Federal Govt. Threatens To Revoke Licences Of Banks Violating Its ‘No Sack' Directives

Date: 08-06-2016 7:11 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 8-06-2016 07:11 AM (7 years ago)
Following the news of the retrenchment of 200 staff of Skye bank today, the federal government has released a statement threatening to sanction banks and telecommunication companies, that fail to comply with its order to suspend retrenchment. FG on June 4th, prevailed on Banks and Insurance companies to

halt retrenchment exercises for now due to the hard economic realities.
The Minister of labour and employment, Chris Ngige gave the warning at the 105th session of the International Labour Congress (ILC) in Geneva, Switzerland today June 7th.

“The federal government gave the licences to the banks to operate and if its directives are not adhered to the licences will be withdrawn if the need arises. We will go a step further if they continue. We know what to do. They need to comply. They need to come to the negotiation table. We halted the spate of sack in the oil industry and we succeeded. Even if you are going to lay off, there is a way to declare redundancy, there is a process. Section 20 of the labour act says it. You must call the unions and discuss with them.

You don’t just treat them as slaves in their own country and you want us to keep quiet. We want them to maintain the status quo. As far as I am the minister of labour, I will protect the interest of workers; same to the telecommunication companies, they are also talking about compiling lists without discussing with anybody.”

Posted: at 8-06-2016 07:11 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 8-06-2016 07:38 AM (7 years ago)
Chai,dis country is turnin upsyd down..
Posted: at 8-06-2016 07:38 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- leonardi at 8-06-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago)
Na make we all start farming o. Abeg I need 5 hectars anyone fit help me?
Posted: at 8-06-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 8-06-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago)
Excuse me Mr. Minister... banks are privately run  businesses. The economy isnt recovering anytime soon. U cant dictate directives to them, or are u gonna provide them funds to pay their staff?
Posted: at 8-06-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 8-06-2016 07:58 AM (7 years ago)
You people are not serious allah. How can you revoke licenses of private own businesses? You guys must be dead dreaming. Fix the economy and have things in place rather than chase shadows
Posted: at 8-06-2016 07:58 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- oluyemibanjoko at 8-06-2016 08:05 AM (7 years ago)
Which is better? Let the banks retrench a few staff or revoking their license and putting thousands in the labor market. Someone needs to put on his thinking cap
Posted: at 8-06-2016 08:05 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- albionalex at 8-06-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago)
Story..
Posted: at 8-06-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 8-06-2016 08:30 AM (7 years ago)
WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BLAME THIS ON BUHARI... Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 8-06-2016 08:30 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 8-06-2016 08:37 AM (7 years ago)
Release the money to pay them too
Posted: at 8-06-2016 08:37 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 8-06-2016 08:43 AM (7 years ago)
Na action we want,,,,,no be noise
Posted: at 8-06-2016 08:43 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-06-2016 09:56 AM (7 years ago)
maybe na by force Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-06-2016 09:56 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- GermoDon at 8-06-2016 10:10 AM (7 years ago)
Ínstead of dem to see oda problem facing us na bank hia b dia wahala
Posted: at 8-06-2016 10:10 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mariodebishop at 8-06-2016 10:22 AM (7 years ago)
the country is broke ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 8-06-2016 10:22 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 8-06-2016 10:34 AM (7 years ago)
Oh God Nigeria is in deep trouble, having people who knows nothing about governance in position of power is killing my Country... Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-06-2016 10:34 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 8-06-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago)
FG WITH MOUTH
Posted: at 8-06-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickieponga at 8-06-2016 02:41 PM (7 years ago)
It's a private company so government no fit do anything..
Posted: at 8-06-2016 02:41 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 8-06-2016 05:49 PM (7 years ago)
Do that asap. How can the sack people like that???
Posted: at 8-06-2016 05:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 8-06-2016 06:27 PM (7 years ago)
Make  FG provide  jobs
Posted: at 8-06-2016 06:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Airbender at 15-06-2016 11:59 PM (7 years ago)
part of change

Posted: at 15-06-2016 11:59 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 2-07-2016 08:14 PM (7 years ago)
Nice one poster, this is a matured and life saving post unlike
yeyebrity pix that has no possitive effect on human life.
Posted: at 2-07-2016 08:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero