militants...

Date: 31-07-2008 12:06 am (15 years ago) | Author: kayjay strange
- at 31-07-2008 12:06 AM (15 years ago)
can someone please tell me what exactly they are fighthin for?

Posted: at 31-07-2008 12:06 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blesyn at 2-08-2008 02:22 PM (15 years ago)
Hi, Khadijah. The truth of this matter that no one seem to know is that the word 'militants' is really not the right word to call these people. I am opportuned to have a father who lectures at the Niger Delta University, Amassoma, Bayelsa State and I have also been there about 3 times spending nothing less than 2 weeks on each trip and I found out something significant, everybody sees the Niger Delta region as a problematic place in Nigeria but it is not. It surprises me that you don't even see these so called militants on the road not to talk of identifying them. These militants are deep in the creeks. They kidnap only those who are against there progress or people close to such people. They are really figthing for their land because development is at its bearest minimum in the Niger Delta region. Everywhere is filled with water construction of houses is difficult and where you are able to build your house, in the next few days, an oil company might spot oil under your building and they will surely destroy your house but will pay you compensation but the truth of the matter is that the compensation paid cannot be valued to your house, though it is much more money paid but it can't perfectly fit into the house you laboured over and that was pulled down, cars are expensive and life is also generally expensive. And from the ulterations of the government, you will see that the government is only interested in what they will get from that region, not what they can do for them. These 'militants' are really fighting for the right course and come to think of it, no one gets kidnapped by them and is killed or rough handled, they are returned safe and sound. I wish you can do there and see for yourself. The Niger Delta region is very peaceful and okay. These people don't attack ordinary people, but influential people.
Posted: at 2-08-2008 02:22 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 3-08-2008 01:01 AM (15 years ago)
but what do they use the ransome for..
Posted: at 3-08-2008 01:01 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 3-08-2008 01:52 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Blesyn on  2-08-2008 02:22 PM
Hi, Khadijah. The truth of this matter that no one seem to know is that the word 'militants' is really not the right word to call these people. I am opportuned to have a father who lectures at the Niger Delta University, Amassoma, Bayelsa State and I have also been there about 3 times spending nothing less than 2 weeks on each trip and I found out something significant, everybody sees the Niger Delta region as a problematic place in Nigeria but it is not. It surprises me that you don't even see these so called militants on the road not to talk of identifying them. These militants are deep in the creeks. They kidnap only those who are against there progress or people close to such people. They are really figthing for their land because development is at its bearest minimum in the Niger Delta region. Everywhere is filled with water construction of houses is difficult and where you are able to build your house, in the next few days, an oil company might spot oil under your building and they will surely destroy your house but will pay you compensation but the truth of the matter is that the compensation paid cannot be valued to your house, though it is much more money paid but it can't perfectly fit into the house you laboured over and that was pulled down, cars are expensive and life is also generally expensive. And from the ulterations of the government, you will see that the government is only interested in what they will get from that region, not what they can do for them. These 'militants' are really fighting for the right course and come to think of it, no one gets kidnapped by them and is killed or rough handled, they are returned safe and sound. I wish you can do there and see for yourself. The Niger Delta region is very peaceful and okay. These people don't attack ordinary people, but influential people.
dude u captured the reality succinctly.
Posted: at 3-08-2008 01:52 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 3-08-2008 01:57 AM (15 years ago)
but i'm yet to see wat they use the ransome for?
Posted: at 3-08-2008 01:57 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ebiks at 3-08-2008 04:58 PM (15 years ago)
The militants are only fighting for developments and the betterment of the people of the niger delta they are fighting a good fight but in a wrong way
Posted: at 3-08-2008 04:58 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 17-08-2008 03:08 PM (15 years ago)
Now,let's get this cleared.There are true militants & there are profiteers.The true militants are a product of the Niger Delta crisis,viz: the crisis of development and the crisis of instability.The true militants are those fighting to put issues related to the abject state of the Niger Delta in the National Agenda.They are people trying to ingrain the sorry state of human existence in the Niger Delta in popular consciousness.They are people that want the Nigerian state to pay attention to the goose that lay the golden egg.They are people that want the Oil multinationals & their partner the Nigeria state to protect our environment,even as they steal our Oil.This is what sustainable development is about,after all.The true militants are freedom fighters.The militants dont ask 4 ransom.now let's talk about the profiteers.

The profiteers are those who ve taken undue advantage of the crisis to pursue their parochial interest.They are those who are in the struggle for their personal aggrandizement.They are those who ve turn the Niger Delta crisis into a business.They are the once who kidnap people for ransom.They are the once who kidnap innocent little children,who do not know anything about the crisis.They are the once who ve turn the crisis into venture to achieve personal ends However,you should know that,anywhere there is fake,there is an original.Cus the fake is only an imitation of the authentic.

For more on this,read

Ibaba,S.Ibaba, "UNDERSTANDING THE NIGER DELTA CRISIS",Port Harcourt:Amythst & colleagues publishers,2006.
Posted: at 17-08-2008 03:08 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 18-08-2008 02:12 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: khadijah on  3-08-2008 01:57 AM
but i'm yet to see wat they use the ransome for?

