I Went Into Robbery To Maintain My Chieftaincy Title – Ex-Niger Delta Militant

Date: 23-01-2016 8:42 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 23-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago)

Before his recent arrest by operatives of the Inspector-General of Police Special Intelligence Response Team, 42-year-old Clement Millions was a titled chief, perhaps a respected one at that.

But his foray into armed robbery has landed him in police custody. Millions, in his shocking revelation to the police after he was arrested, said he was installed as a chief in 2014 but that the demands of the title soon became overwhelming that he had to resort into armed robbery.

“In 2014, I was conferred with a chieftaincy title of Ebimewe, which means someone who is doing well, but the high financial demands of my new title made me to join a bank robbery gang to get enough money to maintain my new status in the society,” he said.

The suspect, who hails from Ogbembri village in Delta State, told the police that he joined the dreaded armed robbery gang that came through the creek to carry out robbery operations in some banks in Lagos, but noted that before his foray into robbery, he lived in reasonable comfort.

He said, “I am one of the militants granted amnesty when we surrendered our guns. The Federal Government used to pay each of us N65,000 every month and I was also involved in black market oil sale. I was making a lot of money from it and I built a mansion. I actually helped people.”

He mentioned the names of other members of the gang to include Kelly, Kakadu, Dike, Ossy and John Togo.

While giving an account of how he acquired his 20 years experience in armed robbery and kidnapping, Millions, said he and others were doing well in their oil business before Togo lured him into the robbery gang. He recalled that he had participated in about four bank robbery operations.

He said, “One day, Togo begged me to lend him N300,000 to go and buy something in Lagos. I did not know he was planning how to rob banks in Lagos. I could not say no to him for security reasons.

“I participated in the two bank robbery operations at Ikorodu and the ones at FESTAC, Agbara and Lekki. We got about N66m in Agbara and my share was N2.5m. In FESTAC, we got N23m and my share was N800,000. About 26 of us used 13 guns for the FESTAC operation and we went in two buses. In Ikorodu, during the first operation we got N12m but my own share was N500,000, while in the second operation, I got N800,000 out of the N62m we got.”

Millions said he smelled trouble when some of the gang members killed some policemen in the course of their operations, saying he knew that police would come after them to avenge the death of their colleagues, but that he could not dump the group.

He said, “I even went to church to confess my sins and I vowed not to go back to robbery but other gang members came up with reasons for us to continue and I also needed more money as a high chief. Despite my 20 years as an armed robber, I was not involved in bank operation until last year.”

“After the operation at Ikorodu, I came back and followed them to rob a bank at FESTAC because of my ‘long throat’. I returned to Ikorodu to participate in another operation because my 500 jerry cans caught fire. We sometimes used military and police uniform to beat security. I had one Toyota Highlander sport utility vehicle which I sold for N800,000 and then I bought three saw machines. Then, I relocated to Benin to be able to monitor my sawmill workers.”

Millions, who is married with six children, explained that his wife and children were not aware that he was an armed robber. “I vowed to God as my New Year resolution to stop robbing people but unfortunately I was arrested,” he said.

Meanwhile, a police source hinted that the IGP, Solomon Arase, had promised to track other members of the gang, and that the Response Team had arrested seven persons who specialised in supplying arms and eight other members of the gang.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 23-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 23-01-2016 08:48 AM (8 years ago)
Ah na wow oh drug don dey wear protection now, new things for this our generation.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 08:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 23-01-2016 09:07 AM (8 years ago)
Imagine he name self "Millions".
Posted: at 23-01-2016 09:07 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sweetypweety at 23-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
Shey na millions he bear before? Na zillions    u go be now. Onyeara
Posted: at 23-01-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 23-01-2016 10:10 AM (8 years ago)
Clap for your self, kill the idiot while waiting to arrest others.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 10:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mensch at 23-01-2016 10:40 AM (8 years ago)
That is what always happens if one can,t cut his or her coat according to his or her size. Carry your cross man.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 10:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Benkato at 23-01-2016 11:05 AM (8 years ago)
Medicine after death, that's your end chief robber.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 11:05 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Ennyolalekan at 23-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago)
how I wish
Posted: at 23-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 23-01-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago)
son of a bitch!! do am firing squad like ANINI
Posted: at 23-01-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 23-01-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago)
Ewoooo,you see your life? See where longer throat has landed you? You wan maintain your title&high life?chuuuu,oya go answer the police&i believe you know the consequence,The police will kill you in the cell at least for killing their colleagues,RIP man.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 23-01-2016 11:29 AM (8 years ago)
U for no take d title..
Posted: at 23-01-2016 11:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 23-01-2016 03:11 PM (8 years ago)
Rip in advance
Posted: at 23-01-2016 03:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 23-01-2016 03:22 PM (8 years ago)
see the end now straight to life sentence or firing squad.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 03:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 23-01-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago)
All I can say is wow! Luxurious life of crime! 20years, a wife that doesn't care what her husband does to other people's husbands and then 6 children whose daddy has stopped others from ever seeing their daddies again!
Posted: at 23-01-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 23-01-2016 05:10 PM (8 years ago)
what u sow is what u reap..... long  throat man.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 05:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 23-01-2016 05:27 PM (8 years ago)
Chieftaincy tittle is for sale in Nigeria. All our Paramount rulers are for sale if not pple like dis can't be or is not suppose to be chief. Now he has blame it for his wrong doing.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 05:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 23-01-2016 08:56 PM (8 years ago)
That is what always happens if
one can,t cut his or her coat
according to his or her size. Carry
your cross man.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 08:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 24-01-2016 07:08 AM (8 years ago)
99days for the thief one day for the owner,go maintain your chieftancy tittle for jail or hell. Idiot.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 07:08 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 24-01-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
So your title is more valuable than people's life. God punish you....Eewu
Posted: at 24-01-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 24-01-2016 11:12 AM (8 years ago)
Had i know is a brother to master late, its time to face the music.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 11:12 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

7. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

8. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

9. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

10. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

11. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

9. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper