Am confused!!!

Date: 09-04-2010 1:01 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Happiness Amadi
- at 9-04-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago)
We both love ourselfs so much dat he has proposed marriage, but the issue of were we worship is a problem! His catholic and am pentcostal, it is the same God i know, but how do i go from being a pentecostal to a catholic, he is ready to make a change but his parents and siblings are all catholics and his afraid they will kick against it,what do we do?

Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- onchedu at 9-04-2010 01:08 PM (14 years ago)
Strong thing. Religion; one of those things people take lightly only to discover that with money and the rest of his cousins, a marriage culd be mde or broken.

Didnt U know he was catholic when U started dating him? U both put Urself in a fix and to help U out will require that I speak extra bluntly. Can U handle that?
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sesgylove at 9-04-2010 01:14 PM (14 years ago)
atleast you know that he is a catholic b4 u na start now that you are abt setling down you are now talking of religion. since you know both of you are serving same God then folow him now abi u want his parent to go against him just bcos of you. if both of you love each other folow him and be praying as times goes, he can decide that both of you shold be going to penticostal.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:14 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- mazi at 9-04-2010 01:18 PM (14 years ago)
having acknowledged d fact dat its one God irrespective of d church, why r u still finding it difficult to make up ur mind? i'll suggest dat u agree wit him on dis issue b4 accepting his proposal.
finally i think dis issue of where to worship is very hypocritical. i dont know why ppl think God is favourable to any church or religion
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:18 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- kellymanchidi at 9-04-2010 01:22 PM (14 years ago)
U both shld live u churches n join my (adventist) bt let me tel u,rightly u are d 1 2 live urs bt 6 he want tak ur place help him wit prayers.bt u can also change ur mind cos living ur church is nt living God though doctorine may varies.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:22 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- onchedu at 9-04-2010 01:26 PM (14 years ago)
Erm Mazi for once I will differ with U on this. yes there is a lot of hypocritical jargon keeping men form true worshp of the one living God and personal or organizational interests have put differences where there should be unity.

We shouldn't overlook the concept of doctrines and indoctrination. There myt be one God but not all the sects that claim to serve Him do and not all doctrines are biblical.

There s a lot of difference being catholic and being otherwise. U dont expect it to be an easy thing throwing away one's beliefs just like that in the name of marriage do U? Even if she does or he does, wil the one that turns really be commited to the new faith esp when things go rough?
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:26 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- mazi at 9-04-2010 01:45 PM (14 years ago)
honestly, i'm always very reluctant going into these religious arguments.
u were talking sects nd doctrines....whose doctrines?....man or God?
i think we believe so much in religious doctrines more dan we believe we hv in God.
it is bcos of these doctrines dat we hv all these religious problems nd killings.

we believe dat God is love nd love is God, yet how many of dis love is being practised?
if we so much believe ourselves dat it's one God, should we be talking abt doctrines?
why do we hv to attach so much on d traditions of religions instead of our believe in God?

nd more over, here in dis instance is all abt christain faith...two churches, is it nt unbelieveable dat two christains cannot easily get married witout dis nightmare of how one accepting d other?

where is d faith?
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:45 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- kurupt419 at 9-04-2010 01:51 PM (14 years ago)
make i pass
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:51 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 9-04-2010 01:57 PM (14 years ago)
Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God.

I try my best to avoid religion based debates too and I must say we are saying similar things.

Human doctirens have polluted the hearts of men and as men have distanced themselves from God and would rather live with hm by human proxy, it becomes easier to program those who would not seek God on their own with these doctrines of men.

This couple in question if they truly love each other need to each go on a personal search for the person of God and they must do so seeking him in His word. May God who gives wisdom to those who ask and upbraideth not give them of His heavenly wisdom to understand what they must to serve him right and find answers to the question of their compatibility where man has made a difference in faith.

The Bible is everywhere. All they need to read, study and hear God speak. Even the issue of marriages is thoroughly addressed.

