Why do most Nigerians abroad feel so special and unique? (Page 7)

Date: 14-01-2009 3:54 pm (16 years ago) | Author: Raphael Charles Edet
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11
- serene_child at 21-01-2009 10:31 AM (16 years ago)
@poster.....u just made them feel even more unique and special with ur topic.

Posted: at 21-01-2009 10:31 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Raphaels009 at 21-01-2009 11:31 AM (16 years ago)
Like one of the commentators said, it'sgot a lot to do with the mind set...i know it's not a simple thing to get a visa, but when we do get the visa and move there, most of us feel like it's the best we can do in life thereby making it a sort of paranoid feeling....@Serene_child...it's a forum topic..i never forced anyone to comment..
Posted: at 21-01-2009 11:31 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- peacetee at 21-01-2009 11:40 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: serene_child on 21-01-2009 10:31 AM

does dat mean u are abroad  Undecided

Quote from: naijainct on 20-01-2009 01:34 AM
Fcuk being abroad. If I knew the US was this tough I would never had quit my good paying job to live here. Its unimaginable the kind of sh.t one have to put up with here just to get through school. Nigeria is the true FREE COUNTRY.

Broda a lot of peeps are in ur shoes, and I know a lot more who will kill for such an opportunity. Do the best you can in your new abode and with God being ur focus u will surely excel. 

Posted: at 21-01-2009 11:40 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CapitanBenji at 21-01-2009 12:04 PM (16 years ago)
Not everybody feels that way. I will say those that like to POSE and make a lot of noise are the ones that feel so special. I mean, I have seen lots of naijas talk about naija as if it was shit. For God's sake, that's ur motherland, no matter how it is, home na home.

I'm in Panama (central america) and my music is doing pretty well here, but I always talk good about naija and wish to visit home sometime soon cuz I miss it.

It doesn't matter if u were born out of the shores of naija, ur root is ur root, u can never deny that. So, stop holding ur head so high like ur home is shit. The country u are were built by pple who stood by their country come rain and shine, so we should stand by ours inorder to help build it to what we want it to be.

D'Kalimbo
Posted: at 21-01-2009 12:04 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- WorldCitizen at 21-01-2009 01:34 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: Raphaels009 on 14-01-2009 03:54 PM
Post your comments....
As far as I'm concerned those who feel like that, are arrogant and self-sufficient. Nobody should in his right senses feel unique and special just because he got to a so-called better place!

They will always be nigerians, from the same village, with the same mum and dad. And they should never forget the hardship they've left behind.

To do so would be contrary to the african tradition of ubuntu, that is to say that we all live through the other. "I am who I am because of those around me", that is the essence of ubuntu philosophy, and it is what has made Africa survive through its ages of darkness.
Posted: at 21-01-2009 01:34 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- ben1 at 21-01-2009 02:16 PM (16 years ago)
hello
Posted: at 21-01-2009 02:16 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- digitalman at 21-01-2009 02:38 PM (16 years ago)
Hi, feel special and unique small boi
Posted: at 21-01-2009 02:38 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Raphaels009 at 21-01-2009 06:05 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: WorldCitizen on 21-01-2009 01:34 PM
Quote from: Raphaels009 on 14-01-2009 03:54 PM
Post your comments....
As far as I'm concerned those who feel like that, are arrogant and self-sufficient. Nobody should in his right senses feel unique and special just because he got to a so-called better place!

They will always be nigerians, from the same village, with the same mum and dad. And they should never forget the hardship they've left behind.

To do so would be contrary to the african tradition of ubuntu, that is to say that we all live through the other. "I am who I am because of those around me", that is the essence of ubuntu philosophy, and it is what has made Africa survive through its ages of darkness.
I think you've made a right point there....it's not all...but those who feel that way are just being paranoid, arrogant, and maybe self sufficient...like you said..
Posted: at 21-01-2009 06:05 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- kunzles at 21-01-2009 06:10 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: digitalman on 20-01-2009 04:41 AM
Quote from: youngg20 on 20-01-2009 02:19 AM
we feel special,cuz...........we bag all the biddy's,get all the bread,get the fliest.......we make engines roar in big cars,and its not only Nigerians that treat other Nigerians who live abroad special,Nigerians abroad,also treat other Nigerians abroad special....like in my own case..;I live in New York City (the greatest city in the world),and when i go down to Maryland,Pennsylvania,New jersey....e.t.c,They treat me like Prince Charles.lol.....THAT'S JUST THE WAY IT IS................YA DIG? Grin
Grin Grin Grin, no mind them 4cks

This is dumbest of all comments....which part of NYC do you stay...the bronx/ New York is reputed to be close to Ajegunle, dirty, dangerous, filty and full of wannabe husstlers...you should be ashamed you live in New York and tripping...beleive me son...people in Maryland live far beter than the tathole you call homes in Ney Yor.k...if you wanna trip u stay abroad.....son come open with your achievements, status (illegal alliens can be in usa for 30 yrs without documentation and would be eaning 5 dollar per hour) your cllique in 9jeria and abroad....
Posted: at 21-01-2009 06:10 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- kunzles at 21-01-2009 06:20 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: Kemp on 19-01-2009 08:58 PM
this thread is childish..............
i think posta is high on drugs

Big Man can you beleive how some ppl staying abroad are responding...totally stupid...beleive it some of them are far worse than those in 9ija...take it easy man.....kunzles
Posted: at 21-01-2009 06:20 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- pet479 at 21-01-2009 07:42 PM (16 years ago)
becos they like to b in happy moment that no one will disturb there liffe,thats freedom of selfinterest
Posted: at 21-01-2009 07:42 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- black_samurai at 21-01-2009 11:48 PM (16 years ago)
It's not only nigerians abroad, many people from different underdeveloped country feels the same when they come back to their homeland.
The truth about all these is just that people in Naija made it so. If you come back from Europe or USA, you are always given a preferential treatment over those living at home, cos everyone believes you have money and they stand a chance of gaining or getting some from you.

Secondly, living in a developed world exposes you to the truth about living, you learn a lot and when you look back at your country and how things are being run, you get this impression they still have a long way to go, so when you come to spend time with them you see them do just about everything in a reversed way.

For me, each time I visit naija I do have people saying things like ... This guy too dey form! But I'm not the denge pose type just that coming to naija from italy, you are sure to be packed with designers and stuff.

Posted: at 21-01-2009 11:48 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- baloo at 21-01-2009 11:59 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: black_samurai on 21-01-2009 11:48 PM
It's not only nigerians abroad, many people from different underdeveloped country feels the same when they come back to their homeland.
The truth about all these is just that people in Naija made it so. If you come back from Europe or USA, you are always given a preferential treatment over those living at home, cos everyone believes you have money and they stand a chance of gaining or getting some from you.

Secondly, living in a developed world exposes you to the truth about living, you learn a lot and when you look back at your country and how things are being run, you get this impression they still have a long way to go, so when you come to spend time with them you see them do just about everything in a reversed way.

For me, each time I visit naija I do have people saying things like ... This guy too dey form! But I'm not the denge pose type just that coming to naija from italy, you are sure to be packed with designers and stuff.

true talk bro
Posted: at 21-01-2009 11:59 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackberryPearl at 22-01-2009 12:10 AM (16 years ago)
there is nothing special about us
Posted: at 22-01-2009 12:10 AM (16 years ago) | Hero
- Cdiva at 22-01-2009 02:02 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: kunzles on 21-01-2009 06:10 PM
Quote from: digitalman on 20-01-2009 04:41 AM
Quote from: youngg20 on 20-01-2009 02:19 AM
we feel special,cuz...........we bag all the biddy's,get all the bread,get the fliest.......we make engines roar in big cars,and its not only Nigerians that treat other Nigerians who live abroad special,Nigerians abroad,also treat other Nigerians abroad special....like in my own case..;I live in New York City (the greatest city in the world),and when i go down to Maryland,Pennsylvania,New jersey....e.t.c,They treat me like Prince Charles.lol.....THAT'S JUST THE WAY IT IS................YA DIG? Grin
Grin Grin Grin, no mind them 4cks

This is dumbest of all comments....which part of NYC do you stay...the bronx/ New York is reputed to be close to Ajegunle, dirty, dangerous, filty and full of wannabe husstlers...you should be ashamed you live in New York and tripping...beleive me son...people in Maryland live far beter than the tathole you call homes in Ney Yor.k...if you wanna trip u stay abroad.....son come open with your achievements, status (illegal alliens can be in usa for 30 yrs without documentation and would be eaning 5 dollar per hour) your cllique in 9jeria and abroad....

