Wole Soyinka top Boko Haram’s Hit List

Date: 06-02-2012 4:26 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 6-02-2012 04:26 PM (12 years ago)
Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka has disclosed that he is one of the prominent Nigerians on the list of Boko Haram sect marked for assassination.

In a down-to-earth interview with TheNEWS magazine which is circulated within outside Nigeria this week, Soyinka revealed that he was not only on the sect’s assassination list but very close to the top.

Soyinka said he has reported this to the security operatives in the country and they confirmed the information but he expressed disappointment that the security operatives have not taken action on the threat.

He said: “The reason for this programme (elimination) which I know is very much their third phase, is that those pushing this agenda know very well that this could be the last straw that will break the camel’s back. And they would rather this country broke up and possibly in an inferno than continue to accept the loss, even though temporal loss of power in this country. For these people, government is the only business around.”

The Nobel Laureate said he was not against dialogue but the Boko Haram sect did not make public their demands so that they could sit at a round table with government.

He added that dialogue does not require a group to constitute itself into a terror, stating that PRONACO which he joined during former President Obasanjo’s administration successful organised its conference, amended the constitution of Nigeria and presented the document to the government without violence.

Soyinka said he cannot be cowed into submission by the Boko Haram or any other violent group, stressing, “I believe that one should not beg for existence. If the price of not coming to table is that you want to eliminate me, and you can do so, please do so. I am 77.

“Please, come to the debating table, but you will not persuade me simply because you have the capacity to blow me and my family up. You can simply go ahead, blow us up if you think that is the way you can do your conversation. But you will not bomb me to sit with you at table,” he insisted.

Soyinka said President Jonathan is underestimating the desperation of the forces behind the Boko Haram sect not considering the Islamic struggle in countries like Iraq where fundamentalist Islamic groups attack one another even in their sanctuary of worship and they retaliate with higher casualty figure.

Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:26 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 6-02-2012 04:27 PM (12 years ago)
am not surprise

Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:27 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 6-02-2012 04:28 PM (12 years ago)
uncircumcised set of pple

Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:28 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 6-02-2012 04:31 PM (12 years ago)
boko leave pa Soyinka alone oo
Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- fehinty at 6-02-2012 04:32 PM (12 years ago)
Wole Soyinka. If God be for u, who will b against u.
Expect the Lord build a house, the labourers labour in "vain"
Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:32 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- blings_is_back at 6-02-2012 04:34 PM (12 years ago)
dey no fit do anything
Posted: at 6-02-2012 04:34 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- amric at 6-02-2012 07:05 PM (12 years ago)
blood of Jesus!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: at 6-02-2012 07:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bachelorette at 6-02-2012 07:21 PM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 6-02-2012 07:21 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MEND at 6-02-2012 07:42 PM (12 years ago)
Even me dey d list. but I go finish all of dem b4 dem reach wia I dey
Posted: at 6-02-2012 07:42 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MEND at 6-02-2012 10:56 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 6-02-2012 10:56 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bachelorette at 6-02-2012 11:02 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: MEND on  6-02-2012 07:42 PM
Even me dey d list. but I go finish all of dem b4 dem reach wia I dey

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 6-02-2012 11:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 7-02-2012 12:13 AM (12 years ago)
Dem no fit

Posted: at 7-02-2012 12:13 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sagiru at 7-02-2012 06:05 AM (12 years ago)
Dz's gr8 lie!!! if dz poster doesn't have anytn which'll bring peace 2 dz country,,he beta shotup plz...i agree d@ Boko r d set of bood-sucking group,,but w@'ll be d effect of asassinationg Soyinka??? w@'s his enemity wit d Boko or d Govt?Huh? They don't use 2 kill individuals who doesn't concern in their appears as i guess....**may God bring peace 2 dz country**
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:05 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 7-02-2012 06:21 AM (12 years ago)
how did he know ?
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:21 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- malvin2525 at 7-02-2012 06:22 AM (12 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:22 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Hollandear at 7-02-2012 07:31 AM (12 years ago)
On the alert!

Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:31 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- divyne at 7-02-2012 07:38 AM (12 years ago)
But t his is getting too much na!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please Boko leave us alone.....u hear???
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- divyne at 7-02-2012 07:40 AM (12 years ago)
But t his is getting too much na!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please Boko leave us alone.....u hear???
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:40 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ucbooo at 7-02-2012 07:44 AM (12 years ago)
Prof. Wole Soyinka noting go happen to you, but i want to let you know that no only you de in the list, AJJANI The new boss of Bokok Haram has add my name, but Hi is in me is more greater than he that is Ajjani and Bokok Haram Let them come i will fight then and will won sure be not afraid  
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:44 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- fuckinjoe at 7-02-2012 07:59 AM (12 years ago)
hahahaha  wole soyinka on the list of muhammadeens, he that is in you is greater than he that is in them...........keep sailing my prof.

Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5