Indian village suffers for lack of women, Posted by News Updates on October 17, 2011 By Vivek Prakash SIYANI, India | Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:00am EDT
Unmarried men stand in a group as they watch women dance during the Dussehra festival in the remote village of Siyani, where they also live and work in, about 140km (86 miles) west of Gujarat's capital Ahmedabad, October 4, 2011. REUTERS/Vivek Prakash
(Reuters) - Nearly two dozen men building a temple in this remote farming village lay down their tools at midday and walk through the dusty streets to a shed where they are joined by another group of men -- and start eating a meal cooked by a man.
They live, eat and sleep together, sharing mattresses on the bare floor of an empty room the way a married couple usually would. All but a handful are unmarried -- a living example of India's rapidly worsening gender imbalance.
Census data released earlier this year revealed there are 914 girls for every 1,000 boys born - a sharp fall since 2001 when the ratio was 933 girls for every 1000 boys.
"I have been looking to marry since I was 15," said Vinodbhai Mehtaliya, a 23-year-old Siyani farmer.
A decades-old Indian preference for male children, who are seen as breadwinners, has led to the skewed ratio, aided by cheap ultrasound tests that assist in sex-selective abortions and female infanticide.
Siyani, in the western state of Gujarat, shows the decline. Here, some 350 men over the age of 35 are simply unable to get married -- out of a total population of roughly 8,000.
"I'm lucky I got married 20 years ago" said 42-year-old Laljibhai Makwana, who works as a diamond polisher in one of the village's small workshops. "If I was young here today I would never get married."
The absence of women is obvious in the village's bumpy, tiny lanes, where cows wander freely, especially in the evenings.
"There is little industrial development or infrastructure here, so people are poor and uneducated," said Prashant Dave, the 41-year-old owner of a small flour mill who said he was lucky to be married.
"There are too few women and they leave for better prospects."
Among the group of men living together, men perform all the tasks which are traditionally the domain of women: sweeping, cooking and cleaning.
The situation has also led to another reversal in custom, with some women and their parents asking for a lot of money from men to allow men to marry them, an inversion of the usual dowry system in which the woman's family has to pay the man's.
At sunset, as the day's work ends, groups of unmarried men gather around the village tea stalls and tobacco shops, lacking wives and families to go home to.
"I've given up looking," said Bharatbhai Khair, who is single at 45 and has been trying to marry for 25 years.
"The women want more money for marriage than I can afford." here
-of-eternal-bachelors/
P.S DON'T HATE ME BCOZ OF WHAT COMES OUT OF MY MOUTH, I DON'T GIVE A SHIT ABOUT MYSELF, SO phyukOFF..
Posted: at 18-10-2011 12:56 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
NJOKUPRINCE at 18-10-2011 01:41 AM (13 years ago) (m)
story story? once upon a time? time time
. . .
Posted: at 18-10-2011 01:41 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
GullahGeeche at 21-10-2011 12:59 AM (13 years ago) (f)
Didn't we just read that they buried a girl child alive the other day?
I have been saying it and will continue to say it. If Asia keeps aborting and killing all of its female babies they will have no women to marry and the entire continent will turn out to be mad homosegxwals.
Statistics show that in America most of the babies that that were aborted were male. No wonder years later there are so many single women in America.... :'(
May God deliver the nations from working wickedness!
Posted: at 21-10-2011 12:59 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
giftmurphy at 21-10-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago) (f)
Quote from: GullahGeeche on 21-10-2011 12:59 AM
I have been saying it and will continue to say it. If Asia keeps aborting and killing all of its female babies they will have no women to marry and the entire continent will turn out to be mad homosegxwals.
Statistics show that in America most of the babies that that were aborted were male. No wonder years later there are so many single women in America.... :'(
amen
Posted: at 21-10-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
amen !!
"Those who will say nothing in the face of tyranny must endure the rule of idiots . All that you need for evil to triumph is for the good people to keep quiet and do nothing".
Posted: at 20-12-2011 04:45 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
God who give them knows how to balance the sexes but humans who think they are wiser than God will always look for a way to change things
Pls send some of the men come Nigeria abeg, we got a lot of single ladies here
lolz
"Those who will say nothing in the face of tyranny must endure the rule of idiots . All that you need for evil to triumph is for the good people to keep quiet and do nothing".
Posted: at 21-12-2011 01:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
mairo774life at 21-12-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago) (f)
Well, what do we expect from a Society that has an extremely INHUMAN, HUMILIATING AND DEGRADING CASTE SYSTEM??? , Baby girls are UNWANTED and done away with in favour of their male counterparts and in most of India, BRIDES PAY THE GROOM?( GROOM PRICE )! As a full blooded Naija woman, I SAY "GOD FORBID BAD THINGOOOOOO"!
Any right-thinking African mother knows that daughters are worth their weight in GOLD!! And i think Nemesis has finally caught up with such Societyn like theirs. THE LAWS OF EQUATION CANNOT BE JEOPARDISED AT WILL!!!
Posted: at 21-12-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
does their culture limit them from marrying only from their villages ?
Posted: at 22-12-2011 08:45 AM (13 years ago) | Hero