More Woes For Ogun Residents As Banks Shut Down After Violent Protest

Date: 08-02-2023 5:59 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 8-02-2023 05:59 PM (1 year ago)

Commercial banks in Abeokuta, Ogun State have refused to open for business to avoid being attacked in the wake of violent protests by some youths over the scarcity of the new naira notes and fuel.

Protesters on Tuesday went on a rampage across the city attacking banks and their Automated Teller Machines, ATM.

One person was shot during an attempt by hoodlums to rob a First Bank branch in Sapon, even as the protesters engaged policemen in a showdown.

On Wednesday, it was observed that many banks in Abeokuta were under lock and key.

The banks also refused to load their ATMs with cash, leaving residents with no means of withdrawing money stranded.

A banker, who did not want his name in print told correspondent the sit-at-home is indefinite until further notice.

“We are also Nigerians, why [are they] attacking us? We are also going through a lot, even as bankers. We shouldn’t be the target of any protest. As I’m talking to you now, all of us are in our houses until further notice. We cannot come and die,” he said.

Meanwhile, residents of Ogun State are now facing more hardship as they have no means of getting cash.

Sulaimon, a POS operator in Oluwo, Abeokuta, blamed the protesters for aggravating the situation.

He said: “We used to get some cash on a daily basis before, no matter how small. Now that the banks are not working again, what do we do? We will all suffer for it. We just have to be patient and protest against these problems with our votes.”

Posted: at 8-02-2023 05:59 PM (1 year ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-02-2023 06:04 PM (1 year ago)
criminals  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-02-2023 06:04 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 8-02-2023 07:20 PM (1 year ago)
Protest with your pvc, una no hear.

Posted: at 8-02-2023 07:20 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 8-02-2023 09:25 PM (1 year ago)
What a country
Posted: at 8-02-2023 09:25 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Allsense at 9-02-2023 12:02 AM (1 year ago)
Like you said "protest with our votes" everything will be clear everyone turnout massively
Posted: at 9-02-2023 12:02 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gabriel081 at 9-02-2023 10:29 AM (1 year ago)
Posted: at 9-02-2023 10:29 AM (1 year ago) | Newbie