Pls Help! My Nigerian Husband Disserted Me Few Years After Arriving In The US

Date: 29-09-2015 4:02 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 29-09-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago)

This is from an active member of this forum
Me and my husband have been married for five years, and all those years I always have done everything.
My husband is from Nigeria. I even put up all the money and fees to get him here. We have three children, two adopted by me before we got together, and our 2 year old that we have together. We were best friends for 8 years before even getting together, so naturally, I thought all would be great. I was wrong.

Two weeks after having our son my husband arrived. It seemed once he arrived things would change. I was off from work after having our son and things were limited and stressful. You know when you start learning to live with someone full-time things change, such as arguments and problems. Many of the issues revolve around him wanting his name being added to my home. I had I thought gladly, but learning from my past mistakes something told me be careful.

So, I told him that I would and I’d even sign an agreement if I knew he was contributing. I would be glad to add his name, and then I offered we could buy a new home. But, in the meantime, let’s learn each other and adjust to being a family first and get things worked out with so many changes happening.

However, when our son turned six months old he left to go to another state saying he was only going to be gone three months because he wanted to get some job training. I told him it really wasn’t a good time to leave and he went anyway. By this time, I was thinking of quitting my job, but I returned to work and was taking our son to daycare, even though he agreed we would work different shifts to care for him because of the expense of daycare. All of this was happening, and I was about to tell him about quitting my job and possibly putting his name on the house.

As this point I was still paying everything and I just did not want anymore issues. But, his approach stopped me in my tracks. His three month had turned in to almost three years with every little excuse of why he hasn’t moved back. Now, he’s in Atlanta, and he only comes home every three to five month for only a week. I pay all the bills in the home, and all the childcare for our children, including all the insurance.

He asked me on several occasions to get loans ranging from $1,500 to $4,000 dollars. He said it was to help get his business started so that he can help take care of his family. I got the loans and still nothing has come of it other than my credit being ruin. I ended up being stuck paying the loans after he said, “Baby, no, I am going to pay the monthly bill.”

I try to help every time he calls asking for money because he’s my husband and I want him to succeed. But, I told him that I have dreams, too, but I still have to take care of the family while pursuing them. I don’t think it’s fair to leave me hanging and putting everything on me.

Also, every time I bring up that he is never here for our anniversary, birthday, or Valentine’s Day it’s a problem with him. The two times we did do something it was on our anniversary. I paid for everything just so that he would spend time with me on that day. I keep telling him that this is a problem and he says that I need to be patient, and that he has a dream and it’s going to take time. Yet, when I try to talk to him about the issue he likes to blame me for everything going wrong in our marriage.

He even asked for a DNA test on our son once when he got mad at me. I finally got tired of him using that so I paid for it myself to get it done and of course our son is his. But, I’m tired of it. My family said I should get out of this marriage. I asked my brothers about putting his name on the house and they said that it’s crazy, and they find it funny that he is not contributing anything but he wants his name on the house. Why is it such a big deal? Why not buy another home together?

I told him that if he didn’t want to be married to me, or if I’m such a bad wife, then let me know so I can give up and move on. But, he says no, I love you still and he’s trying to build things for our family and that he wants things. I told my brothers that a lot of men when they get married would want their name on the home, and I can understand that it is only fair. But, they said, “Yeah, but most men would also help pay the bills and take care of their family.” They also said that this man is up to something.

He’s already shown me that when things get tough, he will leave. He even calls me names when he is angry. Yet, I have been helping him and doing what he asks of me. This makes me hesitant with putting his name on my home. I even put my only car up and almost lost my home trying to get money for him. But, he gets mad and doesn’t understand why I will not put his name on the house, or file income taxes with him. I have seen what he can do and it’s not good. So, I stopped getting loans and I refuse to put his name on the house unless something changes for the better.

