Phillies games with my family

Date: 14-04-2012 2:42 pm (12 years ago) | Author: dennis83
- at 14-04-2012 02:42 PM (12 years ago)

What i talk about story takes place around the end of Dec,2012 in the Phillies of philadelphia.

Our son was playing in a Pop Warner baseball League for boys up to the age of 16 (as I remember it). His team, the Greater philadelphia Youth baseball (wearing the same colors as the phillies) had an outstanding season. My husband and I attended all the games, which were always played on Saturdays.
 I remember one game was played in Gbyfl, which was the furthest we had to travel. When we got there (early in the morning) our son Gary was 1 lb over the weight limit, which meant he couldn’t play. Being one of their best players the Coach quickly went into action: had Gary strip off his roy halladay jersey wrapped his entire body in Saran Wrap, bundled him up with several jackets and wind breakers and sent him off running around the track. He had to do at least 5 laps!

I was sitting in the stands and couldn’t figure out what was going on. My husband was one of the linesmen, so he was down on the field watching Gary run prior to game time. They finally brought him in, unwrapped him, and he had lost 2 ? lbs. So he was eligible to play and wear the ryan howard jersey ! Those were exciting days.

But the story I want to tell about was what happened on that November weekend in 2011. Our team, the State Champion after a wonderful season of not losing a single game, was to play a team from Utah (who was its State Champion) for the final trophy! At a meeting of the parents we were told that each of us should volunteer to take one or two of the Utah boys into our home for the weekend of the game, as our house guests. We had a big den in our home, so I volunteered to take two boys. I figured we’d put Gary out there with them in sleeping bags, and they wouldn’t feel strange if they had a friend with them. The plan was to drive down to Baltimore Park by 3 p.m. on Friday and pick up “our boys”! This meant I had to leave work early, which was a bit of a hassle for me – working for a Bank and Friday night was our night to stay open until 6 p.m. With all the plans in place I took off from San Fernando to North Hollywood Park. When I got there several other parents had already been there and picked up their “charges”. I got out of the car and saw five boys sitting on the grass. I looked at our Coach, wondering which wear placido polanco jersey, “Mrs. Palmer, we have a problem; a couple of the parents have backed out on their commitment, so would you possibly take all five home with you?” Well, here sat the poor kids with long faces. What could I do? I said: “Sure! Come on boys hop in.” En route home my son got to know them all by name and they were talking up a storm by the time we reached the house.

Now I had to go into action fast: Which neighbor had sleeping bags I could borrow? How was I going to “enlarge” the dinner from what I had planned to feed six to now nine. My mind was going a mile a minute. It all worked out: two borrowed sleeping bags (we had 4), some extra bed pillows, and a dinner they all seemed to enjoy. Amazing how you can stretch spaghetti, salad & bread! So by 10 p.m. we had the boys all bedded down in our den and everything seemed to be going smoothly. Then, in the middle of the night I heard the rain starting. We got up to a real downpour. I fed the group breakfast and we packed up the station wagon with football players (in uniform), plus our daughter, my husband, me and several umbrellas. This was, I might add, long before the days of seat belts and the kids just jammed into the station wagon.
 The game was played at Monroe High School baseball field in Sepulveda, the area now known as North Hills. The field was a sloppy mess and once the game began the players would tackle one another and slide 20 yards in the mud. Such a mess! My husband was on the field as a linesman, holding one of the chains that mark the yardage gained or lost on the Utah side of the field.

One of the boys that stayed with us was the quarterback for Utah. Our team was romping all over Utah as they couldn’t do anything right it seemed. When their quarterback made a bad play their coach went out and grabbed him off the field, dragged him to the sidelines and started swearing Phillies Jersey. He was about to hit him, when my husband dropped the chains he was holding, ran over and told the coach to back off. In fact I think my husband would have engaged the coach in a little pushing and shoving, had other men not intervened!! The boy was in tears and he said, “Thank you, Mr. Palmer”.