Quote from: Godsson on 17-08-2008 03:08 PM
The militants dont ask 4 ransom.now let's talk about the profiteers.

However,you should know that,anywhere there is fake,there is an original.Cus the fake is only an imitation of the authentic.

they ask 4 ransom. by the way how do we know the real from the fake?

Posted: at 18-08-2008 02:12 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 18-08-2008 10:04 PM (15 years ago)
By their fruit,ye shall know them.Most of those talking about militants here ve never seen 1 in real life.Thus,U should listen 2 intellectuals that ve.& not some bias report from persons living in Abuja or Kano.
Posted: at 18-08-2008 10:04 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 31-08-2008 11:53 PM (15 years ago)
at least some of us have heard from the horse's mouth....lol
Posted: at 31-08-2008 11:53 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 1-09-2008 12:18 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: khadijah on 31-08-2008 11:53 PM
at least some of us have heard from the horse's mouth....lol

I wonder which horses ve started talking.LOL!
Posted: at 1-09-2008 12:18 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 1-09-2008 01:27 AM (15 years ago)
so you are yet to see whein?in dis naija...?
Posted: at 1-09-2008 01:27 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- TheTruth at 3-09-2008 01:20 AM (15 years ago)
Now,let's get this cleared.There are true militants & there are profiteers.The true militants are a product of the Niger Delta crisis,viz: the crisis of development and the crisis of instability.The true militants are those fighting to put issues related to the abject state of the Niger Delta in the National Agenda.They are people trying to ingrain the sorry state of human existence in the Niger Delta in popular consciousness.They are people that want the Nigerian state to pay attention to the goose that lay the golden egg.They are people that want the Oil multinationals & their partner the Nigeria state to protect our environment,even as they steal our Oil.This is what sustainable development is about,after all.The true militants are freedom fighters.The militants dont ask 4 ransom.now let's talk about the profiteers.

The profiteers are those who ve taken undue advantage of the crisis to pursue their parochial interest.They are those who are in the struggle for their personal aggrandizement.They are those who ve turn the Niger Delta crisis into a business.They are the once who kidnap people for ransom.They are the once who kidnap innocent little children,who do not know anything about the crisis.They are the once who ve turn the crisis into venture to achieve personal ends However,you should know that,anywhere there is fake,there is an original.Cus the fake is only an imitation of the authentic.

For more on this,read

Ibaba,S.Ibaba, "UNDERSTANDING THE NIGER DELTA CRISIS",Port Harcourt:Amythst & colleagues publishers,2006.

I am tired of quoting Godsson.But I just cant help it.lol
Posted: at 3-09-2008 01:20 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 4-09-2008 03:50 AM (15 years ago)
I have a dream that one day all these shall end in Nigeria ,and we will live in peace.(dat will be whe d oil is gone anyways)

Posted: at 4-09-2008 03:50 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 4-09-2008 10:00 AM (15 years ago)
lol....God will perform a miracle soon..just keep your fingers crossed..
Posted: at 4-09-2008 10:00 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- walerian at 4-09-2008 03:28 PM (15 years ago)
dont forget that these militants are supported and engineered by some prominent individuals in this region. i thing i know is dat wont stopp even their region is attended to. its a rewardin hobbie for them now and some of them now work without their superior's others. awuf dey sweet belle. its a better suggestion to eliminate these corrupt govt personel than cause caos in the country.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 03:28 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago)
WALERIAN!

As far as u cannot prove ur claim that these boys/girls we erroneously call militants are being sponsored by some politicians,I'll consider ur point as hearsay.And as a Court of Law would,I'll dismiss it.

As for ur addendum"i thing i know is dat wont stopp even their region is attended to."
Pls Sir,correct urself.U dont know,U only believe.And I beg to humbly differ.Although,it wont be easy for it to stop,it must surely stop when the right environment presents itself.Nobody hope to live that way forever.All that is required is sincerity on the part of the Nigerian Power elite.That is,the conglomerate of all the powerful individuals from all the ethnic groups in the country(including those from the Delta of course).
Posted: at 6-09-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 6-09-2008 03:41 AM (15 years ago)
i cant help but agree with welerian on the sponsorhip issue...such schemes dont survive without sponsorship or better still godfatherism
Posted: at 6-09-2008 03:41 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- walerian at 6-09-2008 04:52 PM (15 years ago)
thank u Khadijah. so wat ur point mr corrector? its not too difficult to get rid of these youths who call themselves militants. its a national issue but govt is not realy attending to it. these militants cannot outnumber even a section of the states military so wat are we saying here? its politics of the day which will turn against the masterminders themselves. so wat shld we call them? freedom fighters? lol.
Posted: at 6-09-2008 04:52 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 07:27 PM (15 years ago)
LOLZ!Ha ha ha ha!
I love ur imaginations.However,that's all they are assumptions.I need proof.Who is sponsoring these "militants"?Just name two sponsors U know.It's a very rational thing to assume,but when we lay claim to knowledge based on assumption,then,we'll ve to show proof of knowledge.That's the basis of my correction.Until U convince me with this ur "sponsorship" hypothesis,it remains a hearsay to me.
Posted: at 6-09-2008 07:27 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming