TURKEY FAILED COUP: "We Were Treated Like Criminals" - Deported Nigerian Student

Date: 04-10-2016 6:27 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-10-2016 06:27 AM (8 years ago)

At least 50 Nigerian students studying in Turkey were arrested in Istanbul and detained for 11 hours on alleged order of the Turkish government following the July 15th failed military coup in the country. Most of the detained Nigerians, mainly students of Fathi University and Meliksah University were made to sign deportation documents. Narrating her ordeal in a telephone call from THISDAY, one of the Nigerian students deported, Rukkaya Usman, said they were treated like criminals before the Turkish authorities repatriated them back to Nigeria.

Usman is a final year student of Political Science and International Relations at Meliksah University, one of the schools shut down in the wake of the failed coup. The Turkish authorities had said the affected schools were terrorist schools because they have links with Islamic scholar Fethullah Gulen, whom the Turkish government had accused of being the mastermind of the coup.

"I got to Turkey on the 26 of September at about 8am and the Immigration didn’t allow me to pass; they were asking, ‘where are you from?, where are you schooling?, and then, they took me to a room and asked me to wait. My passport and resident permit were with them," said Usman.

"They came back after few minutes with a paper and were asking me if I had money with me, they checked saw money and counted it, we were about eight of us. Before then, they said they are sending me back to my country and I asked they why, and they said when I go back to my country that I should visit the Turkish Embassy that they will answer all my questions.

"They gave me a paper to sign, I refused to sign because I don’t know what they wrote on the paper, they locked us inside a room, we were not allowed to go out, we were not allowed to see anyone, and we were just inside the room, just like criminals. The place is just like a prison

"They came and gave me back my residence permit and I said I should wait that they will call me and I asked them what about my passport, they said they are not giving me my passport until I get to Nigeria. After 11 hours they came back and gave me things they took from my bag and took me to the plane and when we got to Nigeria, they called someone from the immigration and gave him my passport and they now gave me back my passport."

"They deported me for no reason. They treated me like a criminal. I am supposed to be in my final year and my resident permit is valid and is supposed to expire next year September that is after I have graduated. So, honestly, I am offended because whatever business the Turkish government has with the proprietor of our school shouldn’t be affecting me as a student of his school, Usman narrated.

Usman called on the Nigerian government to do something about the situation, saying as her transcript is still there and there is no way she can collect her transcript except she go there and she is supposed to graduate next year.

Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:27 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diutopep at 4-10-2016 06:39 AM (8 years ago)
PLS those that are in charge should come to their rescue without further delay...!
Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emytex74 at 4-10-2016 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-10-2016 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freddie333 at 4-10-2016 08:07 AM (8 years ago)
Even Turkey self dae deport people, una self no dae fear all this Islamic countries?
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:07 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayveetee at 4-10-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
I logged in, I read & I commented... SMH, Na wa o
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tweetynene at 4-10-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago)
Sorry......hope our toothless govt can do smth abt it
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 4-10-2016 08:36 AM (8 years ago)
sorry o
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 4-10-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
wetin people they find for this islamic countries self, see the inhuman treatment them give this kids now very bad,... pls mind the country u apply for schooling.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 4-10-2016 09:37 AM (8 years ago)
OTTOMAN EMPIRE AGAIN
Posted: at 4-10-2016 09:37 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Markeve at 4-10-2016 09:58 AM (8 years ago)
Is too long to read jare but they should try and help them.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 09:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 4-10-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 4-10-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-10-2016 12:17 PM (8 years ago)
Posted B4
Posted: at 4-10-2016 12:17 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 4-10-2016 12:34 PM (8 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-10-2016 12:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Vicky_joseph at 4-10-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 4-10-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-10-2016 02:24 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: winace on  4-10-2016 12:17 PM
Posted B4

AND SO! WHAT ABOUT THE LADY WEY DEY SUFFER?....... U TOO WICKED
Posted: at 4-10-2016 02:24 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Trueyarn at 4-10-2016 04:09 PM (8 years ago)
Why Naija name dey always dey for any crime?pity those students involved in this mess.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 4-10-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry oo
Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Tripleflash at 4-10-2016 05:47 PM (8 years ago)
I really felt for her. I just hope our govt won't again let this slide, bcuz I tire for una mata.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kacylee at 4-10-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago)
u left ur country to go and cause trouble in another man's land .. and u are complaining... u reap whatever u sow

Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AmazingMarie at 4-10-2016 06:09 PM (8 years ago)
this is really inhumane and against international law
Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero