Is Nigeria's vision 2020 a reality or another joke?

Date: 03-08-2008 9:49 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
[1] 2 3 4
- at 3-08-2008 09:49 PM (15 years ago)
Growing up,we used to think that the world will end in the year 2000.Another issue that make that year peculiar to us was Nigeria's Vision 2000.We heard things like "education for all by the year 2000","free quality health care & housing for all by the year 2000" etc.It's now very funny to me, flashing back to those years and the hopes that we had then.I think even the Government thought the World would end then(2000),hence those promises.Who will ask them to fulfill their promises if the world ends anyway.
With the forgoing in mind,I ask: is this PDP Govt dream(or let me use their word vision)to make Nigeria one of the World's largest and/or must viable Economies by the year 2020 feasible,realistic and attainable with the govt's current inertia?

Posted: at 3-08-2008 09:49 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- flavinho2 at 3-08-2008 10:00 PM (15 years ago)
this country cant be viable in the hands of the current corrupt and visionless leaders. the only vision they see is that of how much they will amass in wealth while n office.
Posted: at 3-08-2008 10:00 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 4-08-2008 01:08 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: flavinho2 on  3-08-2008 10:00 PM
this country cant be viable in the hands of the current corrupt and visionless leaders. the only vision they see is that of how much they will amass in wealth while n office.

I agree with u.However,I must correct u on one thing.Viz:Nigeria has never gotten a LEADER.What we've had & ve now are rulers & not leaders.Leadership is the ability 2 organize & inspire people to achieve organizational goals.In this case,socio-economic & political goals.A leader stays in front to show the people the right way to go.
Leaders are exemplary individuals.They are the light of society.Unfortunately,we ain't got one @ any time in our history. All we've had thus far are selfish kleptocrats,without any iota or modicum of patriotism,discipline & commitment 2 the common-good in them.A polity and/or society cant attain greatness with such elites in front.
Posted: at 4-08-2008 01:08 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- wof at 7-08-2008 01:10 AM (15 years ago)
 honestly speaking nigeria vision 2020 is laughable,let the government of pdp stop deceiving people becuse nothing have been put in place to ensure the realization of the so much talked about vision 2020. its just a mess. don't that i but believe it will not work i know of a sure that it will not work
Posted: at 7-08-2008 01:10 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 7-08-2008 04:37 AM (15 years ago)
no be naija.....2face's explained it in his song "e be like say...
Posted: at 7-08-2008 04:37 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 7-08-2008 12:44 PM (15 years ago)
naija needs political revolution.....do away with all the old and current politicians....meant......total extermination.
Posted: at 7-08-2008 12:44 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 17-08-2008 02:41 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on  7-08-2008 12:44 PM
naija needs political revolution.....do away with all the old and current politicians....meant......total extermination.

Mazi,I agree with U on a revolution.However,I dont think it should be a political revolution.What we need in this State call Nigeria is a revolution of the minds of Nigerians.We need an ethic revolution.A radical value reorientation.Without such a revolution,even if U kill all our elites,things ll only go worse.Cus these rulers dont come from space.They are Nigerians like u & I.A bad society cannot create a good elite.Until we are able to change our behavioural patterns for the better,this country ll not know better days.
Posted: at 17-08-2008 02:41 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 18-08-2008 02:02 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on  3-08-2008 09:49 PM

With the forgoing in mind,I ask: is this PDP Govt dream(or let me use their word vision)to make Nigeria one of the World's largest and/or must viable Economies by the year 2020 feasible,realistic and attainable with the govt's current inertia?

it is feasible ,realistic and attainable.i say this because i have seen it elsewhere. somebody said we have visionless leaders,i do not totally agree with that  because of the mere fact that vision 2020 is a vision and was proposed by a leader .
my only problem with it is dat he is not doing anything to make it a reality. this is going to turn out to be another 'we've heard it all before'if we go on lyk this.
i give u an example; in the 60's when we were thriving in our post indepence era in our own little way, we were far better than the south korea that we know of today economically. in the late 70's ,their military leader had a vision just lyk ours ,wat did he do? he emphasised on the steel industry and education in his economic programmes ,taking up practical steps to realize his vsion.where are they today?

we need practicality to achieve our vision......talk is cheap.

Posted: at 18-08-2008 02:02 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- DaViDoS at 18-08-2008 12:29 PM (15 years ago)
its all politrix u know.girl u re right wen u said (no be naija.....2face's explained it in his song "e be like say...) Sad
Posted: at 18-08-2008 12:29 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 18-08-2008 09:53 PM (15 years ago)
"in the late 70's ,their military leader had a vision just lyk ours ,wat did he do? he emphasised on the steel industry and education in his economic programmes ,taking up practical steps to realize his vsion.where are they today?"

The South Korean Military elite that U're talking about were visionary.They did not only talk about development.They work to achieve it.But the reverse is our own reality.For U to develop,U must know what development is.However,the Nigerian petit-bourgeoisie that inherited power from the colonialist did not know what development is.& subsequent juntas ve followed the same path.The Nigerian political class is 2 busy with their personal or elite projects to cater for national development.Development,which the Vision 2020 entails,is not part of the agenda of the Nigerian power elite.That's why after 1 year in office,we've not heard anything about the much talked about State of Emergency in the Power sector.That's why the Elumelu Report of the Power probe is still a secret.& any State the talk about economic development with providing adequate power supply cannot be taken seriously by conscious Political Scientist.

In conclusion,I'll say if the current trends in the country, epitomized by inertia in the part of our rulers, is anything to go by,then,the vision 2020 is another huge joke.
Posted: at 18-08-2008 09:53 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- DXTOP at 18-08-2008 10:10 PM (15 years ago)
actually vision 2020, could be achieved but first, we have to be PDP to give us a President. NOT a Bakassi handingover person under the pretext of rule of law

Posted: at 18-08-2008 10:10 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 19-08-2008 11:52 PM (15 years ago)
bakassi handover doesnt have anything 2do with achieving it or not.i'm happy its finally ova.

Posted: at 19-08-2008 11:52 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 20-08-2008 12:04 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 19-08-2008 11:52 PM
bakassi handover doesnt have anything 2do with achieving it or not.i'm happy its finally ova.

I beg to disagree with u on this.For a government to be the vanguard of development,it has to listen to the wishes of its citizens.Development is an anthropocentric phenomenon.It's human centered.The people of Bakassi never wanted to be Cameroonians.Thus,a development oriented govt,should ve taken their yearnings & aspirations into consideration.Thus,it's related.
Posted: at 20-08-2008 12:04 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- shizou at 23-08-2008 12:03 AM (15 years ago)
It does not take you much to dream but to live your dream take more than wishes. Over the years we've had splendid economic contraption, solid socio-economic planning but our problem remain implementation. Many would agree with me that Structural Adjustment Programme of Babangida regime which ultimately plunged us into socio-economic abyss was  originally a viable  economic initiative but unfortunately such genuine intetnion are always lined with overt move for self-aggradisement which ultimately ruined the gain that could have come from succesful implementation of SAP. Vision 2010 is another paper that if followed we would have be enjoying  socio-economic vibrancy but the paper is still gathering dust somewhere inside Aso Villa. Our leaders do not have the political will to change our course but know how to make political pronouncemnt and this vision 2020 is another one. What has happened to electricity? Nothing
Posted: at 23-08-2008 12:03 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 23-08-2008 07:07 PM (15 years ago)
Shizou! my brother,I agree with most of ur postulations.However,I strongly disagree with this"Many would agree with me that Structural Adjustment Programme of Babangida regime which ultimately plunged us into socio-economic abyss was  originally a viable  economic initiative"

SAP was not a good policy from the word go.It was an instrument of American contemporary imperialism,made possible by its agents the IMF/WB.The policy was destined to fail.It was designed to fail & crumble the Nigerian Political economy.The SAP asked us to devalue our currency,remove all subsides for agriculture,privatize our economy etc.All these was at a time when the Naira was at par with the dollar.And u call that a good policy?No!This was why the Nigerian masses rejected it at the time,even b4 it was introduced.Do U know anywhere in the South where the SAP worked?I guess,ur answer is no.
It's a capitalist policy introduced in a pre-capitalist economy.Thus,it was bound to fail.We did not ve the foundation to implement the policy.

I'll implore U to go revisit the literature on this unfortunate chapter of our history.There's this very good article by one of my mentors,Dr Ibaba S.Ibaba.I dont ve a soft copy,I'd ve given it 2 u.
Posted: at 23-08-2008 07:07 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozimso at 24-08-2008 05:28 AM (15 years ago)
To achieve the so called vision 2020, all hand needs to be on deck, the Govt, the People, Religious leaders, and above all, Nigerians themselves have to be ready to embrace development. For me, I see the so called vision as something a few individuals see achievable, but i don't see it coming through! because corruption has eaten deep into the very veins of 98% of Nigerian leaders and given that atmosphere, development is far fetched.
Posted: at 24-08-2008 05:28 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 24-08-2008 09:56 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 20-08-2008 12:04 AM
Quote from: zie85er on 19-08-2008 11:52 PM

I beg to disagree with u on this.For a government to be the vanguard of development,it has to listen to the wishes of its citizens.Development is an anthropocentric phenomenon.It's human centered.The people of Bakassi never wanted to be Cameroonians.Thus,a development oriented govt,should ve taken their yearnings & aspirations into consideration.Thus,it's related.

u know why i said i'm happy it's finally ova,
i said it bcos the bakassi issue seems 2 be taking up most of the valuable time this administration has 2 achieve wat is on the topic we are all talking about on this article.
would u want a situation where  they reverse and say it was because of bakassi dat they failed,, i guess not.
yes, an administration should care 4 the yearnings of its own people,but wat do you expect yar' adua 2 do ,be a rebel?
the judgement has bn delivered, we lost. the obasanjo regime must have done a lot of things wrong  to lose bakassi,but that is gone now.he'll hav 2 answer dat 2 whomever. but dats n the past now.i'm happy its ova

Posted: at 24-08-2008 09:56 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 05:51 PM (15 years ago)
I am also very happy that this issue now belongs to the history books.Nigeria was not suppose 2 surrender to the jurisdiction of the ICJ,in the 1st place.So it's good that we've settled it 'peacefully' in the spirit of African brotherhood & good neighborliness. However,anybody that is expect any monumental change from the Ya'Adua/Jonathan government should think again.They are a bounch of confused academics.They are like two naive kids with a time-bomb in hand.
Posted: at 31-08-2008 05:51 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- St-Balo at 31-08-2008 11:00 PM (15 years ago)
U're da kinda ppl Naija wan eradicate ma self.
Posted: at 31-08-2008 11:00 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 1-09-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: St-Balo on 31-08-2008 11:00 PM
U're da kinda ppl Naija wan eradicate ma self.

Yaro St-Balo Yakuri!
I dont get a thing of what u're saying.
Posted: at 1-09-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4

1. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

2. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

3. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

4. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

5. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

8. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

9. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

10. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

11. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

12. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

13. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

14. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

15. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

16. Chelsea v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)