Why We’ve Not Arrested Jonathan – EFCC Boss

Date: 12-01-2016 6:45 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 12-01-2016 06:45 AM (8 years ago)

The Acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Ibrahim Magu, on Monday offered explanations on why former President Goodluck Jonathan has not been arrested over the controversial $2.1 billion arms deal.

The fund, which was managed by the Office of former National Security Adviser, retired Colonel Sambo Dasuki, has led to the arrest, detention, questioning and arraignment of so many prominent Nigerians, with some wondering why Jonathan, believed to be the principal actor in the unfolding scenario, had not been arrested or summoned for questioning.

Offering reasons why Jonathan was yet to be summoned by the EFCC, Magu said no document has
been traced to Jonathan giving any approval for the disbursement of the money for any other purpose than arms purchase.

Magu told a gathering of online news publishers under the aegis of the Guild of Corporate Online Publishers on Monday in Lagos, that all those questioned so far in connection with the money were people who disbursed or collected it for reasons other than the purchase of arms and ammunition.

In a terse answer to the question, Magu said:

“All approvals by former President Jonathan did not mention that it was for political purposes. All the memos approved by him was for the purchase of arms.”

The bulk of the money disbursed from the $2.1 billion had been traced to financing the Peoples Democratic Party and promoting the bid of Jonathan to retain the presidential seat in the 2015 general election.

The Director of Media and Publicity of the PDP Presidential Campaign team, Femi Fani-Kayode, confirmed he received N1.7 billion for publicity for the 2015 election.

The National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Olisa Metuh, was also given N400 million out of the money. Metuh has been with the EFCC since last week Tuesday.

Political parties that did not produce presidential candidates for the election were also given N100 million each to support Jonathan.

The N100 million gift is still causing a major rift in the Social Democratic Party, with some state chapters denying they received from the money as alleged by their National Chairman, Chief Olu Falae.

Magu said it was not in the character of the EFCC to just summon people for the sake of it.
He said the Commission does its work thoroughly before inviting anyone and that it had not summoned some people as clamoured in the public space because there were no documents indicting them.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 12-01-2016 06:45 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareshola at 12-01-2016 06:57 AM (8 years ago)
you ve no right to probe Jonathan.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 06:57 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 12-01-2016 07:12 AM (8 years ago)
Ok noted
Posted: at 12-01-2016 07:12 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 12-01-2016 07:25 AM (8 years ago)
At Jonathan is a politician
Posted: at 12-01-2016 07:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- faka4u at 12-01-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
pls if u guz do not find any info correct effof pls don't destroyed d good image d man is having in the international world o
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 12-01-2016 08:21 AM (8 years ago)
he was the head of govt., thus, he should held accountable for his govt.'s decisions. As commander in chief, its his  business to  know abt d fraud and carnage, and discipline any erring  official. So Mr. Magu, your reasons dosent work for me.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:21 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 12-01-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago)
Give us reasons why you have not arrested Obasanjo, IBB, Tonpolo, Buhari(for the two SUVs) etc.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 12-01-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago)
I hope all those idiots are reading dis. He did not sign it for political purpose as ur parties did. He sign it for ATM purchase. It dat useless man use it for anoda means, he didn't know abt dat. awon olori buruku ashi  e re. mcthewwww rubbish
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 12-01-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 12-01-2016 08:45 AM
I hope all those idiots are reading dis. He did not sign it for political purpose as ur parties did. He sign it for ARMs purchase. It dat useless man use it for anoda means, he didn't know abt dat. awon olori buruku ashi  e re. mcthewwww rubbish
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 12-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
NIGERIANS, have seen that the best president ever produced in this GOD forsaken country called Nigeria is JONATHAN because he is democratic in doing things, he is peaceful, he does thins under due process and above all he obey the rule of law. EFCC, what ever you call your self will not arrest him because he is educated and had Good plans for Nigeria and will not divert money that was ment for ARMS for another thing. It was those sycophants around him must have done those rubbish. JONATHAN is a lean man FATHER OF PEACE .
Posted: at 12-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 12-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
Anyone who thinks or believes Jonathan didn't know about all the thieving that went on in his administration must be very shallow minded and gullible. Of course I don't expect him to sign approval stating that Dasuki should share money, he's not that dumb but he certainly knows about every money that was stolen in his time. We weren't born yesterday. @Winace you dey shock me ooo..
Posted: at 12-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 12-01-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago)
No documents implicated him yet, dose not mean his innocent. Investigation is still on going, everybody involved in this crime most bring to justice. Including president Buhari.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 12-01-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari Collected one bulletproof Range Rover Jeep plus some Cash gift from the money....Please you EFCC should Proceed to his office to arrest him too
Posted: at 12-01-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 12-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago)
DEY GO STILL GET AM. CUS DASUKI NO BUY ANY ARMZ ND GUDLUCK NO QUESTION AM. THEN HE KNOWS SUMTYN ABT D MONEY.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ololababs at 12-01-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emmanuel Okoye on 12-01-2016 08:21 AM
Of gohe was the head of govt., thus, he should held accountable for his govt.'s decisions. As commander in chief, its his  business to  know abt d fraud and carnage, and discipline any erring  official. So Mr. Magu, your reasons dosent work for me.

Thank you. You spoke my mind! I don't think democratic system of govt will eva work in Naija. These thieves need stronger hands gosh!  
Posted: at 12-01-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 12-01-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago)
na lie, na big lie!! Jonathan name dey on it.. they just using style style dey leave am aside
Posted: at 12-01-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- ficull at 12-01-2016 12:18 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Haso on 12-01-2016 10:17 AM
Anyone who thinks or believes Jonathan didn't know about all the thieving that went on in his administration must be very shallow minded and gullible. Of course I don't expect him to sign approval stating that Dasuki should share money, he's not that dumb but he certainly knows about every money that was stolen in his time. We weren't born yesterday. @Winace you dey shock me ooo..

Nice talk.... I dont get it. Some people stole our money and impoverished us in the process.... no  infrastructural developments... now, someone is asking questions abt our commonwealth, and some pple here are  defending the crooks who caused us so much pains. I dont get it, really.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 12:18 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 12-01-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago)
so far no evidence of funds divert linked to Jonathan I am watching sha.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 12-01-2016 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
The devil has indeed taking the center stage in Nigeria by his Islamic Satanic Agent in Nigeria , now here is the change you never thought you voted for

The devil has indeed taking the center stage in Nigeria by his Islamic Satanic Agent in Nigeria , now here is the change you never thought you voted for The devil has indeed taking the center stage in Nigeria by his Islamic Satanic Agent in Nigeria , now here is the change you never thought you voted for

The devil has indeed taking the center stage in Nigeria by his Islamic Satanic Agent in Nigeria , now here is the change you never thought you voted for

Posted: at 12-01-2016 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 13-01-2016 09:45 AM (8 years ago)
Look, whatever you guys are doing you shouldn't get close to that man because he his not corrupt have others he his a good example of what we call democracy. Keep off.
Posted: at 13-01-2016 09:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero