I stepped into the saloon scanning the air-conditioned room and greeting others who seemed so carried away by her story. Just as I picked up a magazine finding a comfortable seat to wait, my 8H Tecno rang. Sweetheart! I echoed …I will when am through, bye my love!.
The lady who has been watching me through mirror seems to have transferred her annoying glare to me on hearing “bye-my-love”, I had to hide my face reading but not knowing what I read from the magazine until she left. Several minutes later I was moved when I heard her story from one of the attendance, I collected her phone number, called her and met her with a promise to help. I have decided to share her story, please advise her on what to do maybe I will share this link with her maybe Mike will also read, maybe we will understand why she hate men so bitterly.
I am a graduate of Biochemistry from one of the private universities. Am the third of five children, the last female of the two by my parents. My parents deals in building materials, they are relatively wealthy since they can afford most of our needs. Two of my brothers are abroad, my eldest sister is happily married to a senior banker in Port Harcourt.
I met and fell in love with Michael (mike) my classmate since 100 levels in school. I had a lot of admirers and toasters but keep faith with my beloved Mike at least I know he loved me too. Alone sitting by flowers we were always talking of how we will live as man and wife, number children, assets to acquire generally seeing school as delaying our bliss.
During the third year in school and at the anniversary of Mike’s birthday, I gave him my womanhood as a seal my love and being my husband to be. Soon enough I submitted myself to him and we started having sex at free will, I love him so much and enjoyed every bit of it. During our thesis writing, we introduced ourselves to our parents. No one had objections, shortly afterwards I fell sick and could hardly breathe normally having recurring stabbing pains on my chest.
I was rushed to my parents and was subsequently placed on admission at a private clinic and later transferred to a specialist hospital where I was diagnosed to have cancer on my left Bosom . I was later referred to Jos teaching hospital to be operated. Mike visited me twice and we were always on phone most night. Thank God I survived the operation, everyone sympathised with me. Mike mum was very encouraging, my lecturers too were kind and had pity on me.
I graduated alongside Mike with third class while mike had second class upper. I was transferred to Kebbi state for youth service. Mike was posted to Edo state. One time during the service year while returning from regular medical checkup from Jos, I changed my mind and decided to surprise my sweetheart in Auchi, Edo state. I arrived around 9.45pm and took okada to coppers lodge where mike had a room. Not using my key, I got a shock of my life when I knocked and the door was opened by a fair lady in wrapper and queried who I was, just walked in to find mike naked on the bed. My legs went cold, I lost my speech, my heart was pounding, suddenly I felt the same stabbing pain I felt a year ago.
That night I saw mike talking but I could hardly hear what he was saying, my mind was racing my heart pounding. I never knew how I survived the night. I left the place before 5.00am and got a cab to Minna then back to kebbi. For two weeks I kept my phone in my bag then I remembered needed to brief my mum on my medical checkup. Mum was already worried and complained that mike could not get across to me. Kept my cool and said I will call him. I kept on rejecting mike’s call because I expect him to travel down to my station but he never did.
Each time I close my eyes I still see mike naked on the bed and the lady in wrapper. We finished our service year in 2014, i returned home, Mike did not but went to Lagos and luckily his uncle got him a job with a private firm. My last medical check-up was in February 2015, the doctor concluded that my right Bosom is also affected and was given up to 18 months to cut it off also. I don’t know how mike got wind of it and text me calling off our relationship. I have read the text many times and wonder why God lets it happened this way. Where did I go wrong? I regret not partying like other girls on campus, I regret not accepting many admirers, I regret evening going to school may be I will not have met mike. Mike! I hate you! I hate Men! I hate God!