Just read that Britain is the record holder for highest number of single parents in a country. That is good thing because Britain always love to win something, but they are not very good in sports so i think they have finally won something in Europe.
See statistics from UK site, Daily mail
The latest figures show that the number of single parent families with dependent children in the UK went up from 1,745,000 in 2001 to 1,958,000 last year.
Over the same period, the number of co-habiting couples went up from 2.1million to 2.9million.
By contrast, the number of married couples dropped from 12.3million to 12million.
The ONS found that 92 per cent of lone parents are mothers and that ‘women are more likely to take the main caring responsibilities for any children when relationships break down.’ Children with no siblings
The increase in co-habitation has been blamed for the rise in single-parent families because co-habitees are three times more likely to split up than married couples. Some 62 per cent of dependent children live in a married couple family, down from 68 per cent ten years ago.
The analysis, taken from the Labour Force Survey, also found that of the 114,000 same-sex couples in the country, 8,000 have children. Only 54,000 of these couples have legalised their relationship by taking out civil partnerships.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 20-01-2012 01:15 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
open_reality at 20-01-2012 02:19 AM (13 years ago) (f)
Leave Britain wahala for the british people.
KINDLY IGNORE ANY TYPING ERROR, IT'S CALLED SLIP OF FINGER. R.I.P HATERS.
Posted: at 20-01-2012 02:19 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac