 years ago)
Well, for me almost always started that way, but I was never the one who started to feel other things!

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 12:13 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 23-11-2010 12:09 PM
Well, for me almost always started that way, but I was never the one who started to feel other things!

really?

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:13 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sobeit at 23-11-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:06 PM
Quote from: sobeit on 23-11-2010 12:01 PM

girl na
i see nope! but i don't like keeping more girlfriends to avoid hmmmm....
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 23-11-2010 12:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:13 PM

really?

Yes,sweetie!
They use to trip na! Wink

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:15 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sobeit at 23-11-2010 12:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 23-11-2010 12:15 PM

really?

Yes,sweetie!

hmmmm bs bs bs i hear you  Cool
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 23-11-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago)
Well...i know how to go about it If i have any feelings for my bff... I mean i wouldnt want him to start looking at me in a diff way if eventually he doesnt feel the same way.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 23-11-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sobeit on 23-11-2010 12:17 PM
Quote from: bittersweet on 23-11-2010 12:15 PM

really?

Yes,sweetie!

hmmmm bs bs bs i hear you  Cool

Not my fault na! Grin Wink Cool

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: MissyBarbie on 23-11-2010 12:18 PM
Well...i know how to go about it If i have any feelings for my bff... I mean i wouldnt want him to start looking at me in a diff way if eventually he doesnt feel the same way.

What if He's not very good at understanding those signals of attraction?

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 23-11-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmmm, na body language me i go dey speak.  I no fit carry the shame when i talk.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- samboko at 23-11-2010 12:26 PM (13 years ago)
I've been there done that. I risked it and was turned down on the fact that "i was late"! She said, what have you been waiting for all these yrs, i found me a boyfriend now, so? We are friends till tomorrow....and she's married now.....and she still mock me badly for being coward....

My advice: if you are attracted to your friend, tell him/her on time. It doesnt break friendship. It will break friendship if you know he/she has a good relationship with another person already....
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:26 PM
I've been there done that. I risked it and was turned down on the fact that "i was late"! She said, what have you been waiting for all these yrs, i found me a boyfriend now, so? We are friends till tomorrow....and she's married now.....and she still mock me badly for being coward....

My advice: if you are attracted to your friend, tell him/her on time. It doesnt break friendship. It will break friendship if you know he/she has a good relationship with another person already....

What if both people are acting very much as if there is no romantic undertone whatsoever to the relationship?

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blessedme at 23-11-2010 12:33 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmm!!!!
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:33 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- macgreat at 23-11-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 23-11-2010 12:25 PM
Hmmmm, na body language me i go dey speak.  I no fit carry the shame when i talk.

Smiley

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- samboko at 23-11-2010 12:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:32 PM

What if both people are acting very much as if there is no romantic undertone whatsoever to the relationship?

You are assuming and thats where the confusion lies. If your friend see you as his/her friend, no matter what you say/do to them they tend to overlook it.....they will correct you if you are wrong. Those are the people i call friends. Do whatcha wanna do and get it done with once and for all...ive turned a gf down be4, yet we're cool all the way.....

if you cant turn shame to joke, pls dont do it!
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 23-11-2010 12:50 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: samboko on 23-11-2010 12:45 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-11-2010 12:32 PM

You are assuming and thats where the confusion lies. If your friend see you as his/her friend, no matter what you say/do to them they tend to overlook it.....they will correct you if you are wrong. Those are the people i call friends. Do whatcha wanna do and get it done with once and for all...ive turned a gf down be4, yet we're cool all the way.....

if you cant turn shame to joke, pls dont do it!

are u trying to say in essence that;
Each time you go out on one of these "mini-dates", tell the other person freely how much you have enjoyed their company. After one or two successful mini-dates, ask the other person if they would like to do more dating, or whether they wish to remain simply friends with you.?

Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:50 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6

1. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

2. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

3. Peter Obi Missing as EFCC Releases Names of 58 Former Governors That Embezzled N2.187 Trillion

4. "Why INEC’s Server Suffered Glitch During 2023 Presidential Polls" – Peter Obi

5. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

6. Mohbad's PA, Darosha Grilled by Police, Spills More About Singer's Death & Hurried Burial

7. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)

8. Mercy Johnson's Husband Raises Awareness On Mental Health Amidst Angela Okorie's Claims

9. Outcry As Lagos Govt Begins Demolition on Parts of Arowojobe, Mende Estate (Video)

10. Controversial singer, Portable Spotted On A Flight To Kenya With Wife, Bewaji Amid Online Drama

11. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

12. Wizkid And Babymama, Jada P Quench Split Rumours As They Step Out in Matching Outfit (VID)

13. Actress Genevieve Nnaji Appreciates Her Fans, Shares Special Moment From Fer 45th Birthday

14. How 40yr Old Man Lured 13yr Old Girl With N200 to His House & Held Her From January to March

15. Amidst Witchcraft Accusations, Mercy Johnson Marks Daughter’s 4th Birthday in Style (VID)

16. Rising Nigerian Singer, Gnewzy Who Was Kidnapped in Delta, Regains Freedom After 6 Days

17. After Heavy Criticism, Teni Reveals Why She Prostrated to Greet Socialite IBD Bende on a Plane

18. Moses Bliss & Wife, Marie Wiseborn Spark Pregnancy Rumors As They Arrive Canada (Video)

19. Don't Choose to be Lonely Because of People - Judy Austin Dishes Tips on Fighting For 'Love'

20. Filmmaker, Mary Njoku Cries Out After Her 7am Flight Was Moved to 6pm Without Explanation

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

3. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

4. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

5. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

6. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

7. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

8. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

9. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

10. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family