Even when he moved to Atlanta, I did not know until I was talking to him and he said he moved to there. I was a little thrown off.  I am supposed to be your wife, and there wasn’t even a discussion about him moving. I don’t want to fail at marriage, again. I love him, but I am starting to hate him. I am so tired as I work full-time, go to school, raise the children, and I help him because he won’t get a regular job. And, I pay for everything. But, I can’t even get a call from him or even get him to take me out for a special occasion. I can’t even get a text on Valentine’s Day or on my birthday. I guess I am not even worth a phone call.

I know people are thinking why would I have a baby with him knowing I wasn’t ready and we hadn’t lived together.  I was told I could not have children, but after adopting my two older children I found I was pregnant after I got back from Nigeria. I was pregnant so I figure it was God’s will. I am sorry this email is so long, but I am lost and I don’t know if it is wrong of me to feel this way. Should I do what all my family and friends say, as they tell me that I need to divorce him? – Married But Alone

Posted: at 29-09-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- taung89 at 29-09-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
Keep praying for better days if you are strong you will survive it #teamdeathdousapart
Posted: at 29-09-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- franklinseyea at 29-09-2015 04:25 PM (8 years ago)
I pray God will take control in Jesus name
Posted: at 29-09-2015 04:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 29-09-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago)
f
l
a
b
b
e
r
g
a
s
t
e
d.
Posted: at 29-09-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jar84 at 29-09-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago)
contact me [email protected], story of my life too
Posted: at 29-09-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 29-09-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm, am putting it to naijapals admin to take their time oo!! For almost 1month they have ban me in this forum when I have never go against their rules. If there is someone somewhere doing it cuz he/she think he hates me... Lemme tell him that he should be careful who he mess with. Am here for fun and never in anyway meant to insult or abuse anybody here if not for only joke.#not happy at all#
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- femfem12005 at 29-09-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago)
pls just leave him. he is up to somthing
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- owlwhy at 29-09-2015 05:15 PM (8 years ago)
Forgot about him. He is irresponsible
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:15 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 29-09-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 29-09-2015 05:06 PM
Hmmm, am putting it to naijapals admin to take their time oo!! For almost 1month they have ban me in this forum when I have never go against their rules. If there is someone somewhere doing it cuz he/she think he hates me... Lemme tell him that he should be careful who he mess with. Am here for fun and never in anyway meant to insult or abuse anybody here if not for only joke.#not happy at all#
I don ask u wetin u sef do wey dem take ban u..?
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 29-09-2015 05:31 PM (8 years ago)
Stop messing about and dump him cos i can guarantee u he has anoda woman and u've been a fool..
U have to be strict wit him and don't allow him to sweet talk u again. Be hard and decisive cos no naija man dey stay wit naija woman for yanky..FACT...
No put im name for ur house o and no more loans..Atlanta wey im dey ask am who dey pay rent for dere and how im dey survive..
Don't be a mugu for love...Wake up and smell or drink d coffee....Me i don talk my own...Besides na u pick am so u can dump him
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 29-09-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago)
For better and for worse..... patience and perseverance are needed to scale through.... Huh?

Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 29-09-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago)
that humanity for you!! women do it men does it as well.......... we all liars!! 
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 29-09-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on 29-09-2015 05:25 PM
I don ask u wetin u sef do wey dem take ban u..?
I did absolute notting oo. Are we not in this forum together? Don't u see my comments everyday.
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:53 PM (8 years ago)
quite touching......
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:54 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ogunde Johnson  link=topic=273905.msg4551619#msg4551619 date=1443540047
Keep praying for better days if you are strong you will survive it #teamdeathdousapart

u r correct
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:54 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: franklinseyea on 29-09-2015 04:25 PM
I pray God will take control in Jesus name

amen o
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: chealseafc on 29-09-2015 04:35 PM
f
l
a
b
b
e
r
g
a
s
t
e
d.

grow up abeg
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:56 PM (8 years ago)

kpele o
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: femfem12005 on 29-09-2015 05:13 PM
pls just leave him. he is up to somthing

abi o??
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 29-09-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago)

kpele o
Posted: at 29-09-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac