Kenya female lawmakers stage walkout as polygamy law is passed

Date: 21-03-2014 5:58 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Clement
- at 21-03-2014 05:58 PM (10 years ago)

It was a sitting filled with drama today in Kenya's parliament as female members of the assembly staged a walkout during proceedings in the parliament. Their grievance was as a result of a new law their male counterparts all favored which they see as derogatory to the rights of Kenyan women.

Prior to today when the Kenyan Marriage Amended Bill was passed into law, it was customary in Kenya for men to seek the permission of their first wife before bringing in another woman as second wife or even marry as many as they want. The men obviously woke up from their slumber and decided to remove that clause in their constitution and this infuriated the women big time. Continue..

Mohammed Junet, an MP representing a constituency from the western Nyanza province,

"When you marry an African woman, she must know the second one is on the way and a third wife… this is Africa," Kenya's Capital News website quotes him as saying.

MPs Aden Duale, Jakoyo Midiwo and Junet Mohammed said it was against tradition to seek consent to marry a second wife and claimed their female colleagues had an ulterior motive in trying to push for the clause.

"I want my Christian brothers to read the Old Testament, King David and King Solomon never consulted anybody to marry a second wife," said Duale.

The women would have none of those talk as they believe it is a sign of respect for a man to discuss with his wife his intention to marry a second wife. MP Soipan Tuya says"It behoves you to be man enough to agree that your wife and family should know".

Despite their walkout, the bill was still passed into law as the men outnumbered the women in the parliament when voting was required.

The law on a brighter side enables Kenyan women to have 30%of any property the couple acquires during marriage and she can go with it even after divorce. The bill amongst other things also bans marriages of anyone below 18, and does not recognize live-in-lovers known as "come-make-we-stay" in Kenya.
http://www.clemmag.com/kenya-female-lawmakers-stage-walkout-polygamy-law-passed/

Posted: at 21-03-2014 05:58 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- yettyness at 21-03-2014 11:16 PM (10 years ago)
them they know joor.
Posted: at 21-03-2014 11:16 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 22-03-2014 12:45 AM (10 years ago)
nothing was changed. polygamy has always been, and will still remain a part of African culture for a long time. 
Posted: at 22-03-2014 12:45 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- escapedprince at 22-03-2014 01:01 AM (10 years ago)
That's a very good legislation, except the part where the woman gets 30% of property acquired during marriage.  A man should have the prerogative to marry as many wife as he can, it was never plainly written in the Bible that a man should stick to one wife, my style of Christianity refuses to accept this one wife in a life time dogma . !!!!  
Posted: at 22-03-2014 01:01 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 22-03-2014 01:04 AM (10 years ago)
Kenyans if dis is d only problem ur country has,u ppl dnt hv trouble @all.
Posted: at 22-03-2014 01:04 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 22-03-2014 01:08 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: escapedprince on 22-03-2014 01:01 AM
That's a very good legislation, except the part where the woman gets 30% of property acquired during marriage.  A man should have the prerogative to marry as many wife as he can, it was never plainly written in the Bible that a man should stick to one wife, my style of Christianity refuses to accept this one wife in a life time dogma . !!!!  

Ur ego will get d beta part of u. Wot do u tke thez days women 4? Do u fink we re fools 2 jst accept such constitutn witout a fight? No way. Dnt get it twistd,no nig woman will accept dis useles law.
Posted: at 22-03-2014 01:08 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 22-03-2014 03:07 AM (10 years ago)
Polygamy no bi by force.....if yu no like make yu no agree or enter di tin........

These women that walked out in protest are bunch hypocrites....
...............I am sure they have multiple boyfriends or partners..

I am not a polygamist but it is a matter of choice....
We have more important issues in life than sex......
Posted: at 22-03-2014 03:07 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 22-03-2014 05:32 AM (10 years ago)
Irrelivant issues
Posted: at 22-03-2014 05:32 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 22-03-2014 05:48 AM (10 years ago)
see them..
Posted: at 22-03-2014 05:48 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kingcalors at 22-03-2014 06:14 AM (10 years ago)
Fake, Nonsense law which will breed waywardness and HIV (AIDS)
Posted: at 22-03-2014 06:14 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- escapedprince at 22-03-2014 07:06 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Topsylucas on 22-03-2014 01:08 AM
Ur ego will get d beta part of u. Wot do u tke thez days women 4? Do u fink we re fools 2 jst accept such constitutn witout a fight? No way. Dnt get it twistd,no nig woman will accept dis useles law.
Lady, don't show me you claws or I'll hack it off !  This is not about my ego but it's the natural order of things. Now let me ask you a question, if you're a married woman with say two kids and your husband brings another wife what will you do ?   In African tradition a man reserves the right  to take as many wife as he can,  if you're a Christian, and you say it's against the law of Christianity, tell me where it is written in the Bible, that a man must marry only one wife?  Even some men who acquiesce to the demeaning policy of one wife still keep scores of concubines outside of their matrimonial home, so what's the big difference ?
 Monogamy is nothing but a tool of oppression against the men, formulated by misguided women liberation gangs and their compeers, these days some smart guys avoid both the church and court wedding  and stick to the old system of marriage .!!!
Posted: at 22-03-2014 07:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- glorykay at 22-03-2014 08:20 AM (10 years ago)
So una nor get better tin to discus. Na una problem b dis ?
Posted: at 22-03-2014 08:20 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dondada4040 at 22-03-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago)
I'm relocating to Kenya abeg, this naija babes no dey loyal at all, especially if cash no dey.
Posted: at 22-03-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Makodama at 22-03-2014 12:02 PM (10 years ago)
I think I need 4 bottles of beer,I am too sober to understand this topic.