I don't know about all of us serving one God o. I just know there is One God and one Father of those who are predestinated, called, sanctified, ordained and glorified thru Christ.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:57 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 9-04-2010 01:58 PM (14 years ago)
Meanwyl why did U ask where the faith is? Are U suggesting they marry having faith that they will agree on religious beliefs just like that? Better to agree now before take off than embark on a journey that needs togetherness should they plan to reach the destinations.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 01:58 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- mazi at 9-04-2010 02:15 PM (14 years ago)
ma point b4 nd ma point now.
i wanted to know where their faith lies, church in dis instance or God?
cos it doesn't make sense dat two christains can't easily marry irrespective of d church.

nd again, why do ppl who r so concerned abt church worshipping still continue in d relationship afta knowing they r not in same church? why wait or pretend it doesn't matter until d last minute?
Posted: at 9-04-2010 02:15 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- blings_is_back at 9-04-2010 02:19 PM (14 years ago)
love knows no religion
Posted: at 9-04-2010 02:19 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- kellymanchidi at 9-04-2010 03:13 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on  9-04-2010 01:45 PM
honestly, i'm always very reluctant going into these religious arguments.
u were talking sects nd doctrines....whose doctrines?....man or God?
i think we believe so much in religious doctrines more dan we believe we hv in God.
it is bcos of these doctrines dat we hv all these religious problems nd killings.

we believe dat God is love nd love is God, yet how many of dis love is being practised?
if we so much believe ourselves dat it's one God, should we be talking abt doctrines?
why do we hv to attach so much on d traditions of religions instead of our believe in God?

nd more over, here in dis instance is all abt christain faith...two churches, is it nt unbelieveable dat two christains cannot easily get married witout dis nightmare of how one accepting d other?

where is d faith?

pls i want mak clear of dis dat Gods doctrine CAN NOT be sperated 4rm him and is vry important 2 him nd d get o hail or d flash doctrines 2day cant change it. God bless
Posted: at 9-04-2010 03:13 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sweetprettymiss at 9-04-2010 03:14 PM (14 years ago)
Am so greatful to all who has aired his or her opinion concerning this issue and pray God gives us the wisdom to take the right step,and to answer the question where my faith lies,ofcourse in God cos i look unto him from where comesth my help, it's not easy for any of us so to say to leave ur belief for another ,it is easier said than done, yes love knows no boundaries but it's a life time commitment and i have to be very careful on the decision i make today cos it will affect my future and the last thing i want is a broken home all in the name of religion,once a gain i say thanks to all who showed love and concern i really appreciate it,like u rightly said seek the face of God he knows whats best cos he's not an author of confusion.Thanks all and God bless
Posted: at 9-04-2010 03:14 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Tuks at 9-04-2010 03:22 PM (14 years ago)
[quote aauthor=sweetprettymiss link=topic=34268.msg1159974#msg1159974 date=1270814496]
We both love ourselfs so much dat he has proposed marriage, but the issue of were we worship is a problem! His catholic and am pentcostal, it is the same God i know, but how do i go from being a pentecostal to a catholic, he is ready to make a change but his parents and siblings are all catholics and his afraid they will kick against it,what do we do?
[/quote]

Well,i think diz issue of religion as it concerns marriages,has been over exagerated....Religion does not in any way affects d success or failure of a marriage.Most peepz serve God wif dia lips,n not dia hearts....Avin said dat,i think its abt time,we consider religion first,b4 bein 2 neck deep,in a relationship,which puts us in a fix,wen marriage talks cums up...
Posted: at 9-04-2010 03:22 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brightossy at 9-04-2010 03:26 PM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 9-04-2010 03:26 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Annizzle at 9-04-2010 06:54 PM (14 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 9-04-2010 06:54 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Michro at 9-04-2010 10:37 PM (14 years ago)
u don't need any body to decide 4 u on who to marry, not even ur parents, bu shine ur eyes

Posted: at 9-04-2010 10:37 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigibanty at 9-04-2010 10:52 PM (14 years ago)
If u think ur different denominations is a problem, QUIT!! Una de make me laugh.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 10:52 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kurupt419 at 9-04-2010 11:00 PM (14 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 9-04-2010 11:00 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac