PHOTO: Police Arraign Exxonmobil Engineer For Allegedly molesting 14-Year-Old Girl In Lagos

Date: 15-01-2016 6:54 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 15-01-2016 06:54 AM (8 years ago)

The Zone 2 Police Command has arraigned 42-year-old James Onuoha at an Igbosere Magistrate’s Court for allegedly molesting a 14-year-old girl in the Ajah area of Lagos State.

He was arraigned on four counts of rape and indecent assault.

The Chief Magistrate, O.A. Ogunbowale, however, admitted him to bail in the sum of N2m with two sureties in like sum, adding that he should be remanded in the Kirikiri Prison pending the perfection of his bail.

PUNCH Metro had reported that the suspect, who was an engineer with ExxonMobil, had visited the victim’s guardian.

Onuoha, who was the landlord of the house, allegedly entered the room and engaged the 14-year-old in a conversation after which he allegedly raped her.

The matter was reported at the Lamgbasa Police Division before it was transferred to the Zone 2 Police Command.

The police arraigned him on Thursday.

The Investigating Police Officer, Stephen Agbonedeso, said the incident happened on Samuel Amoore Street, Idowu Estate, Oke-Ira Nla, Ajah.

The charges read in part:
 “That you, Onuoha James, on January 4, 2016, at about 11.30am, on Samuel Amoore Street, Idowu Estate, Oke-Ira Nla, Ajah, Lagos, in the Lagos Magisterial District, willfully did an indecent act to one (name withheld), thereby committing an offence.
“That you did have unlawful segxwal intercourse with one (name withheld) without her consent, thereby committing an offence.”
The police prosecutor, Inspector Asu Feddy, said the offences were punishable under sections 134, 258, 135 and 137 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, Nigeria, 2011.

The defendant pleaded not guilty to the charges and elected summary trial.

His defence counsel asked for his bail in liberal terms, arguing that the offence was bailable.

The chief magistrate, Ogunbowale, admitted him to bail in the sum of N2m with two sureties in like sum, adding that he should be remanded in the Kirikiri Prison pending the perfection of his bail terms.

She adjourned the case till February 23 for the release of the legal advice from the Directorate of Public Prosecutions.

The Director of the Office of the Public Defender, Mrs. Omotola Rotimi, who expressed displeasure at the bail, said the magistrate should not have heard the matter in the first place.

She said the Lagos State Government had taken up the case and would ensure that justice was served.

Rotimi said:
 “We have been involved in this case from the onset and it is very inappropriate for the magistrate, who acknowledged that the case was not within her purview, to grant bail. You said something is not within your jurisdiction, and you still granted bail. Why hear it at all?
“The Attorney General of Justice has taken up the case and we will follow it to the end.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 15-01-2016 06:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 15-01-2016 07:07 AM (8 years ago)
Why is rape case rampant nowadays? What is happening? Is this the end of the world? 42yrs molesting 14 yrs old girl who is old enough to be his daughter,60yrs molesting 14yrs old girl etc,Pls government help us&our children concerning this rape issues,let there be a decree or law that will be attach to it,so that there will be no mercy for the offender like 21yrs imprisonment&no bailing.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 07:07 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 15-01-2016 07:59 AM (8 years ago)
I hope he has been FIRED from Exxonmobil? That should be his first punishment.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 07:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 15-01-2016 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
Hey Nigeria, stop molesting children. He should be charged with a crime.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 15-01-2016 09:10 AM (8 years ago)
molesting of a thing is getting to much in this country, i dnt knw wetin they do we men that we no dey commot eye's frm those little gurls. And moreover its most of gurls of nowadays that normally cause this, firstly mode of there dress and na that they catch men most. Our mother's need to work very hard on this little gurls.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fazob at 15-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
Onuoha, who was the Landlord of the house, allegedly entered the room and engaged the 14 year old in a conversation after which he allegedly molested her.  At what point do we establish a case of rape.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 15-01-2016 09:28 AM (8 years ago)
Serve him right. Eewu
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 15-01-2016 09:29 AM (8 years ago)
Serve him right. Eewu
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 15-01-2016 09:30 AM (8 years ago)
Dis is just setup
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:30 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 15-01-2016 09:33 AM (8 years ago)
how I wish
Posted: at 15-01-2016 09:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 15-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
I guess you have been sack for your shameful act.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 15-01-2016 10:27 AM (8 years ago)
I still will not make any comment on dis until d case finally settled in d court. I smell a rotten rat here.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 10:27 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 15-01-2016 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: prudy on 15-01-2016 09:30 AM
Dis is just setup

You better hold you breathe before I face you. Which kin yeye set up? Will  medical report lie? Will the little baby that was in the house when it happened lie? What was he looking for inside the house after having being told that the tenant/apartment owner are not home? The right thing to have done is to turn and walk away then come back when they are back. By the way why come at the time when he knows that his tenant won't be home? Answer me naa?.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 15-01-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago)
Let me keep my finger crossed until we hear the final judgement.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-01-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago)
why hiding him face na? if na one poor baba now wey no get money, una go show him face...   yeye una be poster
Posted: at 15-01-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- okatee at 15-01-2016 11:58 AM (8 years ago)
ABEG MAK GOVT SET BETTER LAW FR DIS RAPE CASE, MAYB DEY SHUD START CASTRATIN ANYBODY INVOLVED IN A RAPE CASE.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 11:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 15-01-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago)
I hope the man is brought to book if found guilty

Posted: at 15-01-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bennieben at 15-01-2016 04:06 PM (8 years ago)
I nor sure say na their eye.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 04:06 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chericoco at 15-01-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago)
Why covering his face? If Africa make rape a serious offense like in developing countries,  the rate of molesting will drop. Rapist sometimes get life in jail in abroad. Africans take gay issues serious than protecting our children from those rapist.
Posted: at 15-01-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 16-01-2016 05:40 PM (8 years ago)
Why can't most of we men respect ourselves, just look at the office he his working yet he can't figure out a good and matured woman for himself instead of going around embarrassing himself
Posted: at 16-01-2016 05:40 PM (8 years ago) | Hero