PHOTO: Man Arrested In Lagos For Stealing "Ambode’s Light Up Lagos" Project Cable

Date: 04-04-2016 7:04 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-04-2016 07:04 AM (9 years ago)

The operatives of the Rapid Response Squad of the Lagos State Police Command have arrested a suspected vandal, Lucky Udeagwu.

Udeagwu, 29, was nabbed by the police for allegedly stealing a 35 meter-long armoured cable meant for the state government’s Light Up Lagos’ project in the Ogudu area.

The alleged cable thief, who claimed to be from Delta State, was sighted by the police along with two
suspected accomplices, now at large.

They were reportedly sighted coming out of the bush towards Ogudu bus stop by the RRS operatives on routine surveillance around 3am, carrying a big sack containing the armoured cable.

The leader of the team, Inspector Bello Kabir, who led the men on patrol of Oworoshoki Expressway, told Punch that the team was monitoring the project when the suspected thieves were sighted.

He said:
 “The Commander RRS, ACP Olatunji Disu, told us that Governor Akinwunmi Ambode wanted officers to always check out Light-Up Lagos projects because of cases of vandalism of lamp posts.

“On Saturday, we saw Lucky and two other guys carrying a big sack and coming towards Ogudu bus stop. Because it was a straight road, we could see them from afar.

“As they sighted the RRS vehicle, they took to their heels in different directions, but we caught Lucky. We were suspicious  that what could make them run when they saw us must be something criminal. We checked the bag and we saw a 35 meter-long armoured cable. Beside the bag was a camouflage cap.

“On the spot, we searched him. We found in his small bag, a screw driver, a 10-spanner and a T-shirt. The 10-spanner is the size of the bolts covering the lamp posts in the area.”
It was gathered that further investigations by the RRS showed that Lucky’s boss saw him last before the Easter break.

It was also learnt that nobody could identify him in the three houses he gave as his residents.

But Lucky denied stealing the cable, adding that the men that dropped the bag and fled committed the act.

He said:
 “I got to Ogudu bus stop at about 3am on Saturday. Those boys dropped the sack containing the cable. I don’t know them.

“I got out early because I was searching for work. I wanted to get to Ikorodu early so that I could get a site job. I saw the two boys carrying that bag from a nearby bush, and as soon as they saw the police, they ran and I also ran.

“The tools in my bag are what I used to service my generator, but I sold the generator about a year ago. I was arrested at about 3.11am, but I don’t know any of those boys,” he said.
The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, Dolapo Badmos, said the state would not tolerate vandalism and sabotage of governments’ property.

“The suspect has been transferred to SARS’ office in Ikeja,” she added.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:04 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Barluty at 4-04-2016 07:15 AM (9 years ago)
Dnt worry u il later knw them ok
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 4-04-2016 07:17 AM (9 years ago)
Silly man. His name is LUCKY but it turns out he is NOT very LUCKY.

UNLUCKY LUCKY!
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:17 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 4-04-2016 07:31 AM (9 years ago)
see him face like cable own, bloody criminal, cable criminal.
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:31 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 4-04-2016 07:36 AM (9 years ago)
yES OOOO,,,,THIS LUCKY WAS SO UNLUCKY,,,
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:36 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 4-04-2016 07:38 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Timothy Eazy on  4-04-2016 07:31 AM
see him face like cable own, bloody criminal, cable criminal.
[/quo
Na so,,,,em face b like unlucky cable,,,
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:38 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 4-04-2016 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
no mind am ..... dey set us back....
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 4-04-2016 07:55 AM (9 years ago)
 Shocked for cable again.,,,, nobsmalltin
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:55 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 4-04-2016 07:57 AM (9 years ago)
Nawaooo,abeg make una investigate this case well,the boy fit dey innocent,I no trust nigeria police.
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:57 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- mak4lady at 4-04-2016 08:14 AM (9 years ago)
Wey all the politician theives wey carry our money na for poor pple body dem dey see corruption if to say I go fit theif I for thief tire yeye governmnt ,make una no worry Almighty God dey come 4 every body shekina
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:14 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 4-04-2016 08:34 AM (9 years ago)
HELLO GUYZ ......NAIJAPALS HAS SENT MY 10,000 NAIRA CASH TO ME
NOW I BELIEVE THEY ARE REAL.....SO HAPPY AT LIST IS FUN FOR ME...
TODAY... WELL NAIJAPALS CREW ,YOU GUYZ ARE THE BOMB....YOU SHALL
CONTINUE TO GROW AND GROW,..  BUT IS NOT EASY OH TO WIN....LOLS
CHEERS....
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:34 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dleg at 4-04-2016 09:05 AM (9 years ago)
You still carry 10 spanner after 1 year you sold your generator..........animal talk 
Posted: at 4-04-2016 09:05 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-04-2016 09:18 AM (9 years ago)
How naija go better when one person dey try do good another one dey steal the project wire  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-04-2016 09:18 AM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- Zaki68 at 4-04-2016 09:31 AM (9 years ago)
DYNASTY4ALL I KNOW ITS YOUR PEOPLE THATS HOW THEY STOLE THIS ONES IN MY STATE TO SPOONS.
Posted: at 4-04-2016 09:31 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nottingham at 4-04-2016 09:55 AM (9 years ago)
Police always arrest to have credit but not sure the truth here
Posted: at 4-04-2016 09:55 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 4-04-2016 11:37 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: kings age on  4-04-2016 09:55 AM
Police always arrest to have credit but not sure the truth here
you have got to believe it o
Posted: at 4-04-2016 11:37 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 4-04-2016 11:38 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on  4-04-2016 09:18 AM
How naija go better when one person dey try do good another one dey steal the project wire  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
I wonder o
Posted: at 4-04-2016 11:38 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 4-04-2016 11:47 AM (9 years ago)
see face
Posted: at 4-04-2016 11:47 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Buncho at 4-04-2016 12:06 PM (9 years ago)
Katch Am!!! Jooo Ooo
Posted: at 4-04-2016 12:06 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 4-04-2016 03:24 PM (9 years ago)
one year after selling your generator,... you still dey carry the tools follow body .OLE barawo
Posted: at 4-04-2016 03:24 PM (9 years ago) | Hero