Love for sale in Nigerian church on Valentine's Day (Page 7)

Date: 13-02-2010 6:59 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8
- dirtykid at 16-02-2010 02:09 PM (14 years ago)
Make girls dey save up oooo, soon they will open market where u can purchase men .. hahahah Grin

Posted: at 16-02-2010 02:09 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 16-02-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago)
see u.. Tongue

Posted: at 16-02-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- josephineatutu at 16-02-2010 02:17 PM (14 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmm. it's a sorry case. i wonder what this world is turning to Lips Sealed
Posted: at 16-02-2010 02:17 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Akpan01 at 16-02-2010 02:19 PM (14 years ago)
make i passs betterrrr

Posted: at 16-02-2010 02:19 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- nagorom at 16-02-2010 02:27 PM (14 years ago)
God help us. But Iguess this is the spirit of the last day
Posted: at 16-02-2010 02:27 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- famous5 at 16-02-2010 04:09 PM (14 years ago)
una forget say nigerian churches na business as usual
Posted: at 16-02-2010 04:09 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ogunfunmi at 16-02-2010 04:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 13-02-2010 06:59 PM
LAGOS (AFP) – A Nigerian pentecostal church on Saturday announced that it was charging a fee of 2,000 naira (13 dollars, eight euros) for connecting would-be lovers on Valentine's Day.

The House of God Fellowship Church, located near a Lagos prison, is charging the fee to defray the cost of a seminar, marriage counselling, music and entertainment during the love event, spokesman Michael Uchebuaku told AFP.

"The event is purely for singles. There was a large turnout of would-be lovers when the 'Love Connection Valentine's Singles' event was staged for the first time last year," he said.

"Start the new year by meeting your Mr or Miss Right," states the church in an advertisement in The Guardian newspaper on Saturday.

"Hurry up and register because this might be your last chance to find your husband or wife. To register, pay 2,000 naira to any branch of Union Bank," the advertisement said.

Uchebuaku, a public relations professional, said that under a deal with the church, profit from the event will be shared equally between the church and himself.
Undecided
Posted: at 16-02-2010 04:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- famous5 at 16-02-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Akpan01 on 16-02-2010 02:19 PM
make i passs betterrrr
Posted: at 16-02-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- distinctions4me at 16-02-2010 04:50 PM (14 years ago)
this is pure business
Posted: at 16-02-2010 04:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- shine1177 at 16-02-2010 07:04 PM (14 years ago)
na waoo

Posted: at 16-02-2010 07:04 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- BABAYEMIAJIBOSO at 16-02-2010 07:34 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: godfirst1 on 13-02-2010 07:24 PM
MARRIAGE BUSINESS AND CHURCH NA WA OOO IF MEN WERE GOD TO LIVE LIFE WOULD BE BY MONEY
Posted: at 16-02-2010 07:34 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- amakafacebook at 16-02-2010 09:43 PM (14 years ago)
wat a disaster date....even in d church.lol
Posted: at 16-02-2010 09:43 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kevin2010 at 17-02-2010 01:59 PM (14 years ago)
Any body that in need of wife or hasband should  go and try  it may be your luck
Posted: at 17-02-2010 01:59 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Goodchildrep at 17-02-2010 02:26 PM (14 years ago)
It so appalling as to how the Church is speedily becoming more worldly while the world becomig more churchy........................Alas! Everybody
Posted: at 17-02-2010 02:26 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- celia at 17-02-2010 07:43 PM (14 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked THE LOVE OF MONEY IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL. LIVE BY FAITH AND NOT BY SIGHT. FOR THE RIGHTEOUS SHALL LIVE BY FAITH. AS THE LORD LIVETH WE SHALL LIVE ALSO. FOR THE KINGDOM OF GOD IS NOT FOR MEAT AND DRINK ONLY. LORD, DON'T MAKE ME RICH I MIGHT FORGET YOU,DON'T MAKE ME POOR I MIGHT CURSE YOU. DEAR LORD, YOU ARE MORE COSTLY THAN SILVER, MORE PRECIOUS THAN GOLD, MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN DIAMOND. BUT CONTENTMENT IS A GREAT GAIN. DON'T FOCUS YOUR LIFE TO TEMPORAL THINGS BUT FOCUS YOUR LIFE TO ETERNAL THINGS. AMEN. DEAR JESUS WE ARE SORRY FOR OUR SIN. TEACH US AND HELP US TO LIVE RIGHTEOUSLY BEFORE MEN AND BEFORE YOU. THANK YOU HOLY SPIRIT FOR ALWAYS LEADING US AND GUIDING INTO YOUR OWN PURPOSE. AMEN.
Posted: at 17-02-2010 07:43 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- uche4ccrn at 18-02-2010 01:21 PM (14 years ago)
na wa oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 18-02-2010 01:21 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sesu777 at 18-02-2010 06:21 PM (14 years ago)
It is disgusting to hear that churches in Nigeria are becoming commercialized and loosing focus of their mandate. This only points to the fact that we are living in perilous times and we ought to be on the watch, lest we led astray. The fact that some have strayed doesn't make the gospel a lie. We must continue to preach the undefiled, undiluted truth of God
's Word. Like Kenneth Hagin of blesseth memory will say, on both sides of the path of truth are pitfalls and we must continue to walk in the path and refuse to sway to any extremes. Beloved hold firmly to the truth you have heard and received, lest at anytime you should let them slip.
Worry not for the Great Judge will try every man
s work with fire, then we shall know the true disciples of our Lord Jesus Christ. Shalom!
Posted: at 18-02-2010 06:21 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- METRIX at 18-02-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: omatu on 13-02-2010 08:03 PM
Quote from: stranz on 13-02-2010 07:45 PM
what after the payment and u dont find ur mr or mrs right?
try again next year.  If you try and you do not succeed, sorry, try again.

Grin Grin

Posted: at 18-02-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jimson54 at 18-02-2010 08:12 PM (14 years ago)
"Love for sale in Nigerian church on Valentine's Day" certainly does not make a big news to minds like me.  My comfortability with this kind of news is anchored on my long-standing finding that church has since become a business empire for so many anxious pecuniarily corrupt minds. Theological schools are spread all over the places, producing rather hitherto frustrated men and women indoctrinated to believe that on attracting large congregation, their pockets would begin to swell proportionately. This is why ear drums are sometimes almost burst in motor parks, luxury buses and other pubs in the name of praying for commuters’ safe journey.  I no longer get disturbed because I know that those churches and some street preachers are like any other businesses and hawkers of wares on the street.

The defense by the spokesman of The House of God Fellowship Church, located near a Lagos prison, that they charged the fee to defray the cost of a seminar, marriage counselling, music and entertainment during the love event, is even more disgusting.  Doesn’t the church have a purse?  What do they do with their offerings and so on?  What is the work of the Pastor(s) of the church.  Are there not enough words on marriage in the Bible for him to impart to the participants.  Is that church not peopled by leaders with deep knowledge of the Bible?  Why didn't they form the nucleus of resource persons free of charge?  We all know the motive behind the so-called valentine occasions; period when young minds are influenced by anything romantic.   Since we cannot judge, according to the Greatest Book - The Bible - let us just beware of every announcement coming from these new generation churches in particular, for seminars, crusades and so on, ostensibly chorused to take us to the next level in our religious quest for miraculous impossibilities.
Posted: at 18-02-2010 08:12 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mjanecrown at 19-02-2010 03:53 AM (14 years ago)
GOd will exposed them all soon in Jesus Name Amen.They are the same people that will say Government no good.
Posted: at 19-02-2010 03:53 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8