How My Bishop Father Endorsed My Marriage To A Muslim - Ogun State First Lady Reveals

Date: 15-05-2016 4:05 pm (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 15-05-2016 04:05 PM (7 years ago)

Wife of the Ogun State Governor, Mrs Olufunsho Amosun has narrated how she converted from Christianity to Islam after her marriage to the governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun.
She explained why as a staunch Christian with a bishop as a father, she is married to a Muslim.

In an interview with Vanguard, she said “The first person I told I wanted to get married to a Muslim was my mother. First, she burst into tears and then she asked me whether I had told my dad and I said no and I could see that mischievous smile.

“But, today, my mother and my husband are like the best of friends and, of course, I get my pound of flesh back sometimes when they are joking and she has forgotten! I will say, ‘Eh! Muslim lo fe fe’ (meaning, you want to marry a Muslim).

“When I told my dad, he said, ‘Ah, okay, well, we just have to pray about this one’. But somehow, they hit it off very well. The thing about it is, my husband believes in God. My husband, I will say, is even more religious than me.

“He truly believes in God, he has faith in God that all things are possible and when you see somebody that is so committed and you see that based on his faith; not challenging God, but telling God that ‘I believe in you’ and you see time and time and time again those things manifesting.

“It started from me having faith in his faith. I have faith in his faith, God and that just made it so easy, because I could see that God did not fail him and I know that my husband doesn’t believe in anything else, except God.”

When asked if there was any deliberate attempt from her husband to convert her to Islam, she said, “Not really. But yes!

“I pray the Muslim way because we are a very close-knit family and, in the beginning, I will tell my children, ‘Oya, time to pray’. ‘But mummy how come you are not praying with us?’ ‘Does that mean daddy’s God is not a good God?’ My children will ask me. And that was when I began to give it a thought. It didn’t take much time before I joined them. The rest, as they say, is history but it was not his doing, I just converted, just like that,” Mrs Amosun stated.

Posted: at 15-05-2016 04:05 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kabukabu at 15-05-2016 04:17 PM (7 years ago)
Don't tell us this joor. Let your husband repair the road of ayetoro garage, mile 2 and rounder in abeokuta. It is then we can listen to you. Haba
Posted: at 15-05-2016 04:17 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yawa_don_gas at 15-05-2016 04:25 PM (7 years ago)
All for yawa sake
Posted: at 15-05-2016 04:25 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 15-05-2016 05:16 PM (7 years ago)
Seriously, you talk well our first lady in ogun state. Muslim and christenity were the same becz we both serve the same God. but there are many bad belle around those two religion, and all i knw is that our belive and our temperament was things that God need frm us, not our religion.
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 15-05-2016 05:17 PM (7 years ago)
Seriously, you talk well our first lady in ogun state. Muslim and christenity were the same becz we both serve the same God. but there are many bad belle around those two religion, and all i knw is that our belive and our temperament was things that God need frm us, not our religion.
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:17 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-05-2016 05:46 PM (7 years ago)
mmmm you are a darling my darling  Grin
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:46 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Eazyatumeyi at 15-05-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago)
What's wrong in marrying and converting?
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- leodavinci at 15-05-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago)
Okay noted
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mykie010 at 15-05-2016 05:56 PM (7 years ago)
U converted because of money
Posted: at 15-05-2016 05:56 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 15-05-2016 06:51 PM (7 years ago)
I don hear,,, next
Posted: at 15-05-2016 06:51 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mjyabah2 at 15-05-2016 07:27 PM (7 years ago)
This lady looks good. U and parents made God proud by not discriminating against another human being. U found love, and u followed your heart, it paid off. Congratulations. Your Bishop of a father has shown what it means to have fear of God and discerning power of good judgment. Could an Imam do the same for his Muslim daughter?
Posted: at 15-05-2016 07:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bashoo8888 at 15-05-2016 07:30 PM (7 years ago)
Dat'z Good dear.. u r welcm to the most peaceful religion..
Posted: at 15-05-2016 07:30 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Markeve at 15-05-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago)
Story story story madam amosun u try 4ur gist.
Posted: at 15-05-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 15-05-2016 09:43 PM (7 years ago)
good one but different strokes for different folks where you find genuine love stick to it.
Posted: at 15-05-2016 09:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 15-05-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: mjyabah2 on 15-05-2016 07:27 PM
This lady looks good. U and parents made God proud by not discriminating against another human being. U found love, and u followed your heart, it paid off. Congratulations. Your Bishop of a father has shown what it means to have fear of God and discerning power of good judgment. Could an Imam do the same for his Muslim daughter?

hmmmm
Posted: at 15-05-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 15-05-2016 09:59 PM (7 years ago)
What money make people do,from frying pan to fire.
Posted: at 15-05-2016 09:59 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 15-05-2016 10:01 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Sir Bash  link=topic=294960.msg4857528#msg4857528 date=1463337003
Dat'z Good dear.. u r welcm to the most peaceful religion..
peaceful indeed
Posted: at 15-05-2016 10:01 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 15-05-2016 10:04 PM (7 years ago)
How your bishop papa no go let you marry him when him get money
Posted: at 15-05-2016 10:04 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Aniagain at 15-05-2016 10:16 PM (7 years ago)
Both you and your so called Bishop father are disgrace,  gerrarahia fast

Posted: at 15-05-2016 10:16 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sparky12 at 15-05-2016 10:31 PM (7 years ago)
lyf goes on
Posted: at 15-05-2016 10:31 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac