My problem with Rivers governor: Nigeria's First Lady Opens Up Finally

Date: 18-07-2013 6:36 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
[1] 2 3 4
- at 18-07-2013 06:36 AM (10 years ago)
Contrary to her earlier denials of involvement in the political crisis rocking Rivers State, wife of   President Goodluck  Jonathan,  Patience,  on Wednesday opened up on the  matter.

She told 16 bishops from the South-South, who visited her at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, that her misunderstanding with Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, started about four years ago in Anyugubiri in Okrika when she appealed to him  to engage  her people in dialogue instead of  demolishing  a part of their community.

Mrs. Jonathan  said the governor, whom she described as   “hot tempered,” did not only ignore her advice,  he went  a step further  by  sacking the chairman of  the  local government for holding a reception in her honour.

According to her, Amaechi did not only stop at those, he imposed a   curfew on the community, which is where she hails from.

She said all her pleas with the governor to lift the curfew fell on deaf ears.

Although the President’s wife told the visiting bishops that  she had since committed the Rivers  crisis to God,  she  decided to open up for the first time on it so that they  could pray to God to touch Amaechi’s heart.

She said, “Rivers State issue is one thing I have  committed to prayer because I believe there is nothing God cannot do. God restored me and I will do His work without the fear of man. The truth will always remain the truth and what God ordains must come to pass and so Rivers issue is something we have handed   over to God.

“This matter started four years ago at Anyugubiri in Okrika when I begged him not to demolish a part of Okrika but that he should dialogue first with the people. After that incident, he called the chairman of Okrika Local Government and sacked him for holding a reception in our honour; that boy was the first victim.

“He also put my people under curfew for nine months. I called him and pleaded with him but he refused. Then I began to hear all sorts of propaganda in the media against me; this is not the way.

“I have never spoken about this issue but as men of God, I believe you will say the truth always because there are a lot of conflicting interests; some will hear one thing and say the exact opposite.

“I also want you to know the genesis of this problem and pray that God touches Amaechi’s heart as per his hot temper because when two elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.’’

Mrs. Jonathan urged the governor to sheathe the sword and allow peace to reign in the state.

She said as her son, she could not be fighting the governor.

She also urged the governor to avoid being used by outsiders to fight “his own blood.”

She added, “I appeal to Amaechi to sheathe his sword so that we can defend our state and this country with love, unity, patriotism and truth at all time.

“Hebrews 12:14 urges us to embrace peace with all men without which, we cannot see God. Amaechi is my son, I cannot fight him and I cannot kill him. He shouldn’t be used by outsiders against his own blood because this seat is vanity.

“One day, no matter how long it takes, we will leave this seat. Power is not forever. This seat is vanity, others sat here and left, so one day I will also leave and we will meet at home; so why should I fight him?

“Let’s take it easy and  face issues. Let’s stop magnifying lies; we must    respect our leaders and people in authority. Let’s give peace a chance.”

Earlier,  the leader of the delegation, Bishop God-Do-Well Awomapara, said they  decided to visit the wife of the President to unravel the mysteries surrounding the crisis in the state and mediate in order to find a lasting solution to it.

“Our  visit is significant in view of emerging situations in our region. We are on a quest to unravel the mysteries surrounding the Rivers issue and mediate where necessary,” he said.

Mrs. Jonathan’s spokesman, Mr. Ayo Osinlu, later issued a statement  in which  she again called  on  all those involved in the   crisis to sheathe their swords  and find ways to restore peace to the state.

The statement reads in part, “Dame Jonathan particularly appealed to Governor  Amaechi to fly the olive branch, and resist being used by outsiders against his own people.

“While giving an insight into the genesis of the crisis in the state, she reiterated the need for the warring factions to employ dialogue as a means of resolving the contending issues amicably.

“The First Lady urged those who are crying more than the bereaved to stop magnifying the misunderstanding, while reiterating that Governor  Amaechi and Mr. Nyeson Wike (Minister of State for Education) remain her sons, brothers and kinsmen, and would do anything to protect both of them.

Reacting, the State Commissioner for Information and Communications, Mrs. Ibim Semenitari, said the governor did not demolish the houses around a school in Angubiri, Okirika, as advised by Mrs. Jonathan.
Semenitari, who recalled what happened in Okirika when the President’s wife visited, said the school shown to Mrs. Jonathan by the governor had no playground, adding that a playground and other facilities could only be provided if some houses around the school were demolished.

“The First Lady advised against it and the governor did not demolish the houses. The school is still there without a playground. This issue happened a long time ago. What I don’t understand is that she still bears that in mind,” the commissioner added.

On the allegation that Amaechi imposed a nine-month curfew on the people of Okrika, Semenitari disagreed with Mrs. Jonathan, saying, “Even the First Lady had said several times that one of the achievements of the governor was that he (Amaechi) brought peace to Okrika and that people could sleep with both eyes closed.”

On her description of Amaechi as hot-tempered, the commissioner pointed out that she could not say anything about it since it was the President’s wife’s personal opinion.

Semenitari, however, expressed satisfaction with Mrs. Jonathan’s warning to those using her name to forment trouble to desist from such act.

“What I think is good to hear is that she has no problem with the governor (Amaechi) and that those using her name to cause crisis will stop doing so,” the commissioner stressed.

“She expressed her commitment to ensuring that peace returns to Rivers State soon, stating that as the President of African First Ladies Peace Mission, her desire is to have peace in her home base.”

Posted: at 18-07-2013 06:36 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- brainyme at 18-07-2013 07:00 AM (10 years ago)
You had that in mind for 4 years? Shocked. Anyways, out of the abundance of a heart, the mouth speaketh. You've not said it all. I'm waiting for the remaining part Tongue
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:00 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- merion at 18-07-2013 07:12 AM (10 years ago)
welcome
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:12 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shegzan at 18-07-2013 07:23 AM (10 years ago)
Kk nah!

Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:23 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 18-07-2013 07:31 AM (10 years ago)
kk
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:31 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- whisperNaija at 18-07-2013 07:34 AM (10 years ago)
This people are desperate A̶̲̥̅̊nϑ   shameless......

Pls click HERE for sexy entertainment gist
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:34 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- micc at 18-07-2013 07:35 AM (10 years ago)
This woman should give peace a chance na haba.
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:35 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 18-07-2013 07:37 AM (10 years ago)
we hear her..
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:37 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 18-07-2013 07:51 AM (10 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:51 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- edusouls at 18-07-2013 07:54 AM (10 years ago)
Politicians and lies, so who is telling the truth.
Posted: at 18-07-2013 07:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingcalors at 18-07-2013 08:24 AM (10 years ago)
Both Dame Patience Jonathan & Gov. Rotexy Amaechi should be under one 'UMBLERA' so as to form  peace and unity in Rivers State. Kpichikom !
Posted: at 18-07-2013 08:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Noble12 at 18-07-2013 08:34 AM (10 years ago)
hmmm
Posted: at 18-07-2013 08:34 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etibaba at 18-07-2013 08:56 AM (10 years ago)
So she expects him to harken to u.

Posted: at 18-07-2013 08:56 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 18-07-2013 09:00 AM (10 years ago)
WHAT IS ACTUALLY GOING ON IN OUR COUNTRY? WHO IS RUNNING THE COUNTRY FOR GOD'S SAKE? IS IT THE HEAD OF STATE OR HIS WIFE? WHERE IN THE WORLD DOES A FIRST LADY GETS INVOLVED IN POLITICS? WHAT KIND OF COUNTRY IS NIGERIA? WHY ALL THESE SETBACKS AND MISUNDERSTANDING? INSTEAD OF FINDING POSSIBLE WAYS TO BETTER PEOPLE'S LIVES THEY ENGAGE IS FRUITLESS ISSUES.
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:00 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 18-07-2013 09:08 AM (10 years ago)
Dis is just part of those  political abrakatabra the more u look, the less u see, the more u hear the less u understand.
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:08 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 18-07-2013 09:11 AM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes seat people
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:11 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- janelle01 at 18-07-2013 09:12 AM (10 years ago)
Seen!
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:12 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- BlueIxora at 18-07-2013 09:16 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:16 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 18-07-2013 09:17 AM (10 years ago)
 Cool dnt like reading trash pls
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:17 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- frajoe2reel at 18-07-2013 09:19 AM (10 years ago)
she says amechi is ha son,u believe her dis is anoda gbagan 4rm ha
Posted: at 18-07-2013 09:19 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

3. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

9. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

10. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

11. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

12. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

13. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

14. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

15. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

16. Despite Men’s Craziness, Women Can’t Do Without Them Says Singer, Tiwa Savage

17. BBN Venita Called A ‘Bully’ After Neo Shares Family Ordeal With One

18. Victim Of Police Shooting Not Our Student – LAUTECH Denies Report

19. Heartbreaking; Man Losses Wife And Baby After 14 Years Of Barrenness

20. Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello, Group Tells EFCC

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office