Posted: at 22-03-2014 12:02 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollypiper at 22-03-2014 01:14 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: escapedprince on 22-03-2014 01:01 AM
  oh yes it does  Gen 2vs 24, Eph 5vs31, Matt 19vs5 Mark 10vs7 dont change His words to suite yourself
Posted: at 22-03-2014 01:14 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ObyWBabaK at 22-03-2014 01:33 PM (10 years ago)
ok o
Posted: at 22-03-2014 01:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 22-03-2014 03:18 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: escapedprince on 22-03-2014 07:06 AM
Lady, don't show me you claws or I'll hack it off !  This is not about my ego but it's the natural order of things. Now let me ask you a question, if you're a married woman with say two kids and your husband brings another wife what will you do ?   In African tradition a man reserves the right  to take as many wife as he can,  if you're a Christian, and you say it's against the law of Christianity, tell me where it is written in the Bible, that a man must marry only one wife?  Even some men who acquiesce to the demeaning policy of one wife still keep scores of concubines outside of their matrimonial home, so what's the big difference ?
 Monogamy is nothing but a tool of oppression against the men, formulated by misguided women liberation gangs and their compeers, these days some smart guys avoid both the church and court wedding  and stick to the old system of marriage .!!!

My claws aint got nofin 2 do wif dis,I'll actualy file ur talons. If ure lookin 4 d bible verse wher polygamy is nt encouragd,hw abt when GOD says "he who finds a wife finds a gd fin". Why ddnt He say "wives"? & hw bout wher d bible says "a man wil leave his parent & cleave un2 a woman & dey shall bcom 1"? So my guy,dnt twist things 2 suit ur batterd ego. If u like marry 10 women in ur houz  & kip as many as 20 on d side,its ur cup of garri. Wen its time 2 dance 2 d beat ure playin,dnt cme 2 naijapals 2 complain 2 d admin.
Posted: at 22-03-2014 03:18 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 22-03-2014 04:24 PM (10 years ago)
polygamy is african thin, this is 21 century african women are geting wiser every day
Posted: at 22-03-2014 04:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- escapedprince at 22-03-2014 07:16 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Topsylucas on 22-03-2014 03:18 PM
My claws aint got nofin 2 do wif dis,I'll actualy file ur talons. If ure lookin 4 d bible verse wher polygamy is nt encouragd,hw abt when GOD says "he who finds a wife finds a gd fin". Why ddnt He say "wives"? & hw bout wher d bible says "a man wil leave his parent & cleave un2 a woman & dey shall bcom 1"? So my guy,dnt twist things 2 suit ur batterd ego. If u like marry 10 women in ur houz  & kip as many as 20 on d side,its ur cup of garri. Wen its time 2 dance 2 d beat ure playin,dnt cme 2 naijapals 2 complain 2 d admin.
You're very rude !  You keep yapping about my ego like We've known each other before this forum,   you know you could still make your points without personalizing issues, What is this beat or dance you've imagined that I'm playing ??  I hope you're not talking about having a fight with me here ?  Well, Whatever it is, I'll let it slide for now,  but for your information I wouldn't need the help of Naijapals admin to squash a bug ! 

1)"He who finds a wife finds a good thing"
2)"a man will leave his parents and cling unto a woman and they shall become one

Those are your biblical points of argument in support of a monogamous marriage, the above points are not relevant to the topic, they are rather the codes of peaceful coexistence in a marriage, moreover they are not a specific or direct command from GOD or Jesus Christ. It was not an injunction against polygamy .

Now check out guys like Jacob, David , Solomon and a host of others, they had many wives and GOD loved them, if polygamy was against the laws of GOD he would forbidden them to marry many wives, GOD would have been forthright, just as he is in the Ten Commandments.   
Posted: at 22-03-2014 07:16 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 22-03-2014 07:39 PM (10 years ago)
coming pls Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-03-2014 07:39 PM (10 years ago) | Hero