And what do u have against NY??
Posted: at 22-01-2009 02:02 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- serene_child at 22-01-2009 02:20 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: peacetee on 21-01-2009 11:40 AM
Quote from: serene_child on 21-01-2009 10:31 AM

does dat mean u are abroad  Undecided

Quote from: naijainct on 20-01-2009 01:34 AM
Fcuk being abroad. If I knew the US was this tough I would never had quit my good paying job to live here. Its unimaginable the kind of sh.t one have to put up with here just to get through school. Nigeria is the true FREE COUNTRY.

Broda a lot of peeps are in ur shoes, and I know a lot more who will kill for such an opportunity. Do the best you can in your new abode and with God being ur focus u will surely excel. 

lol....where do u want me to be?

Posted: at 22-01-2009 02:20 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackberryPearl at 22-01-2009 02:51 AM (16 years ago)
hmm
Posted: at 22-01-2009 02:51 AM (16 years ago) | Hero
- Vixenx at 22-01-2009 04:13 AM (16 years ago)
Why do most Nigerians abroad feel so special and unique?

ITS YOU! Tongue
Posted: at 22-01-2009 04:13 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onyinyenaija at 22-01-2009 06:29 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: digitalman on 20-01-2009 04:46 AM
Quote from: onyinyenaija on 19-01-2009 02:51 PM
never mind them, many of them are dying of hunger over there, dem go dey pooooseee, dem go dey denge denge... Grin Grin
but if them come back to naija, u'll be rushing them like tom tom, u go just fashi ur naija guy come dey follow the yankee guy like shadow. yeye

u'll rather queue up to see me when am back to naija...for the fact that ur tongue is flexible shouldn't be reason for u to twist it anyhow...better watch it.

Posted: at 22-01-2009 06:29 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- digitalman at 22-01-2009 07:41 AM (16 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 22-01-2009 07:41 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

1. I Had to Sell My House - Nollywood Actor, Tito Harrison Opens up His Health Struggles (VID)

2. What You Should Know About The New Pope Leo XIV, Born Robert Francis Prevost

3. Moment A Man Stole iPhone 14 Pro Max & Samsung Phone While Salesgirls Were in Deep Sleep

4. President Tinubu Approves The Appointment of Ms. Usoro Akpabio as MD of SSDC

5. JAMB Set to Release 2025 UTME Results Today

6. IPOB Leader, Nnamdi Kanu Clears The Air On His Role in 2020 #EndSARS Protest

7. Man Madu Simon Arrested As NAFDAC Bust Lagos Outlet Where Expired Drinks Are Sold (VID)

8. Resolve The Crisis in Your Party First Before Talking About Nigeria - Akpabio Tackles Peter Obi

9. VIDEO: President Tinubu Shows Off His Dancing Skills During His Visit in Anambra

10. Passengers Killed, Vehicles Set Ablaze As Gunmen Attack Commercial Bus in Imo

11. We’ve 28 More Witnesses Against Yahaya Bello – EFCC Tells Court

12. PHOTOS: Actress Chizzy Alichi Makes First Public Appearance Days After Child Birth

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. VIDEO: Latest Update on VeryDarkMan's Situation From EFCC Custody

4. Alex Ekubo's New Appearance Sparks Reactions As He's Spotted After Social Media Break

5. Prophecy Resurfaces As Pastor’s Warning To VeryDarkMan Goes Viral After Arrest (Photos)

6. NEW POPE: Burkina Faso Cardinal Could Be Dropped For Not Knowing His Birthday

7. Woman Sparks Outrage Over Post Urging Abroad-Based Men to Avoid Igbo Wives Without Prenup

8. FRESH EVIDENCE! CCTV Footage Disproves Claims Of VeryDarkMan’s Arrest Inside GTBank (Video)

9. "Green For A New Beginning": Annie Macaulay Embraces Fresh Chapter After Split from 2Baba

10. #FreeVDM: GTBank Faces Mass Withdrawals As Fans Rally Behind VeryDarkMan Over Alleged Arrest