Whenl the game finally ended we had won a hunter pence jersey but everyone from California was furious with the Utah coach and said he should be banned from ever coaching again,since he did hit a couple of the players. That was a league problem! But, now we had our problem with six absolutely filthy mud-soaked boys to get home, feed, have their vance worley jersey washed and get them back down to North Hollywood Park by 9 a.m. Sunday morning.
 On the way home the car was silent – the Utah boys felt terrible and most of them had suffered some wrath from their Coach. Our son just kept his mouth shut, so as not to embarrass them. My husband formulated a plan. He told the boys to get out of the car when we got home and go out on our back patio (it was a private area) and take off their uniforms; then one by one hop into the shower. My husband had the great idea of washing the cliff lee jersey off on our fence with the garden hose, thus saving all that mud from getting in the washing machine. After he hosed them off I’d bring them in and wash them. I didn’t have a dryer in those days, but a neighbor down the street agreed I could bring them down to her dryer. What a night! We were running back and forth up and down the street with baskets of laundry (either wet or dry) and trying to feed the kids. The Quarterback was in the bathroom vomiting consistently. Finally I asked one of the boys if they could drink tea, as I knew they were all Mormon and didn’t want to give him something he wasn’t supposed to have. I’ll never forget his reply: “Mrs. Palmer, if it will help his gut – he can have chase utley jersey So with the help of some Lipton’s tea and a few soda crackers, his stomach settled down; thank goodness!
 We made it back to North Hollywood Park on time Sunday with all five boys and their CLEAN uniforms I might add we were up VERY late that night running laundry up and down the block! (Lucky it was a friendly neighborhood!!) That Christmas I received carlos ruiz jersey from all five boys who had stayed with us, together with really cute hand written thankyou notes. The one boy told me he wasn’t in any trouble for drinking tea, since he explained how much better it made him feel!! A memorable weekend at the Palmer house and never to be forgotten!In fact i love Greg Luzinski jersey.

Posted: at 14-04-2012 02:42 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- francischi at 1-05-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 1-05-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sarah555 at 1-05-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago)
 Angry Angry Angry abeg all dis one too long.
NO LONG TIN
Posted: at 1-05-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 28-03-2016 11:06 AM (8 years ago)
hahha too long ooh
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:06 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 7-04-2016 03:06 PM (8 years ago)
No long tinz plzzzz
Posted: at 7-04-2016 03:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky12 at 27-04-2016 01:43 AM (7 years ago)
kk
Posted: at 27-04-2016 01:43 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 29-04-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago)
JUST Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-04-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-04-2016 01:24 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-04-2016 01:25 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 16-06-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago)
life is
really hard for some people.life is
really hard for some people.
Posted: at 16-06-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 30-06-2016 09:58 AM (7 years ago)
JUST CONTINUE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 30-06-2016 09:58 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 3-07-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago)
tooo long
Posted: at 3-07-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- scottchris at 4-07-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago)
Soo no body could finish reading this.... Hmmm lazy pipul

Posted: at 4-07-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO of a Foreign Construction Worker Playing With Most Wanted Bandits at Work Site in Zamfara

2. Regina Daniels Reacts as Co-Wife, Laila Charani Posts Romantic Video with Husband Ned Nwoko

3. Family Seeks to Raise $70k To Bring Home Nigerian Bodybuilder Shot Dead By Wife in US

4. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

5. Meet Uzoma Odimara, aka ‘Area Scatter’ Nigeria’s First Publicly-Known Crossdresser

6. Victor Boniface Shares Inspiring Photo After Winning First Title With Bayer Leverkusen

7. Kwara Police Arrest 46 Suspects After Cult Clash

8. VIDEO: Late Sylverter Oromoni’s Father Blows Hot As He Rejects Coroner Judgment

9. Ex US Pres, Donald Trump Risks 4yrs Jail Term as he Appears in Court to Face Criminal Trials

10. Omokri Hails Dunamis Pastor, Eneche For Apologizing To Woman, Vera Anyim Accused Of Giving Fake

11. 22Yr Old Man, Francis Okoye Arrested Over Unlawful Possession Of Fire Arm

12. Junior Pope: Yul Edochie's Estranged Wife, May Mourns Victims Of Boat Mishap

13. UPDATE: President Tinubu Declares April 7 As National Police Day

14. Man, Bamidele Adeleke Docked For Stealing N2m Batteries In Ibadan

15. Forgery: EFCC Arraigns Father-In-Law Alaba Alakija, Daughter-In-Law Oyinkansola In Lagos

16. VID: BBN Star, Phyna Reacts To Colleague, DeeOne’s Offer To Her Father At An Event

17. OAP, Moet Abebe Shares Receipt Of Her Outing, Insist Men Should Spend N7M Or More In Club

18. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

19. "Stop Linking Actor, Junior Pope’s Death To Marine Kingdom" - Prophet Fufeyin Warms

20. VID: VeryDarkMan Accuses Reno Omokri Of Allegedly Suppressing Brother’s Rαpe Case

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks