Should female children share in the family inheritance?

Date: 18-05-2012 5:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Vivian Johnson
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12
- at 18-05-2012 05:14 PM (11 years ago)
In the absence of a ‘Will’ in any polygamist’ home it becomes the community’s burden to separate the battle among family members, as to who takes what. In this particular case, whereas the first wife has only two female children, the second wife has five children all boys. The senior wife insisted that the three houses the husband left behind must be shared so that her children can inherit from their father’s wealth even after they leave. But the younger wife argued that the houses will not be shared whenever the girls marries the houses would be left for her boys and the elders of the family were in support of the younger wife’s view and the case was charged to court.

How best do you think these properties should be share?

No insult pls.

Posted: at 18-05-2012 05:14 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- confyworld at 18-05-2012 05:50 PM (11 years ago)
the female children should concentrate on getting marry n leaving the house. They dont ve business with the properties pls
Posted: at 18-05-2012 05:50 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jossy4reall at 18-05-2012 05:54 PM (11 years ago)
if dis happened in Naija n Igbo land precisely...........4rm wat I have learnt so far in such case...........The 1st wife wit her two female children wil stay in the house until the children get married n left but none of dem wil inherit any property.....den dat 1st wife wil still remain in the house as long as she is alive.............but the properties will be shared 2 d male children weda they are 4rm the first, second or third wife

Posted: at 18-05-2012 05:54 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 18-05-2012 05:58 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: confyworld on 18-05-2012 05:50 PM
the female children should concentrate on getting marry n leaving the house. They dont ve business with the properties pls
Are you serious???
Posted: at 18-05-2012 05:58 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- victory4life at 18-05-2012 06:13 PM (11 years ago)
So what the man does not have any my son. But to be fair all children are entittle to the Will of there father so forget about male or female. They all have equal right
Posted: at 18-05-2012 06:13 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Treasure2 at 18-05-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: victory4life on 18-05-2012 06:13 PM
So what the man does not have any my son. But to be fair all children are entittle to the Will of there father so forget about male or female. They all have equal right
Bless you.
Posted: at 18-05-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 18-05-2012 06:22 PM (11 years ago)
Denying the female children their right of inheritance, means denying the first wife her right in her husband property.
Posted: at 18-05-2012 06:22 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 18-05-2012 06:43 PM (11 years ago)
lady T yu wan turn 2 nametalkem now Tongue

Posted: at 18-05-2012 06:43 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 18-05-2012 07:02 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 18-05-2012 06:43 PM
lady T yu wan turn 2 nametalkem now Tongue
Mbanu nwanne, but i want hear how this elders go talk this kind ye ye talk.
Posted: at 18-05-2012 07:02 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 18-05-2012 10:17 PM (11 years ago)
The owner of the property should decide who gets what
Posted: at 18-05-2012 10:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Tyahaya at 18-05-2012 10:34 PM (11 years ago)
well,according to Islam,they must be given their share,though the boys would take the higher share.
Posted: at 18-05-2012 10:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1daful at 18-05-2012 10:39 PM (11 years ago)
It can be shared to whosoever deserve it weda male or female.

Posted: at 18-05-2012 10:39 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 18-05-2012 10:49 PM (11 years ago)
Tell the second wife to shut up..because she had only male children and she want only hers to inherit all no..it not so....it should be share...equally
The first wife was in her late man life before the second one and have be the one who have suffered for the late man..through hard times.,,so the first wife should be rewarded more of that of the second wife..

Posted: at 18-05-2012 10:49 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Sophyrocks at 18-05-2012 11:22 PM (11 years ago)
All dis inheritance mata is responsible 4 d backwardness of africa. Pple complain of whites discriminatin blacks wen we africans discriminate ourselvs.We wil continue 2 suppress ourselvs n remain lower dan d whites unless we decide 2 change our mentality. RIDICULOUS!!

Posted: at 18-05-2012 11:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 18-05-2012 11:30 PM (11 years ago)
Okay noted
So answer the topic na

Posted: at 18-05-2012 11:30 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Sophyrocks at 18-05-2012 11:46 PM (11 years ago)
I don ansa am na. Abi na German i speak jst nw? My comment don ansa.

Posted: at 18-05-2012 11:46 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 18-05-2012 11:58 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: confyworld on 18-05-2012 05:50 PM
no be as dem born male child, dem still born d females?
it's only in benin they believe in such tradition, even seff d benin pple dey gv small portion 2 d females..
i totally disagree wit u dear......in my family, everything is been shared equally, even in d female child is 3 months old.....
Posted: at 18-05-2012 11:58 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- needluv at 19-05-2012 01:18 AM (11 years ago)
In a good family with understanding the female kids and their mother would be given 1 house even if is not the best house among the houses but the must be given 1 house except the man have written his will that the female should not be given a house then the boys would on their own have a general compensation that any of the lady who wishes to live in any of those houses with their husband would not pay house rate on the flat given to them.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:18 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lakman at 19-05-2012 03:36 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Sophyrocks on 18-05-2012 11:22 PM
All dis inheritance mata is responsible 4 d backwardness of africa. Pple complain of whites discriminatin blacks wen we africans discriminate ourselvs.We wil continue 2 suppress ourselvs n remain lower dan d whites unless we decide 2 change our mentality. RIDICULOUS!!
this is not discrimination in igbo tradition the male children will inherit the man properties, except if the man will some to the daughters which is not the birth right of the first son. tradition is like a law it has being there b4 both are being married.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 03:36 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lakman at 19-05-2012 03:57 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Sophyrocks on 18-05-2012 11:22 PM
this is not discrimination if is in igbo tradition the male children will inherit those properties except if the the man will some to the female children that is not the birth right of the first son. tradition is like a law it has being there b4 both are married.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 03:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

4. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

5. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

6. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

7. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

8. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

9. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

14. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor