Christmas Is Good, We'll Celebrate It -- Catholics Reply Kumuyi

Date: 23-12-2013 9:27 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 23-12-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago)

The Director of Social Communications, Catholic Archdiocese of Lagos, Monsignor Gabriel Osu, reacting to Pastor Kumuyi’s proclamation about the celebration of Christmas, said:

“I don’t know what he means by saying the practice of celebrating Christmas is wrong. “Is he saying that Christ wasn’t born? That he didn’t come to die for us? Does he not celebrate his own birthday?

"Do Kumuyi’s pastors not celebrate him? It is not everything I react to; some people just seek attention. If Kumuyi is a Christian, then he must believe in Christ.

“The celebration of Christmas didn’t just start today; it is too public an event for anyone to say that they don’t know what it is about. If Kumuyi is condemning the commercialisation of Christmas, I can understand that. Christ came to redeem us from our lost state; this was actualised through his coming, his birth; that is why we celebrate Christmas. It is the fulfilment of God’s promise.

“I saw him on the television a few days ago. He was in Akwa Ibom State and was the chief preacher during their Christmas celebration event. Kumuyi is just saying what he feels; he is not making any doctrinal statement.”

On his part, the spokesperson for the Christian Association of Nigeria, Oshodi chapter, Lagos State, Pastor Barnabas Otoibhi, said that Christmas is worth celebrating. Otoibhi told Punch in a telephone interview that the origin of Christmas was not as important as its essence.

He said, “The origin of Christmas, as we know it, could be traced to Roman Emperor, Constantine. Christmas was a day for celebrating the Sun God. However, because Constantine was a Christian, the day was changed to commemorate the birth of Jesus Christ.

“The tradition has continued to date and since the aim of Christmas is to celebrate Jesus since there is nothing bad in honouring Jesus. Also, the worship of the Sun God was done in Rome and not everywhere in the world, so it is not part of our history.”

Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 23-12-2013 09:37 AM (10 years ago)
FIRST TO COMMENT   Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:37 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 23-12-2013 09:40 AM (10 years ago)
Kumuyi is trying to tell you that Christmas is PAGAN and nothing more.

Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:40 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emekaeneh at 23-12-2013 09:43 AM (10 years ago)
I wish you all merry christmas and a prosperous new year
Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:43 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 23-12-2013 09:46 AM (10 years ago)
Whoever want to celebrate xmas shld do so. Pple shld stop luking for cheap publicity to confuse d weak heart christian
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:46 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- micc at 23-12-2013 09:49 AM (10 years ago)
Happy Christmas to Kumuyi.
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:49 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Ausnowx at 23-12-2013 09:54 AM (10 years ago)
yeeeeeeeeeessssss...we gat to celebrate i full time. i dont care who thinks he/s ho p Jesus...
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ausnowx at 23-12-2013 09:54 AM (10 years ago)
yeeeeeeeeeessssss...we gat to celebrate it full time. i dont care who thinks he/she holy pass Jesus...
Posted: at 23-12-2013 09:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ThoRam at 23-12-2013 10:17 AM (10 years ago)
good  Cheesy Cheesy    
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:17 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Garethhills at 23-12-2013 10:25 AM (10 years ago)
Mum christians, confused group of homo sapiens....
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:25 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Garethhills at 23-12-2013 10:26 AM (10 years ago)
mumu christians, confused group of homo erectus.
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:26 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 23-12-2013 10:36 AM (10 years ago)
I always laugh at the way people on earth try to out think our Lord and saviour. They think their " well thougt through" comments impress God and He is clapping their hands at every word that comes out of their mouth.

We firgot his thoughts are not our thoughts and our ways are not His ways. Do we really think in Heaven now there is pandemonium and heartache because the world decided that out of 365 days in a year - one day has been chosen (correct or not) to commemorate the birth of our Lord and saviour
around the world?

I think people who are trying to get the whole world to do away with this celebration are the ones who are really trying to push God to the background. They want to portray him as a God of only specific denominations.

We all believe God created the world. This means every person with their different religious beliefs and so forth.

God was in place and WORSHIPPED  before the term "christianity" was first used. Jesus was born before the word "christianity" was born.

God is not human and does not behave like us. If you wish to walk around for 365 days of the year in a long skirt and your hair under a scarf, it does not make you better than someone who does not. If you celebrate christmas and someone else does not, it does not make one better than the other.

This is the one period in the  year when people all over the world have a bigger smile on their faces - not because of any government or pastor but because its the season for goodwill and who us responsible for this
   "JESUS IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON!"

Happy christmas everyone!!!
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:36 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 23-12-2013 10:46 AM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin No be today we dey hear all these Gospel. GKS was saying October, Jehovah witness came with their own ideology, Deeper life don join them. We are waiting for Winners, Redeemed, Fire & Mountain, Chris Okotie, Cele, Cherubim, Zion Movement, Apostolic, T.B Josh. and co to declare their stand. As for me I will celebrate with my last BLOOD since he shared his BLOOD on the CROSS for us to be save.    
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:46 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 23-12-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool This Pastor made people to sell their Televisions between 1983 to 1985 saying is a sin to watch Television, today they preach through the media. Please Pastor come and pay for my father's T.V Set. becos he sold it to follow you, only for you to turn around and be preaching through Plasma TV, you don start another one again?Huh???
Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 23-12-2013 10:56 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: mathzno on 23-12-2013 10:51 AM
Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool This Pastor made people to sell their Televisions between 1983 to 1985 saying is a sin to watch Television, today they preach through the media. Please Pastor come and pay for my father's T.V Set. becos he sold it to follow you, only for you to turn around and be preaching through Plasma TV, you don start another one again?Huh???

He may not hear you here. Take him to court, you have a right to.

Posted: at 23-12-2013 10:56 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 23-12-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago)
God has been from the beginning of time.

Jesus was born before people started calling themselves "christians."

I am sure that  the first people who called themselves "christians" will also have something to complaint about every single christian denomination in vogue now!

JESUS IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON of christmas.

Happy christmas.

Posted: at 23-12-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 23-12-2013 11:20 AM (10 years ago)
Cheesy
Posted: at 23-12-2013 11:20 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- mirianne at 23-12-2013 11:28 AM (10 years ago)
I don't understand these so called men of God. Many seem to arrogate to themselves the wisdom they do not have. Confused men. Today Chris Okotie, tommorrow Kumuyi.  These two men should go and solve their problems.
Posted: at 23-12-2013 11:28 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- rosco4luv at 23-12-2013 11:30 AM (10 years ago)
Wia is it in d bible dat Jesus was born on 25th of Dec.
Posted: at 23-12-2013 11:30 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- fidel2luvgi at 23-12-2013 12:12 PM (10 years ago)
who ask u to celebrate xmas? u have not don d things u are directly asked to do, na the pegan associated customs wey no one ask no one to celebrate with all the life it claims every year u must do?
Posted: at 23-12-2013 12:12 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5